We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dissapointed Sun Holiday”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Looe
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Parkdean - Looe Bay Holiday Park
Ranked #14 of 31 Speciality Lodging in Looe
Reviewed 27 May 2014

We stayed here from Monday 19th May for 4 nights on our second Sun holiday and after having a wonderful time on our last one had really high hope for this one. We upgraded before we went to a Downderry van which included central heating, full double glazing and looked a comfy van from the picture and promotional video on their website.
We arrived around 7pm due to traffic and had to check in at the Polperro Bar we were given our keys and bag with brochures and passes and a map to our caravan. When we found it we realised this didnt have parking next to the van which I was really surprised about as most parks now off this even if your staying in a standard van so to not have it with an upgraded one was really dissapointing.

The van itself was clean and tidy with fully kitted out kitchen with microwave fridge and freezer iron and ironing board. Bathroom was surprisingly big. Everything was ok until the second day we came back to the van to a swam of Ants all over the kitchen and the bin was rammed with them which we had to put outside. Again reception was closed so was left to the staff in the Polperro Bar to sort out. They gave us two ant traps to put down and advised if it gets worse they can look at moving us. We decided to give the traps a go luckly they worked pretty quickly and had no more trouble.

The site itself is quite small the showcase bar was a little run down could do with a little brightening up. Good arcades for the kids lots of 2p machines to keep them entertained. Didnt go in the shop or take away as were quite pricey. Good tip there is a large Morrisons in Liskcard which is approx 10mins drive away and there is a good Chinese take away 5 mins drive away which is lovely.

All in all had a nice time but wouldn't visit this site again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Emzylou79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (645)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

427 - 433 of 645 reviews

Reviewed 27 May 2014 via mobile

Lovely warm welcome caravan was clean entertainment was class esp the kids they loved sid and lizzie overall brilliant stay I would recommend to all, park is hilly site is aswell you should go there by car otherwise the cab fares would take up half of your holiday money

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
Thank karen l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014 via mobile

I don't know what some of these people are moaning about. We had a basic older style caravan and it was perfectly fine. Everything was clean, the heating worked great and the shower was a nice size and powerful. The take away on site was good but for really good fish and chips go to the Coddy Shack just down the road.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank KazHampshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed at looe bay holiday park 19th-23rd may, as a family of 4 ( childs age 7 and 4 weeks old ). On reading bad reviews I was dreading turning up to a damp caravan especially with little one being so young, we stayed at caravan 77 which turned out to be a villa deluxe caravan, the holiday was booked through the sun, I didn't pay for an upgrade but sure this wasn't a standard caravan ( on previous experience of sun holidays) the van was lovely, all the mod cons, 2 ensuite bathrooms, combi boiler even a washing machine, ironing board, iron, hair dryer. Very pleased with the van.

The park was great too, the club evening entertainment was good, they get all the kids and adults involved, we didn't eat in the polperro bar so cannot comment on that. They had a mini arcade with a takeaway joined to it think burger chips pizza etc. they had a standard pool which again we didn't get to use, a park, crazy golf, sports courts. A shop which sold most things and wasn't too overpriced.

The holiday park wS around 10 mins drive to looe itself which has a beautiful town, harbour and beach. Around 30 mins drive to plymouth city centre.

Overall a great stay, we didn't have the weather we could have done more, but with very little one, and the caravan being so nice it was nice to get away, would definitely stay again

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jashtravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014 via mobile

Looe was great as always. Fab seaside town. First stay at a Parkdean and we were really impressed. Lots going on for kids of all ages. Park had a shop, pool, bar and lots of places to eat. Holiday homes are really modern and clean. The park itself is well kept and staff are friendly. Great little holiday. Will be going again.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sophier2939
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014 via mobile

The park is clean, tidy, great kids play area and nice bar. They are the only plus points. We booked for 2 of us. It's not a full size caravan, the windows are very draughty, it takes a long time to heat up, it's hard to cook a the kitchen as it's so small. The curtains aren't long enough. In the evening all you can hear is the bass from the entertainment, our caravan was right near the main road so constant traffic noise, the birds, I think crows woke me up at 4.30. Worst night sleep ever and worst sun holiday destination we have ever been on. Would never return

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
6  Thank Zpiatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Just returned from LBHP ....very disappointed.....used Parkdean before this is the worst accommodation we have had!

Didn,t expect the ritz for a Sun holiday but did expect clean serviceable caravan.

Paid supplement for a bedding pack only 2 pillows had covers, the mattress had seen better days the springs were pushing through we put the second duvet on top of the mattress to act as padding.

The double bedroom had 2 large dusty cobwebs above the door and must of been there for sometime, also cobwebs above the window in the bathroom.

China stained and cutlery made up of odds and ends, drinking glasses cracked.

overall the accommodation had seen better days general scruffy feel, marks on the walls of all bedroom walls and living area, not up to standard.

To be fair Parkdean did offer an upgrade the weekend before we arrived for £40 but having seen better before we chose not too.

Can,t comment on the rest of the facilities did not use them.

Room Tip: Take the upgrade!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank toadaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Looe hotels
3.3 mi away
Talland Bay Hotel
Talland Bay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Porthallow
886 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Snooty Fox
The Snooty Fox
#1 of 1 in Morval
260 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hannafore Point Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Portbyhan Hotel
Portbyhan Hotel
#3 of 7 in Looe
474 reviews
1.7 mi away
Fieldhead Hotel
Fieldhead Hotel
#4 of 7 in Looe
275 reviews
2.9 mi away
Trelawne Manor Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parkdean - Looe Bay Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parkdean - Looe Bay Holiday Park

Address: East Looe | Cornwall, Looe PL13 1NX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Looe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 31 Speciality Lodging in Looe
Hotel Class:4 star — Parkdean - Looe Bay Holiday Park 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
So lively, so lovely, you'll want to stay!Remember those good old fashioned holidays when you ate ice cream on the beach, dug around in fascinating rock-pools and learned how to 'crab' off the harbour wall? Well they're back and just as brilliant as ever at lovely Looe Bay. There's always plenty to do on park, but head into pretty Looe itself and you can hop aboard a sightseeing boat and enjoy a coastal cruise. Where, with your camera to hand, you can start collecting some wonderful new memories. * A lively park in a quiet country setting * One mile from the quaint fishing harbour at Looe * Visit Looe's glorious sandy beach * Heated pool and great on-park activities * Fabulous Showtime Entertainment every night ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Looe Bay Holiday Park Hotel Looe
Parkdean - Looe Bay Holiday Park Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing