We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Penvith Barns Fantastic!”
Review of Penvith Barns

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Penvith Barns
Ranked #10 of 53 Looe B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Penvith Barns Fantastic!”
Reviewed 26 August 2013

This is a great place to stay. The People are lovely, the rooms are spacious with lovely views, the setting is beautiful and peaceful. Thanks Graham for a great welcome and a really lovely stay!!!
Chris Knock

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChrisKnock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    222
    12
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
36
161
4
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Croydon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2013

A great place to relax very quiet in the country side stayed in the hen house with lovely views from the window and it was nice to wake up in the mornings to the chickens and bono the sheep. The breakfast was delicious with a selection of food which was a good start to the day.
Jules and Graham are lovely hosts and very friendly would return again to penvith barns

Room Tip: The Hen House has lovely views and at the back of the house which is more private
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brenda c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cirencester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 30 July 2013

Graham & Jules do everything right to ensure you have a wonderful stay. We had a week at Penvith, and can't wait to go back! The room was lovely.. great view, very comfy bed, big bathroom, good tv and dvd, fresh coffee, fresh real milk, great little fridge which was really useful, I could go on and on... The real triumph was breakfast - a great range of options, cooked to perfection by Graham. This couple are doing a wonderful job and make you feel really welcome. We'll be back next year, with friends!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sim0nEd1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 29 July 2013

A great place to get away, a quiet spot set in the countryside a short drive from spectacular beaches and scenic Looe.
Jules and Graham are warm and hospitable, breakfast is excellent and the luxury rooms are set up to maximise privacy in a beautiful rural setting .

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank D F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2013

We have just spent five wonderful days at Penvith Barns with Graham and Jules as hosts. The accommodation is first class in every way and the décor is tasteful throughout. The breakfast is delicious and plentiful, it was nice to have a second cooked option each day. Jules and Graham are so friendly and kind with such a vast knowledge of the local area and recommended some good places to go. Definitely worth a visit.

Julie and Mike

Room Tip: The Dairy Suite has magnificent views across the local countryside and such comfortable accommodatio...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 July 2013

Intelligent, informed hosts, great breakfast loved the Greek yoghurt with Victoria plums and granola, husband loved full English and spainish omelette, the most comfortable bed with a luxurious mattress for a reasonably priced B&B, quiet, peaceful retreat with lots to see locally, the only time we have used b&b's is using sawdays guide in France, penvith barns would definitely qualify for the uk version - well done no wonder your so high up the ratings :-)

Room Tip: We stayed in the' hen house', small, clean, exposed beams, power shower, little patio outsid...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Westy3151
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 14 July 2013

Just had five wonderful days at Penrith barns, a beautiful place to stay best of both worlds, lovely countryside location but also close enough to the sea. Jules and graham are excellent hosts,making you feel welcome, with knowledge of places to visit. The breakfasts were brilliant from their free range eggs. And not forgetting Bono the sheep, what a character! Looking forward to staying again already!!!....Thank you Julie, Keith &Briony.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Looe hotels
3.4 mi away
Trelaske Hotel & Restaurant
4.1 mi away
Talland Bay Hotel
Talland Bay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Porthallow
847 reviews
2.2 mi away
Fieldhead Hotel
Fieldhead Hotel
#5 of 7 in Looe
259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
The Snooty Fox
The Snooty Fox
#1 of 1 in Morval
245 reviews
2.1 mi away
Cherrywood Lodge
Cherrywood Lodge
#1 of 53 in Looe
378 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Watermark Hotel
The Watermark Hotel
#12 of 53 in Looe
188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Penvith Barns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Penvith Barns

Property: Penvith Barns
Address: St Martin, Looe PL13 1NZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Looe
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Looe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Penvith Barns 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We would like to invite you to spend some time with us here at Penvith Barns- a very special Bed and Breakfast in sunny CornwallWe can promise you a warm welcome, luxury holiday accommodation where you can come and go just as you please, relaxed and tranquil surroundings with views over our superb countryside, close proximity to some of Cornwall’s best beaches and plenty to do, whatever your taste.All our rooms have been decorated and furnished to the highest standards whilst maintaining a relaxed country feel. Every room is en-suite, and from the Cornish cookies on the welcome tray, to the silent fridge, everything is aimed at giving you the best holiday experience we can. All our rooms have the following:-- Your own entrance; either direct from outside or via the guests entrance.- Plenty of off-road parking.- TV with DVD. We have an extensive and varied DVD library which you are free to dip in to if you fancy a night in, cannot sleep, or just have an hour or so to kill.- Fridge, which includes a pint of fresh milk.- Tea and Coffee making facilities (including fresh ground coffee & cafetiere, hot chocolate, etc)- Hair Dryer- Fluffy Hand and Bath towels with luxury toiletries- Use of the guest kitchen, including microwave oven.- Books, guides and leaflets on local attractions and events.- Finally, and importantly, the room is yours while you are here. Feel free to come and go as you please. There is no curfew or "stay away during the day" policy here.The Looe Area is a gastronomic delight with excellent restaurants to finish off your day and send you to bed looking forward to more lovely adventures tomorrow! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Evoline ltd, Book Direct Rooms, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Penvith Barns reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Penvith Barns Looe, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing