We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best B&B”
Review of Penvith Barns

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Penvith Barns
Ranked #11 of 53 Looe B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Tel Aviv, Israel
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The best B&B”
Reviewed 9 June 2014

We have just came back from 12 days trip to south west England with 2 children. Whilst staying in different good and highly recommended B&Bs, our 3 nights stay at the Penvith Barns was the best!!!
Jules & Graham made us feel at home & very welcome. Our children had wonderful time feeding Bono the baby Lamb, petting their beautiful dogs and accompanying Graham while feeding the chickens and picking up fresh eggs.
The breakfast was generous and delicious and the breakfast menu has a different and wonderful changing Daily course - we had full Cornish breakfast and some excellent international dishes as well. We stayed at the Dairy room which is spacious, welcoming, clean & well decor.
While Graham was happy to give us useful trip advises, Jules was very kind and even helped us with the laundery.
No doubt -Great place and wonderful hosts---- we shall return to Penvith barns!!!!!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: the dairy room is very spacious and suitable for children
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gavan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    223
    12
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
37
161
4
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Graham and Jules love what they do and make sure that their guest are well looked after.
Penvith is in the 'countryside' a good place to get away from stress and have that long earn break. Looe is not that far away from Penvith, there is the beach , good restaurants and pubs.
You will never be disappointed with your stay at Penvith and with the hospitality from Graham and Jules.
They know the Cornwall well, and willingly give advice and tips where to go, how to get there, places to eat and most of all how to make the most of the day when there.
The breakfasts are wonderful, a wide choice from Continental to Cornish breakfast. The cook breakfasts are hot and enjoyable make sure you have Graham's Eggs Benedict.
The rooms are wonderful, so far we have stayed at the Hen house which has a patio, a quite spot. There is a good veiw of Looe and the countryside from the bathroom. The dairy room very spacious and the shower large enough for a party.

I recommend staying here .
Oh! I got to feed Bono the baby lamb.

Room Tip: All the rooms are good you will not be disappointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Syliva59a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Graham and Jules were such unbelievably welcoming and helpful hosts that made me feel right at home when I arrived. Whilst here I stayed in The Dairy room which is very spacious, comfortable and had lovely furniture and decor. The breakfast menu has a great variety, including a full Cornish breakfast that is sensational. The B&B is surrounded by lovely fields but only a short drive away are some great pubs and restaurants. The highlight for me was meeting their pet baby lamb Bono who is so adorable and fun to play with. I would definitly recommend staying here for your next trip away!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Louwolst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

We stayed for three nights and the fantastic hosts, Jules and Graham really looked after us. It really is a lovely part of Cornwall. Looe is only a few miles away with great pubs and restaurants in all directions. The accommodation is excellent and very clean. Make sure you have the Full Cornish breakfast! Fantastic value too. No hesitation in recommending.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wolst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2014

We stayed for three nights and had a relaxing and enjoyable break whilst visiting family. We stayed in the dairy, a really spacious room with a very comfy king size bed. Jules and graham are excellent hosts, we were made to feel welcome and our room was cleaned and restocked with tea and coffee every day. The breakfasts were excellent, the best we have had at any B and B we have stayed at....we loved the scrambled eggs and tomato along with all the others in which we indulged. We are looking forward to our third stay and would highly recommend penvith barns to all.

Room Tip: The dairy is our fave.
See more room tips
Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank jennylcull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2014

We stayed for 2 nights with our 18 month old daughter and was an enjoyable stay. We stayed in both the Hen room, which is next to the breakfast room & the Piggery which is seperate building and has its own entrance. The piggery was a bit of a tight squeeze with the cot but as we booked last minute we were warned of this. Breakfast was amazing & enjoyed a takeaway & DVD one evening. Unfortunately I got food poisoning (from a fish n chip shop in Looe) so spent the last night up all night before leaving for our long drive home, however the owners were great in allowing my husband to bring over some breakfast since I couldn't make the breakfast times.

Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank TravelFanatic1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torquay, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2014

The whole experience of staying with Jules and Graham was very pleasurable. We felt welcome, looked after and cosy in our beautiful room, The Dairy, and it's such a peaceful, stunning place. I would recommend it to any couple, family or group of friends.
Bronwen Bird

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BronwenB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Looe hotels
4.1 mi away
Talland Bay Hotel
Talland Bay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Porthallow
855 reviews
2.2 mi away
Fieldhead Hotel
Fieldhead Hotel
#5 of 7 in Looe
262 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Snooty Fox
The Snooty Fox
#1 of 1 in Morval
249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Trelaske Hotel & Restaurant
2.1 mi away
Cherrywood Lodge
Cherrywood Lodge
#1 of 53 in Looe
386 reviews
1.9 mi away
Trehaven Manor Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Penvith Barns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Penvith Barns

Property: Penvith Barns
Address: St Martin, Looe PL13 1NZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Looe
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Looe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Penvith Barns 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We would like to invite you to spend some time with us here at Penvith Barns- a very special Bed and Breakfast in sunny CornwallWe can promise you a warm welcome, luxury holiday accommodation where you can come and go just as you please, relaxed and tranquil surroundings with views over our superb countryside, close proximity to some of Cornwall’s best beaches and plenty to do, whatever your taste.All our rooms have been decorated and furnished to the highest standards whilst maintaining a relaxed country feel. Every room is en-suite, and from the Cornish cookies on the welcome tray, to the silent fridge, everything is aimed at giving you the best holiday experience we can. All our rooms have the following:-- Your own entrance; either direct from outside or via the guests entrance.- Plenty of off-road parking.- TV with DVD. We have an extensive and varied DVD library which you are free to dip in to if you fancy a night in, cannot sleep, or just have an hour or so to kill.- Fridge, which includes a pint of fresh milk.- Tea and Coffee making facilities (including fresh ground coffee & cafetiere, hot chocolate, etc)- Hair Dryer- Fluffy Hand and Bath towels with luxury toiletries- Use of the guest kitchen, including microwave oven.- Books, guides and leaflets on local attractions and events.- Finally, and importantly, the room is yours while you are here. Feel free to come and go as you please. There is no curfew or "stay away during the day" policy here.The Looe Area is a gastronomic delight with excellent restaurants to finish off your day and send you to bed looking forward to more lovely adventures tomorrow! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, LateRooms, Booking.com, Book Direct Rooms, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Penvith Barns reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Penvith Barns Looe, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing