We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (392)
Filter reviews
392 results
Traveller rating
374
14
3
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
374
14
3
1
0
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 392 reviews
Reviewed 11 September 2021 via mobile

Just arrived back from a totally enjoyable 5 day break at Penvith Barns. This is a stunning place surrounded by beautiful countryside yet within 2 miles of Looe. We stayed in the Dairy Room which was so spacious and airy, it had everything we needed.
Breakfast was plentiful and with lots of options, enough to set you up for the day!
Andrew and Teresa the hosts are the perfect hosts, they are so knowledgeable of the local area and nothing is too much trouble for them.
I would definitely recommend this lovely B&B for a trip to Looe😊

Date of stay: September 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Tour17498758095
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 5 September 2021 via mobile

What can I say, everything about this B& B was just perfect!! We spent 5 nights in The Dairy room, which was large and airy.
Everything you need is in the room , fridge tea and coffee facilities, nice toiletries, comfy beds etc.
Andrew and Theresa who run it couldn't have been more helpful, they gave advice on where to visit how to get there and much more.
Breakfast was a treat, full Cornish breakfast or a daily special which was served with a smile by Theresa and cooked by Andrew every morning.
All in all an exceptional place to stay and we really hope to return (even though we live 400 miles away !)

Date of stay: August 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Adventure31552557671
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 3 September 2021 via mobile

A rather nostalgic trip for us as we first visited many years ago just after Penvith first opened.
Theresa and Andrew run Penvith with the same enthusiasm and care as did Alison and Peter, the rooms are spotlessly clean and comfortable with all the little extras you need.

Andrew cooks a great breakfast with very local produce and is very happy to prepare practically anything you would like in any combination.
The breakfasts are excellent quality and the sausages are some of the best you could taste anywhere.

Penvith is a great base to explore Cornwall and you would be hard pressed to find better quality/value nearby.
Great standards and a very friendly approach with excellent local knowledge.
It truly was like stepping back for us and lovely to see Penvith being loved and cared for once again.
Thank you Theresa and Andrew for a fantastic stay and making us feel so very welcome, I’m sure we will be back.

Date of stay: September 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank TONYDIVER1
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 19 August 2021

We stayed in the Hen House B&B to use as a base for Looe and Polperro. Andrew and Teresa run a gorgeous farm/B&B/Yurt property which feels out of the way but is just 10mins or so into Looe.
The venue is over 400 years old and has history as a working mill and also with smugglers so is a really interesting place if you read up on their updates on the property and its developments.
Breakfast is a simple process and was exceptionally good, covering all bases. They are also flexible on their menu checklist and are happy to do what they can as long as they have the ingredients. I had a special which was similar to a shakshuka, and made a great alternative to the usual fried breakfast setup (which I had another morning, with eggs from their own hens and locally sourced produce).
The room could get a little cold in the late evenings but there was no secret about this, and not only was there a radiator in the bathroom but also an additional oil radiator and together could easily cover any bitter temp drops.
The venue also has pygmy goats which you will want to smuggle out in your luggage when you leave, as well as hens and 3 sheep, and the owners are happy for you to interact and feed them if you wish. Weather permitting you have access to a rear open area with seating and views of the rear field and the vast farming lands infront, so if you want to feel out of the way but not too far from civilisation then this would be the place.
Overall we had a great stay based on location to Looe, the property was beautiful and Andrew and Teresa are lovely, hospitable and kind people who make you feel welcome and comfortable from the start.
If we ever went into the catering and accommodation business this is the type of property we would like to run. We would stay again, and if more than 2 of us next time we would look at the Yurt option as they look very accommodating.

Parking could be fun if you own 4x4s or pickups (like us!), but this is completely out of the owners control due to planning permission. Just something to consider before you roll up with your Chris Eubank 6 wheeler.

Date of stay: August 2021
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elliottd361
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 26 July 2021

Just spent two nights at Penvith Barns and what a pleasure it was, extremely welcoming owners, very knowledgeable about the local area and we took the advice.. The breakfast was superb, sausages and hog roast were awesome. The room we stayed in was lovley, very clean and perfect for us and our two cockers... Andrew and Theresa were the perfect hosts and made us feel very welcome...if we come back to Looe this is where we will be staying.

Date of stay: July 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank XbradX
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews