We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Portbyhan Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sportsmans Arms(Menheniot)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
White Hart Hotel(Menheniot)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (525)
Filter reviews
525 results
Traveller rating
315
146
36
18
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
315
146
36
18
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsedwards coachescoach tripcoach partyturkey and tinselsunday carverycrows nestwindow tableoverlooking the harbourbuffet stylevisited this hotelexcellent hotelfront facingfishing boatswould highly recommend this hotelyorkshire puddingshower roomhotel is situated
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
483 - 488 of 525 reviews
Reviewed 1 April 2014

We took our mums for Sunday Lunch on Mothering Sunday last weekend and to be honest - it was absolutely fantastic!! We hadn't been to the Portbyhan Hotel in years - and we were amazed at how fresh and modern the new owners had made it in a short time. The public areas were spotlessly clean - as was the dining room. The beef was cooked to perfection and there was a seemingly endless choice of vegetables (the Yorkshire Puds were to die for!!). And all for £8.95!! Each and every one of the staff we met were friendly, polite and professional. It was lovely to see this hotel being "cared for" again. Thank you all for making our Mums' day!!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AnganAnt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portbyhan, General Manager at Portbyhan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2014

Hello and thank you so much for writing such a lovely review for us. We really enjoyed Mothering Sunday as well. It was so nice to see all the families out enjoying their day and all the smiles and laughter. We really look forward to seeing you again. Take care, Brock - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014

Fantastic hotel with a fantastic location.
We have now stayed at the hotel a total of three times both as a couple and as part of a group of 12.
Nothing is too much trouble for the staff.
The hotel is spotlessly clean, the food is always piping hot and tasty with a good variety on the menu.
Highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Most rooms have lovely views
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lisa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portbyhan, General Manager at Portbyhan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2014

Hello and thank you so much for the review. We are of course very happy that you were happy with all elements of your stay. We thank you so much for coming to see us three times already. With the refurbishments that are going to take place in the future you will have to come see us again. Thank you, Brock - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2014

Had the carvery lunch here today only £8.95 All fresh vegetables with a good portion of meat. Great value!The staff were very friendly and we had a lovely view of the harbour from our window table. Will visit again and will recommend to friends

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wharfy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portbyhan, General Manager at Portbyhan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2014

Hello and thank you so much for taking your time to give us your input. We are so happy you enjoyed your time with us and of course we hope you tell all your friends and family. Look forward to seeing you again. Take care, Brock - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2014

This hotel has a good position in Looe (easy walking distance to town centre and beach).Only down side is there are quite a few steps to the hotel entrance and this is difficult for disabled people. They do however have a stair lift chair and we were told they are installing a lift this spring. The hotel is clean, All the staff are friendly and nothing is to much trouble. The food is second to none, the chefs deserve a pay rise (Vegetarian or not, if the stuffed peppers are the menu try them, there fab!!). They do however advertise as 'many rooms with sea view', they also have many that do not, and the views from these rooms are roads, car parks and from our room we not only over looked the window of another room but had a brick wall directly outside the window with the kitchen ventilation system piping in front of the wall which starts humming at 6.30am and doesn't stop until 9pm. Avoid room 301!The room was clean but small and with a lot of furniture in it so moving around was difficult especially as my mother is stick disabled. I contacted the hotel and the booking agent in advance explaining mum was stick disabled but we were put on the third floor!! If there had been a fire mum would NOT have been able to get out. They offer porter service but they broke the leg of my new suitcase and after having it for 60 hours all they did was put a bit of GLUE on it!! It fell off immediately!! Be careful.

Room Tip: If you have any disabilities contact the hotel in advance and hopefully they will listen. Request a sea view room but refuse room 301.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 3ohappycouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portbyhan, General Manager at Portbyhan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2014

Thank you so much for your review as we can only improve with input from our guests. We are so happy that you enjoyed the food and that the staff were helpful during your stay. The hotel does have over half the rooms with sea facing but of course like any building there are rooms that are not sea facing. We can offer sea facing with a supplement to guarantee like any other sea side hotel. I can fortunately let you know that there are fire escapes on each floor and the 3rd floor fire escape is actually the safest as it leads onto a level exit that leads onto a road behind the hotel so even safer for people with walking difficulties. In regards to your suitcase, can I offer you to contact me so we can sort out a replacement suitcase for you? You can contact me at 01503 262071 or manager@portbyhan.com – thank you, Brock, General Manger.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2014

all staff were very polite and friendly.food was excellent(i think i put on 3 pounds eating the breakfast).abby behind the bar serving the drinks was amazing(give her a pay rise).will recommend to friends and family.

Room Tip: pick room 109 with the balcony
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank tom r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portbyhan, General Manager at Portbyhan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2014

Thank you so much for your review and I can see my daily beatings of the staff is paying off (of course kidding) Abby says hello and thank you. Look forward to see you all next time. – Brock, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews