We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay”
Review of Portbyhan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Portbyhan Hotel
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Looe
Certificate of Excellence
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay”
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Stayed at this lovely hotel a few weeks ago. Hotel was spotless and we had a harbor view which was a major plus. The foods was fine but the service was second to none. Very friendly staff couldn't do enough for us.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carole J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portbyhan, General Manager at Portbyhan Hotel, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Good afternoon and thank you for taking the time to post your review.
I am delighted you enjoyed not just the food, but particularly the staff - they are a great team and genuinely care for you, our guests.
Hope to see you again soon!

From all of us at The Portbyhan Hotel
Philip
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

439 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    263
    122
    30
    17
    7
See reviews for
84
212
14
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Great Yarmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

We as a coach party on our way to the Scilly Isles stayed here for only one night. It was excellent. Lovely bedroom, even some had a balcony. Also super evening meal and breakfast but most of all such friendly, helpful staff. The music playing in the bar was enjoyable. We all said that we wish we had been there for longer. Hopefully we will return soon when we visit just Cornwall. The driver said he will comment to the tour company our positive views on this lovely place. The staff even waved goodbye to us as we departed.

Room Tip: Balcony if available enjoys lovely views over the harbour bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Susan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portbyhan, General Manager at Portbyhan Hotel, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Thank you for posting such a wonderful review for us.
We are very much looking forward to welcoming you back when hopefully, you can spend some more time in Looe and exploring the local area.

From all of us The Portbyhan Hotel
Philip
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014 via mobile

Expensive stay for a very basic room. Great views from the room but when we asked to move to an empty room with a balcony, we were told no as the housekeeper didn't have time to clean an extra room. Surely she would be cleaning our room anyway? And we asked at 9.30am
Reception staff not very helpful at all over this request
Would we stay here again? No. There are plenty more lovely hotels and b+b's in Looe. Friends are staying in other hotels at the moment and they say the staff couldn't be any more helpful

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
4 Thank Debby B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portbyhan, Manager at Portbyhan Hotel, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
I am sorry to hear of your disappointment when requesting to change rooms. I understand that a balcony room was offered to you but would not have been ready until 2 o'clock. This would be normal check in time at the hotel especially on a change over day and we would not have wanted to compromise our level of service to the rooms. However should the room have been ready beforehand you would have been told so.
Should you choose to come to Looe again, I am sure that we do our best to accommodate you.
Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West midlands
Level Contributor
171 reviews
113 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

My husband and I have just spent a very pleasant night at the Portbyhan hotel, were a little unsure as it has many coach parties, which we do not have any problems with. The hotel I think is now owned by the coach company Our room 207 facing the harbour was also a good choice, The room is very compacted and the shower cubicle is very small, but all the rooms I believe are of this size, balcony rooms which have been mentioned are good if the weather is suitable. Didn't see anyone sitting out when we were there as it was raining. Jamie gave us instructions for parking, a £1 to park at the front for an hour, then overnight parking is at The Mill Pool just a little walk up the hill for about £5.50. Evening meal very good sitting in the window seats, and as mentioned breakfast is excellent. Overall very pleasant helpful staff, and would not hesitate to stay again when in the area.

Room Tip: Room 207 is on the second floor overlooking the harbour and the view from the window is excellent I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ohdearmeWestmidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2014

just come back form our second visit to the Portbyhan hotel. since we where last the some areas of the hotel have been refurbished to a high standard.The staff are still very friendly and helpful, nothing is too much trouble.The bedrooms have every thing you could need. The buffet breakfast is one of the best we have had. The evening meals have improved a lot since last year.Would be a 5* all round except for the emergency lighting in the bedroom.

Overall a fantastic place to stay, would recommend to anybody

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank o_Hiho9_o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beddau, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2014

This hotel has been refurbisshed to a very high standard, ans every consideration has been thought of. Our room overlooked the quay, where the fishing boats came and went, a very nice room and well maintained. A lot of thought has gone into helping the disabled. The food is excellant served in a large light dining room. The staff are very helpful throughout the hotel.
Thanks go to Edwards Coaches who own this hotel, for organising the holiday and outings.
Pam Pontypridd

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pam H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portbyhan, General Manager at Portbyhan Hotel, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
Hi Pam, We of course loved reading your review. We do a nice bit of work with Edwards Coaches and we are also open to non coach party people as well. The weather is perfect at the moment so wishing you were here. Thank you again, Brock - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sussex by the sea
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2014

Probably the largest hotel you'll find in Looe, and it occupies a superb location right on the quay side in West Looe. Just a short walk over the bridge and you're in East Looe, where most of the shops are located. Staff are very helpful and friendly and my room was spotlessly clean. The view from the panorama window in the restaurant is excellent, looking our over the river the the fishing quay opposite. Also great value all round. The new owner seems to be investing in the property and updating accordingly, which was really the only fault - some of the room fittings just looked a little dated.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank whereissussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portbyhan, General Manager at Portbyhan Hotel, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
Hello and thank you. Your review was very nice and we are made so happy when our customers are happy. Look forward to seeing you again. We will save you a window seat by the river. Take care - Brock - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Looe hotels
2.0 mi away
Talland Bay Hotel
Talland Bay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Porthallow
5.0 of 5 bubbles 823 reviews
0.4 mi away
Fieldhead Hotel
Fieldhead Hotel
#4 of 7 in Looe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
1.5 mi away
Trelaske Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hannafore Point Hotel
2.6 mi away
The Snooty Fox
The Snooty Fox
#1 of 1 in Morval
4.0 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dolphin House
Dolphin House
#18 of 53 in Looe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Portbyhan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Portbyhan Hotel

Property: Portbyhan Hotel
Address: The Quay | West Looe, Looe PL13 2BU, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Looe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Looe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Portbyhan Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Portbyhan Hotel is located quayside in the heart of the beautiful Cornish fishing town of West Looe. West Looe is still a functioning fishing town and the hotel's location provides guests with great views of 'hustle and bustle' going on every day in the picturesque harbour. The family run hotel has a reputation for being one of the most popular hotels in Looe purely through recommendations by guests who have stayed in the hotel. All the guest bedrooms in the hotel are en-suite, clean and comfortable. All rooms come with all the modern facilities guests expect such as Colour TV and hair dryer. Many bedrooms have fantastic views of the harbour and/or town. Our Riverside Restaurant and The Portside Brasserie are ideally situated to provide fantastic views across the quayside both offering great locally sourced fresh food and unbeatable service. The hotel has a well-stocked bar so guests can enjoy a cold beer, Cornish Cider, glass of wine or local soft drinks from Cornish Orchards. There is a lot to offer within walking distance including the bus stop, train station, local gift shops, 5 minute walk to 3 beaches, next to the ferry going to East Looe, Bowling club and tennis courts, and just outside our front door we have the biggest swimming pool stretching right around the country and its free! Please note: Pets are not permitted to stay at this hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Portbyhan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Portbyhan Hotel Looe, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing