We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Portbyhan Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$103
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Talland Bay Hotel(Porthallow)
US$295
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Claremont Hotel(Polperro)(Great Value!)
US$116
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
Sportsmans Arms(Menheniot)
US$101
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
White Hart Hotel(Menheniot)
US$80
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (532)
Filter reviews
532 results
Traveller rating
318
147
38
19
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
318
147
38
19
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsedwards coachescoach tripcoach partyturkey and tinselsunday carverycrows nestwindow tableoverlooking the harbourbuffet stylevisited this hotelexcellent hotelfront facingfishing boatswould highly recommend this hotelyorkshire puddingshower roomhotel is situated
Filter
Updating list...
474 - 479 of 532 reviews
Reviewed 8 July 2014

We have had a couple of Sunday lunches at the Portbyan Hotel which have been excellent. The cost is £8.95 per person but for OAP and children it is £4.95. Last Sunday there was a choice of 2 meats beef and/or turkey, a choice of 6 veg (red cabbage, white cabbage, leek in cream sauce, cauliflower cheese, carrots and roasted parsnips) roast potatoes, proper Yorkshire puddings, and stuffing. There is a good wine selection as well as beers and spirits. As pensioners we have not yet been able to sample the desert menu as we have had ample portions of main course to satisfy our needs. Coffee is also available. We will definitely be back and intend to try the evening menu during the week.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank Hillem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portbyhan, General Manager at Portbyhan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

Thank you for highlighting the fantastic value and great selection represented on Carvery Sunday here at The Portbyhan Hotel.
I look forward to seeing you again on a Sunday or especially during the week for dinner.

From all of us at The Portbyhan Hotel
Philip

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

We got married June 2013 but this is the first time I have been on this site and thought I'd write a review as I said we got married in June 2013 and were on a very tight budget so booked a coach holiday for 5 days 4 nights we had no idea on what to expect but agreed that we would make the best of it, well when we arrived we had a bottle of wine and a card to congratulate us on our wedding and we had been upgraded to a sea view room which was beautiful we regulary went down to the bar for a game of bingo with the lovely bar manager Matthew and really enjoyed the whole holiday will be returning at some point hopefully in the not to distant future

Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Sarah D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portbyhan, General Manager at Portbyhan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

Thank you for your review.
Matthew and the rest of the team here are looking forward to seeing you for your next anniversary celebration!

From all of us at The Portbyhan Hotel
Philip

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We have been regulars at this hotel for many years due to it's location and our love of the Cornish coastline and the transformation in the overall appearance and standard of the hotel in the last 12 months is astonishing.

The balcony rooms are the ones that we always opt for as there is nothing better than having that first coffee of the morning looking out across the harbour and now that the refurbishments are complete this has enhanced this experience greatly.

The rooms are spotless, the bed was huge and extremely comfortable and nothing is too much trouble for the staff who are all so friendly and helpful.

We enjoyed a meal in the refurbished restaurant which consisted of potted shrimp followed by steak whilst overlooking the stunning views of the harbour, breakfast is also to be complimented not only for the standard of the food and service but also as you are able to enjoy this whilst soaking up those amazing views.

Great hotel, great staff, great location and a great base to explore the Cornish coastline from.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Gail C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portbyhan, General Manager at Portbyhan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

Thank you for writing such a lovely review.
I am delighted you enjoyed the refurbishments thus far - but there are still some more to come, so you will certainly enjoy those on your next trip down.
I have passed your comments to all the staff - they always try very hard and it makes such a positive difference for them to see such kind appreciation from our guests.
See you again soon I hope!

From all of us at The Portbyhan Hotel
Philip

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Stayed at this lovely hotel a few weeks ago. Hotel was spotless and we had a harbor view which was a major plus. The foods was fine but the service was second to none. Very friendly staff couldn't do enough for us.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Carole J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portbyhan, General Manager at Portbyhan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

Good afternoon and thank you for taking the time to post your review.
I am delighted you enjoyed not just the food, but particularly the staff - they are a great team and genuinely care for you, our guests.
Hope to see you again soon!

From all of us at The Portbyhan Hotel
Philip

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

We as a coach party on our way to the Scilly Isles stayed here for only one night. It was excellent. Lovely bedroom, even some had a balcony. Also super evening meal and breakfast but most of all such friendly, helpful staff. The music playing in the bar was enjoyable. We all said that we wish we had been there for longer. Hopefully we will return soon when we visit just Cornwall. The driver said he will comment to the tour company our positive views on this lovely place. The staff even waved goodbye to us as we departed.

Room Tip: Balcony if available enjoys lovely views over the harbour bay.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Susan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portbyhan, General Manager at Portbyhan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

Thank you for posting such a wonderful review for us.
We are very much looking forward to welcoming you back when hopefully, you can spend some more time in Looe and exploring the local area.

From all of us The Portbyhan Hotel
Philip

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews