We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
eDreams
Agoda.com
£122
Breakfast included
No booking fees
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (881)
Filter reviews
882 results
Traveller rating
518
229
80
33
22
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
518
229
80
33
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviews coach trip coach party sunday carvery balcony room roast potatoes overlooking the harbour lovely hotel east looe yorkshire pudding hotel is situated single room family room cooked to perfection weekend break lovely view enjoyable stay cream tea
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
20 - 25 of 882 reviews
Reviewed 26 September 2023

We found the hotel excellent , very nice room with balcony (that could have done with a clean). staff very friendly and helpful.
Only downside was on the sunday morning service for breakfast was was not very good.

Date of stay: September 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank trish123tg
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Lindsey Bailey-Lewis, Owner at Portbyhan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2023

Dear trish123tg,

Thank you for your review.

I am glad you had a pleasant stay with us but I was disappointed that we fell short on breakfast. This is not the feedback generally received and I hope will not deter you from returning.
Whilst our location gives a lovely harbour view, the local painters (seagulls) can often decorate shortly afterwards which we try our best to keep on top of.

Hopefully, we will welcome you again in the near future.

Kind regards
Lindsey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2023

We went for the Sunday carvery and although we hadn't booked a table they found us a table in the bar next to the window. They food was lovely. Yorkshire puddings amazing. Plenty of choice of vegetables and lovely gravy. Staff were all friendly and helpful. Lovely and clean place. My only criticism is the windows overlooking the river. Who ever designed them sho8ld really think again. They look new and when you sit at the table you only see the road or roof tops there is a big frame right through the middle so you can't see the water and boats. BUT I would certainly visit again.

Date of stay: September 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank rwb28
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Lindsey Bailey-Lewis, Owner at Portbyhan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2023

Dear rwb28,

Thank you for your review.
We are so pleased that you enjoyed your Sunday lunch with us and very much hope to welcome you again in future. Perhaps next time we can book you in to the restaurant where the views are uninterrupted. I appreciate what you are saying about the windows - but on stunning summer days these windows retract fully for amazing views too :)

Kind regards
Lindsey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2023 via mobile

Stayed for two nights over Looe Weekender. Great hotel and easy walking to the middle of town. Lovely to stay on the west side and look out over the quay.
Reception staff were brilliant and met our couple of extra asks really quickly.
Breakfast was great and the evening restaurant is pretty good!

Room tip: Car parking is in the main Looe car park, only a drop off point outside the hotel. Room with a balcony is well worth it.
Date of stay: September 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank 811robh
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Lindsey Bailey-Lewis, Owner at Portbyhan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2023

Dear 811robh,

Thank you for your review.
I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and we would love to welcome you again for a another stay in the near future.
Please contact us directly if we can assist with a future reservation on 01503 262071 and we will ensure you are well looked after.
Kind regards
Lindsey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2023

Stayed for a long weekend with Crusader coaches, and we were impressed, all staff were polite and helpful, our room, which had a balcony overlooking the estuary was modern and spotless (well worth the extra charge). We had stayed several years ago, and there have been great improvements since. Both breakfast and our evening meals were very good, served by efficient and friendly staff, there were menu choices for all courses, no problems at all. The terrace bar is a real chill out area with a great view of Looe harbour, waiter service and great cocktails. This hotel is located very conveniently for access to the town, not always the case in hilly Looe. Thanks to all staff, especially Jackie, we will certainly be staying at the Portbyhan hotel again.

Room tip: Book a balcony room with seaview
Date of stay: September 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank eric d
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Lindsey Bailey-Lewis, Owner at Portbyhan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2023

Dear ericdF6795NS,

Thank you for your review.
We are so pleased you enjoyed your recent stay with us.
Your comments are hugely appreciated and I will be sure to share them with the team. We will continue to invest into the hotel and hopefully on another return visit you will have an even better stay!
Kind regards
Lindsey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2023

Just back from a cracking three days here. The location is perfect, the are most helpful and the food is amazing. Can I recommend the Cornish gouda and chive fritters for starters. We will definitely be returning.

Room tip: We parked at Hanifore where the parking is free.
Date of stay: August 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank mark f
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Lindsey Bailey-Lewis, Owner at Portbyhan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2023

Dear markfN2389SU,

Thank you for your review.
We are so pleased you enjoyed your recent stay with us. Your feedback is appreciated and I will be sure to share your comments with the time.
The Gouda fritters are certainly a favourite :)
Please let us know when you are thinking of returning as we will happily assist you - contact us on 01503 262071.

Kind regards
Lindsey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews