We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
£190
Fully refundable before Sat, 2 Mar
Breakfast included
Agoda.com
£190
Fully refundable before Sat, 2 Mar
Breakfast included
No booking fees
ZenHotels.com
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (875)
Filter reviews
875 results
Traveller rating
514
228
78
33
22
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
514
228
78
33
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviews coach trip coach party sunday carvery balcony room roast potatoes overlooking the harbour lovely hotel east looe yorkshire pudding hotel is situated single room family room cooked to perfection weekend break lovely view enjoyable stay cream tea
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 875 reviews
Reviewed 6 November 2023

Bed very comfortable. Room very clean.
Very pleased they have a single room on floor 1 with a view. Most hotels the single rooms are up in the attic with no views.
Food delicious 😋
Staff very pleasant.

Date of stay: November 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Pam P
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Lindsey Bailey-Lewis, Owner at Portbyhan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 November 2023

Dear A7416CHpamp,

Thank you for your review.
We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us.
Your comments are greatly appreciated and I will be sure to share them with the team.
Hopefully, we will welcome you again in the near future.
If we can assist, please contact us directly and we will look after you
Kind regards
Lindsey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2023

We had a 2 night stay at the Portbyhan Hotel, Looe. Staff were welcoming, friendly and helpful and the room was warm, clean and comfortable. The location is perfect. Restaurant and bar prices were very reasonable and the food was freshly cooked and service was good.We had a balcony room overlooking the quay with views over the river to East Looe. The beach, shops, pubs and restaurants are all within easy walking distance.

Room tip: Best place for parking car is Millpool car park which is only approx 1/2 mile level walk. Overnight car parking £10 card/cash.
Date of stay: October 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank philipjefferies1
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Lindsey Bailey-Lewis, Owner at Portbyhan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2023

Dear philipjefferies1,

Thank you for your review.

We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us.
You comments are hugely appreciated and I will be sure to share them with the team.

Hopefully, we will welcome you back again. Please contact us directly if we can assist with any future bookings on 01503 262071 and we will ensure you are well looked after.

Kind regards
Lindsey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2023

We travelled with Parrys coaches for a week at the Portbyhan Hotel, and this was our second visit this year. The location is just fabulous, we had a river view room again which was well worth the small supplement.
The housekeeping team were excellent, and they kept our room clean and fresh throughout the week. The bar has a lovely relaxing atmosphere and all the staff in the restaurant were just so polite nothing was too much trouble for them when we asked for extra toast or tea etc, ( we wanted to mention Matt and Jade, who were both so pleasant and friendly).

Jackie is the F&B manager and she made sure that we were happy with our meals - I have to say the menu was very good, and suited us down to the ground. The fish dishes were particularly good 😊

Entertainment was very good, particularly on Saturday evening when singing duo Driftwood played in the bar, they were really brilliant fun and we had a great time - thanks for a memorable evening!

All in all, I can heartily recommend The Portbyhan, the staff are so hardworking and make it a friendly and relaxing place to enjoy the lovely town of Looe. Thanks to all of you, we really enjoyed our time there.

Date of stay: October 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank poorbuthappy10
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Lindsey Bailey-Lewis, Owner at Portbyhan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2023

Dear poorbuthappy10,

Thank you for your review.
We are so pleased you enjoyed your recent trip to us!
Your comments are greatly appreciated and I will be sure to share them with the team.
Hopefully we will welcome you again one day in the near future.
Kind regards,
Lindsey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2023 via mobile

One of the best carvery’s we’ve ever been to! My husband was so impressed I think I got fed up of hearing “crikey that’s one of the best roasts I’ve ever eaten” about a million times over! We visited with my in laws whilst they were visiting us (we live locally) and it was our first visit. Four adults and four children, we rang on the day on the off chance they could accommodate us and they were more than happy to fit us in. The restaurant is lovely and spacious with great views over Looe. The carvery itself was delicious, and well priced. If I had only one negative point it would be that carvery is all that is on the menu so our 9 year old (ND) son was quite upset he couldn’t have his usual “pub” offering that he gets when we visit another local carvery because as much as I can get him to pick at a roast at home I do begrudge paying £7.50 for him to basically eat nothing. Fortunately for everyone else it was money well spent and the drinks were also reasonably priced for a hotel as well. They also offer a locals discount card at reception so we will definitely be back!

Room tip: Locals discount card available with proof of residence
Date of stay: September 2023
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank myfourcornwallandme
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Lindsey Bailey-Lewis, Owner at Portbyhan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2023

Dear myfourcornwallandme,

Thank you for your review.
We were delighted to read your comments and thank you so much for sharing them. We would love to welcome you again and next time, please let us know in advance and we will be more than happy to make something for your son! We cant have him being left out now :)
Kind regards,
Lindsey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2023

Travelled with my daughter on a Blake's coach weekend. Cream rea on arrival, which was a welcoming touch. Blessed with wonderful weather, the who experience was a delight. The hotel is clean, food very good, service excellent and the crown in the jewel is the staff. Always pleasant, helpful and friendly under the watchful eye of Jacky their mother hen. I can't recommend the Porthyan highly enough. Do pay the supplement for a river view, well worth it. My only gripe is the roast potatoes, very hard to cut, but I'm nit picking.

Room tip: Book a room with a view.
Date of stay: October 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank mollywG515PW
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Lindsey Bailey-Lewis, Owner at Portbyhan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2023

Dear mollywG515PW,

Thank you for your review.
I am so pleased that you enjoyed your recent stay with us. I will be sure to share your kind comments with the team and we hope to welcome you both again.
If we can be of any assistance with a future reservation, please contact us directly on 01503 262071.
Kind regards
Lindsey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews