We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
£122
Fully refundable before Sat, 20 Apr
Breakfast included
Agoda.com
£122
Breakfast included
No booking fees
Skyscanner.com
£121
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (881)
Filter reviews
881 results
Traveller rating
518
228
80
33
22
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
518
228
80
33
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviews coach trip coach party sunday carvery balcony room roast potatoes overlooking the harbour lovely hotel east looe yorkshire pudding hotel is situated single room family room cooked to perfection weekend break lovely view enjoyable stay cream tea
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 881 reviews
Reviewed 16 February 2024 via mobile

Lovely friendly hotel.
Very clean and lovely staff
Excellent food - set menu for the group coach party
Prime location - with excellent views of the port.
Evening entertainment most night
Booked via Buckleys of Doncaster - excellent coach company
Great holiday

Room tip: No parking but car park local - not sure on cost.
Date of stay: February 2024
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank CherylM1461
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Lindsey Bailey-Lewis, Owner at Portbyhan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2024

Dear CherylM1461,

Thank you for your review.
I am delighted you enjoyed your holiday and we are so grateful for your feedback. I will be sure to share your comments with the team. We hope to welcome you again in the future.
Kind regards,
Lindsey Bailey-Lewis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2024

Went here with David Ogden Coach Tours the hotel is in a perfect location right on the estuary. We had a room at the front of the hotel with a balcony and river view which would have been lovely if there hadn't been any seagulls the balcony obviously hadn't been cleaned. The room was of an adequate size with a comfortable king size bed, the bathroom was very tight it had everything we needed, a walk in shower, a toilet and very small wash hand basin but an awkward shape. The hotel was clean and the staff were friendly and helpful. The restaurant was OK but nothing to write home about the food was disappointing and bland and to be honest it was a little chaotic there didn't seem to be any organisation/ management.

Date of stay: June 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank kathmc
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Lindsey Bailey-Lewis, Owner at Portbyhan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2024

Dear kathmc,

Thank you for your review.
I am pleased you enjoyed your time in Looe. It is of course disappointing to read that the food and some elements of the service did not exceed your expectation.
We are very excited for this year as we are continuing to build on the fantastic reputation we have built over the past 12 months and will keep striving for excellence.
Hopefully, we will welcome you again.
Kind regards
Lindsey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2023

Very nice, lovely mock-tails and the best customer service. Especially when me and my friend are still deciding what we are getting. Would DEFFO recommend as they were so accommodating to my heart. #. Feeling blessed. #always room for sides and Mccoys crisps

Date of stay: October 2023
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Evie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Lindsey Bailey-Lewis, Owner at Portbyhan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 December 2023

Dear 405evief,

Thank you for your review.
We are delighted to read your comments and I will be sure to share your feedback with the team.
Please get in touch if we can arrange a future stay for you!
Kind regards,
Lindsey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2023

The hotel tries hard to ensure that every is happy, everything is very clean , the food generally is good, we had a balcony room but I heard somebody moaning about having a 4ft6in bed, we had a 5ft but with a 7ft duvet.

Date of stay: December 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank peterandjenny282
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Lindsey Bailey-Lewis, Owner at Portbyhan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 December 2023

Dear peterandjenny282,
Thank you for your review.
We a re pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and appreciate your feedback. It would be lovely to welcome you again in the near future.
Kind regards,
Lindsey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2023

An excellent trip to The Portbyhan Hotel in Looe with Blakes Coaches. Everyone was so helpful from the minute we arrived until we left. The hotel and our room were spotlessly clean and everything we needed provided. The meals were excellent and the portions generous - very good value for money. The entertainment we were given was very good - especially the singer. The bingo and quiz good fun and entertaining - yes entertaining! Lastly the staff. What can I say. We have done several short coach trips this year but this hotel comes out tops for the service, cleanliness and friendliness we were given by the staff. Nothing too much trouble. Thank you. Also a quick mention to our driver Tony for looking after us so well throughout the trip.

Room tip: Choose a front facing room if possible overlooking the estuary.
Date of stay: November 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Cynth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Lindsey Bailey-Lewis, Owner at Portbyhan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 December 2023

Dear cynths2022,

Thank you for your review.
We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and I will be sure to share your comments with the team.
Hopefully, we will welcome you again in 2024!
Kind regards.
Lindsey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews