We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Fantastic Food in a Picturesque Village” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of 2 Fore Street

2 Fore Street
Ranked #1 of 10 Restaurants in Mousehole
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, View, Kids, Romantic
Dining options: After-hours, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
England
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fantastic Food in a Picturesque Village”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2012

Mousehole is one of the prettiest villages in Cornwall and probably the UK. So it is always worth a visit. If you go there you should make a point of eating in 2 Fore Street. For views, service, excellence of food and value for money it is not to be beaten. We went there just after they opened and it has been our favourite restaurant ever since. The food is fresh and well cooked and, because it is a local restaurant run by locals it has local ingredients.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank WilliamRodney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

959 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    681
    205
    52
    16
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
58 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Much better than they advertise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2012

We drove here on a very miserable December lunchtime and walked around the town, not much open but it was at least a lot better looking than Penzance! 2 Fore Street emerged like a beacon in front of us promising gastronomic expertise and most of all a warm place to eat lunch.
Despite there only being 2 other people in there, we sat down and were immediately impressed with the excellent smells coming from the kitchen. The decor is tres shabby chic but very comfortable. The view of the harbour couldn't be better.
Started of the most amazing pigeon salad, never had it so succulent, with tasty bits of lardons, generous portions and lots of salad.
Risotto of crab and pea was absolutely fantastic. A HUGE portion, enough to share between two, slightly much if like us you ordered two other dishes as well. Very tasty crab, risotto rice was perfectly cooked, just a little gooey, but chewy. Great presentation and needless to say we polished off the lot. Final course, the special of seafood stew. Plenty of local stuff in here and all very fresh.

Good choice of wines at a reasonable price to boot.

These people can't go wrong really, we were very pleased they were there, just when we need them and it made the 3 hour walk in the mud afterwards all the more enjoyable knowing we had happy bellies. ;0)

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank chillybeany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penzance, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2012

Went in for lunch with a friend and was very disappointed,this cafe is trying to be something it isn't.Also when I couldn't eat my lunch because it was revolting the girl argued with me.My friend also had prawns that weren't cooked,but she didnt say anything until after.
I was fed up as I found the menu restricting and the service offhand.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank sandy20012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great food good service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2012

Great location - reasonable prices-service personal and attentive- good wine list- some of the nicest food I've had in Cornwall

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Sally J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nonington, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“The Artist's suggestion”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2012

During an hour or two's indulgence in the arists' galleries of Mousehole one of the artists suggested that we wouldn't be disappointed with No. 2. Plainly decorated and furnished, this place was suggesting simplicity, borne out by the menu offered which suggested no frills food. Promising.
The Redhead, somewhat weary after driving all the way down to Cornwall the previous day went for a crab salad. I chose crab soup which was served blisteringly hot - too hot - but once it had cooled down was delicate, beautifully seasoned (plenty of pepper, much needed by crab).
The R's salad was served at the same time as my starter: plentiful, spanking fresh and just smelling like the sea. my main course was pan-baked hake on pea puree. This was just "a point": a good thick piece of fish, the flesh firm but creamy and just so fresh. No room for puds and anyway it was only lunchtime. However, this cafe achieves what, I think they set out to do: good, fresh, local produce, carefuly but unfussily cooked, informally served. Memorable for all the right reasons. Indeed the fact that my conscience nudges me to write this some 3 months after our visit suggests how memorable.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Andrew H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed 2 Fore Street also viewed

 
Mousehole, Cornwall
 

Been to 2 Fore Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing