We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Does what it says on the tin”

TheOld Pilchard Press
Ranked #8 of 10 Restaurants in Mousehole
Cuisines: Cafe, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Kids
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: 01736 731154
Burton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Does what it says on the tin”
Reviewed 13 May 2013

Very good food and nice, very nicely, served with a smile, which is what everyone likes, isn't it? We enjoyed a great breakfast here as it was close to our holiday let and we hadn't gotten around to buying all we needed for the morning..
We have visited before and enjoyed the proximity to the harbour and also the pictures for sale from local artists..

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gradely
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    20
    6
    4
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Nice and quite!”
Reviewed 9 May 2013

Lovely quite place to visit, had a lovely ice cream and a long sit down over looking the sea. Lovelky area. Chilled out!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Pam H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
63 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Cosy cafe”
Reviewed 17 April 2013

Clean, reasonable, good quality, simple menu but very enjoyable, worth a visit if you are in Mousehole

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Catwallader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Very friendly - food ok”
Reviewed 12 April 2013

Went there for a sandwich which was nicely presented and of reasonably good quality, was a little dark and not particularly cosy on a wet windy day, staff nice and welcoming.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Toby1112011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devizes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
340 reviews
116 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 781 helpful votes
“Great cream tea”
Reviewed 11 April 2013

I had spent the morning wandering around the village and decided to sit down for a while. I had walked past this place earlier and it looked fine so I went in to see for myself. I was due to have a dinner later in the evening so decided to go for the cream tea which for two scones, cream, jam and a pot of tea was £4.70.

The scones were fresh and fluffy, the jam thick and tasty and the cream thick and gluey, the perfect ingredients. Service was fine and the place was warm and inviting. Judging by the number of pre-season visitors sitting down inside with me, the place has a deserved good reputation.

It is slighlty off the beaten track although there is a rustic sign that points to the place. Well worth a visit especially if the wind is howling outside.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank GBfromDevizes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed TheOld Pilchard Press also viewed

 

Been to TheOld Pilchard Press? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing