We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Books Galore and Radio 4”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mousehole
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Old Coastguard Hotel
Ranked #1 of 6 Mousehole B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Welwyn Garden City, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Books Galore and Radio 4”
Reviewed 5 April 2014

Just returned from a two night stay here in cosy room 4, where you sit in bed looking at the sea curling around St Clement's Isle and seagulls swooping above the Mousehole rooftops and chimney pots below. Some things that made it particularly pleasant for me were: comfortable bed, choice of interesting books - in fact the place is a joy for readers, books everywhere - a teapot and cafetiere on the tray, Roberts radio, interesting artwork and friendly staff. Breakfast was super, my favourite items being the natural yogurt, prunes, apricots and really nice muesli followed by their kedgeree with a poached egg or delicious smoked salmon with scrambled egg. With Radio 4 on and the paper it was home from home but without any work on my part. The public areas are informal and unpretentious, comfortably furnished with a good view through the garden to the sea. A lovely place to relax right in charming Mousehole and only a little over a mile's jog, walk, cycle or drive to the fascinating fishing port of Newlyn. In the other direction you have the charms of Lamorna Cove and the Minack theatre at Porthcurno.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Helen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

488 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    291
    134
    31
    20
    12
See reviews for
84
287
13
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Penzance, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 March 2014

I think some of our friends think we're a bit bonkers, staying the night in a hotel so close to home that we can walk there. They only think that if they haven't stayed at The Old Coastguard.
We have just done our second Sunday Sleepover, and feel like we have had a real treat. The other reviews are spot on; the team of staff (and they really do work as a team) are knowledgeable and professional whilst being friendly and accommodating, the atmosphere is relaxing, the surroundings are stunning, and the beds amazingly comfortable.
Then there is the food (excellent), the wine list (extensive and including carafes of different sizes), and the views (stunning). They really have thought of everything, down to White Company toiletries, Tregothnan tea,and home made lemon curd at breakfast.
So I don't care if friends think we're bonkers staying so close to home, I think they're bonkers if they don't.
Oh, and it really is dog friendly too. Genuinely.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Julie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014 via mobile

Visited recently for lunch. We really love this hotel The food was very good and staff professional and friendly. Such a good location and dog friendly ! Now planning an overnight stay. If you are in Cornwall you must visit

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank GJL71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
worcestershire
Level Contributor
73 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2014 via mobile

This was our second visit to The Old Coastguard and once again we were not disappointed, this time we stayed in a different room, room 10 which had a small terrace, great for our dog who loved to sit out there. The staff are exceptional, friendly and chatty, the food is very, very good, it does have a fish bias, but so it should, with all that the sea can offer at the bottom of the garden.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank moonmin_troll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlisle, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 March 2014

My 11 year old son & I stayed here for four nights before Christmas, to see the beautiful Mousehole lights. Well worth a visit.
The hotel was very good, having certainly 'got it right', as far as food quality, presentation & value go.
The staff were pleasant and some exceptionally so. Leigh & Shiana made us particularly welcome, Leigh offering some good advice, when we found ourselves in a spot, along with some breakfast delivered to our room, when I was poorly-a bug, unconnected to the hotel.
The location is excellent for the village, & surrounding sites, with a bus stop right outside if needed.
The only thing I would mention to the hotel is the windows in our room-11 I think, needed replaced, as the wind and rain did come in-although the weather was appalling.
However, I would certainly recommend this hotel, and would not hesitate to use it again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank susan_ashburner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minchinhampton, null, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2014

We returned to The Old Coastguard for a four night stay on the dinner bed and breakfast deal which is extremely good value in early March. The service from the young team running the hotel was excellent and nothing was too much trouble for them. There is an informal and relaxed atmosphere in the combined bar, dining and sitting room looking out over the subtropical garden to the sea beyond. The food at all the different meals we tried was of a very high standard with plenty of choice and plentiful portions, the waistline is the only thing to suffer! shame about the weather but you cannot have everything, there has to be some reason to return soon.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms are the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Simon L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wymeswold, England
Level Contributor
34 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2014

It was our first visit to The Old Coastguard and we absolutely loved it! The whole ambiance of the hotel and dining area is just right if you want a quality place to eat, drink, sleep and enjoy the sea. As others have said, the staff are fantastic.

With both our teenage children away on half-term ski breaks, we took the opportunity to escape for three nights so we booked the Dinner, B&B option. After looking at the reviews and talking to the staff we opted for Room 5 – and we’re so glad we did as it was superb.

Lovely double bed, White Company toiletries in the bathroom and a fantastic 180-degree view from St Michael’s Mount right round to Mousehole Harbour. It even has a bath with a sea view! Best of all, like the other rooms it has its own private patio with sea views all-round. There’s tea and coffee in the rooms and we liked the idea of the free fresh milk from downstairs, rather than the dreadful UHT tubs.

The breakfasts and evening dinners were excellent with a great choice of food. There was an option to have an evening dinner at the sister hotel, but this would have meant one of us driving – so we stayed put to eat, drink and sleep.

We also really liked NOT having a television in the room or the dining room / bar / conservatory area as this really adds to helping you to relax.

Perhaps the best selling point is the staff, who really seem to have bought into the ethos of what the place is about and were helpful in every way. Can’t remember everyone’s name, but thanks to Max, Alice and Guy (we think) behind the bar.

Our only slight grumble was, as mentioned by another reviewer, it was February and it was a little cold in the dining area at times. Luckily we managed to book the table next to the log fire which helped.

Otherwise it was a great place to stay and we will definitely be back.

PS - If you like walking the coastal path, then one tip is to walk from the hotel to Newlyn (just under two miles), get the 1A bus to Porthcurno (leaves at something like 10.55am) and then walk the coastal path from Porthcurno via Lamorna Cove back to Mousehole. It's 10 miles walking in total, quite hard work in places but also spectacular. We did it and were shattered by the time we got back to Mousehole, but it was well worth it.

Room Tip: Room 5 is on the top floor with fantastic sea views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WymeswoldVets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mousehole
2.0 mi away
The Lamorna Cove Hotel
The Lamorna Cove Hotel
#1 of 1 in Lamorna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hotel Penzance
Hotel Penzance
#1 of 4 in Penzance
4.5 of 5 bubbles 781 reviews
7.2 mi away
Old Success Inn
Old Success Inn
#1 of 1 in Sennen Cove
4.0 of 5 bubbles 450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.7 mi away
Tregenna Castle Resort
13.3 mi away
Polurrian Bay Hotel
Polurrian Bay Hotel
#2 of 2 in Mullion
4.5 of 5 bubbles 780 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Ship Inn
The Ship Inn
#2 of 6 in Mousehole
4.0 of 5 bubbles 486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Coastguard Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Coastguard Hotel

Property: Old Coastguard Hotel
Address: The Parade, Mousehole TR19 6PR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Mousehole
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Mousehole
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Old Coastguard Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Also Known As:
Old Coastguard Penzance
Hotel Old Coastguard
Old Coastguard Hotel Mousehole, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing