We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pleasant Stay at the Old Coastguard”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mousehole
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Old Coastguard Hotel
Ranked #1 of 6 Mousehole B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Pleasant Stay at the Old Coastguard”
Reviewed 22 May 2014

My husband and I spent three nights at the Old Coastguard earlier this month. We were in the St. Clements room, which was up quite a few flights of stairs! The room was spacious and had good views, but the carpet could have done with cleaning or replacing. The hotel was well located, and had a very good dining room. The staff was all very pleasant and helpful and made a very good dinner recommendation, for a restaurant in Newlyn.
The only complaint about the hotel was the lounge area is used both by residents and by the public, and it was often difficult to get a seat on couches or chairs in the lounge area. We were able to sit at the tables in the nearby dining room to have a before dinner drink, but would have preferred to sit in the lounge area, which wasn't always possible. It might have been nice to have an area just for residents, where a drink could be obtained. There was a shortage of parking in the hotel's lot, but they paid for us to pay to park in the lot next door, which wasn't a problem at all.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lydia19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

487 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    291
    133
    31
    20
    12
See reviews for
84
286
13
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Totnes, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 18 May 2014

The people who run this hotel know what they're doing. The staff were perfect - friendly, professional, but not over familiar. The food was fantastic, the room was great. 6 stars. We were amazed to find that the dogs could join us at dinner and even stay in the room with us over night - if you're not dog friendly, don't let that put you off, there's seperate areas for dog people and non dog people.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 15 May 2014

Unique place with a cleverly crafted, but pleasant, atmosphere but spoilt, surprisingly in view of previous comments, by poor food and incessant and intrusive piped music and, in the morning, Radio 4. John Humphries and Woman's Hour etc in a cool holiday hotel? More like Mrs Tressle's Worthing B&B.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014

We stayed at the Old Coastguard on the 27th & 28th April as part of a longer visit to Cornwall and after thoroughly enjoying a stay at the Felin Fach Griffin, a sister hotel in Wales. We were delighted by our choice of Room 14 (I need a walk in shower) as it proved to be a small suite with a private terrace overlooking both the sea and Mousehole harbour. Because we were blessed with glorious weather we were happy to make full use of it. The room was clean, the bed comfortable, the water was hot and there was a good supply of good quality tea & coffee which is exactly what we expect. Both our dinners were excellent and extremely good value bearing in mind the quality of the ingredients. My husband thought his sole the best he'd ever had and I enjoyed the scallop starter so much that I had it on both nights. The choices for breakfast were equally good. Staff were all young, polite & enthusiastic and we are looking to a return visit - pity it's so far from home!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cecil98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
115 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014

I stayed here with my partner and we really enjoyed the atmosphere and friendliness of the staff. We stayed for both dinner and breakfast, which included in the room price is great value for money.

The room was superb and the cleanliness was second to none. The food was great, however I did unfortunately have some bad mussels which had not been filtered/cleaned correctly, as there was still sand. Apart from that the main was one of the best dishes I have had.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Damien_mh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poole, Dorset
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2014

From the warm welcome we received on arrival to the yummy food, comfy bed & great service this hotel really delivers for a short break in Cornwall. Mousehole is a very pretty village & we did a 'treasure hunt' which took us to interesting back streets to explore.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Topsyanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2014

Went to the restaurant tonight as a treat at the end of our holiday. Great food. Had duck and then John Dory . We love this restaurant. Service team are very pleasant. Takes us a bit of time to slow down and move at local speed. However we always feel better once relaxed. Lovely atmosphere. Great views and food. What more could one want?

Room Tip: Did not sleep so have not rated this
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jantreg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mousehole
2.0 mi away
The Lamorna Cove Hotel
The Lamorna Cove Hotel
#1 of 1 in Lamorna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hotel Penzance
Hotel Penzance
#1 of 4 in Penzance
4.5 of 5 bubbles 781 reviews
7.2 mi away
Old Success Inn
Old Success Inn
#1 of 1 in Sennen Cove
4.0 of 5 bubbles 450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.7 mi away
Tregenna Castle Resort
13.3 mi away
Polurrian Bay Hotel
Polurrian Bay Hotel
#2 of 2 in Mullion
4.5 of 5 bubbles 779 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Ship Inn
The Ship Inn
#2 of 6 in Mousehole
4.0 of 5 bubbles 485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Coastguard Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Coastguard Hotel

Property: Old Coastguard Hotel
Address: The Parade, Mousehole TR19 6PR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Mousehole
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Mousehole
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Old Coastguard Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Also Known As:
Old Coastguard Penzance
Hotel Old Coastguard
Old Coastguard Hotel Mousehole, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing