We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A real sanctuary”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mousehole
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Old Coastguard Hotel
Ranked #1 of 6 Mousehole B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Burgess Hill, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“A real sanctuary”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Lovely hotel. Wonderful views. Staff are friendly and helpful without being pretentious. Reception are very welcoming. Food is really good. A truly relaxing treat. Dog friendly - even able to join us for dinner - perfect

Room Tip: Higher rooms for better views :-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CordeliaB2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

493 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    291
    136
    33
    21
    12
See reviews for
85
289
13
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2014

My husband and I spent three nights at the Old Coastguard earlier this month. We were in the St. Clements room, which was up quite a few flights of stairs! The room was spacious and had good views, but the carpet could have done with cleaning or replacing. The hotel was well located, and had a very good dining room. The staff was all very pleasant and helpful and made a very good dinner recommendation, for a restaurant in Newlyn.
The only complaint about the hotel was the lounge area is used both by residents and by the public, and it was often difficult to get a seat on couches or chairs in the lounge area. We were able to sit at the tables in the nearby dining room to have a before dinner drink, but would have preferred to sit in the lounge area, which wasn't always possible. It might have been nice to have an area just for residents, where a drink could be obtained. There was a shortage of parking in the hotel's lot, but they paid for us to pay to park in the lot next door, which wasn't a problem at all.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lydia19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Totnes, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 18 May 2014

The people who run this hotel know what they're doing. The staff were perfect - friendly, professional, but not over familiar. The food was fantastic, the room was great. 6 stars. We were amazed to find that the dogs could join us at dinner and even stay in the room with us over night - if you're not dog friendly, don't let that put you off, there's seperate areas for dog people and non dog people.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 15 May 2014

Unique place with a cleverly crafted, but pleasant, atmosphere but spoilt, surprisingly in view of previous comments, by poor food and incessant and intrusive piped music and, in the morning, Radio 4. John Humphries and Woman's Hour etc in a cool holiday hotel? More like Mrs Tressle's Worthing B&B.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014

We stayed at the Old Coastguard on the 27th & 28th April as part of a longer visit to Cornwall and after thoroughly enjoying a stay at the Felin Fach Griffin, a sister hotel in Wales. We were delighted by our choice of Room 14 (I need a walk in shower) as it proved to be a small suite with a private terrace overlooking both the sea and Mousehole harbour. Because we were blessed with glorious weather we were happy to make full use of it. The room was clean, the bed comfortable, the water was hot and there was a good supply of good quality tea & coffee which is exactly what we expect. Both our dinners were excellent and extremely good value bearing in mind the quality of the ingredients. My husband thought his sole the best he'd ever had and I enjoyed the scallop starter so much that I had it on both nights. The choices for breakfast were equally good. Staff were all young, polite & enthusiastic and we are looking to a return visit - pity it's so far from home!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cecil98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
118 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014

I stayed here with my partner and we really enjoyed the atmosphere and friendliness of the staff. We stayed for both dinner and breakfast, which included in the room price is great value for money.

The room was superb and the cleanliness was second to none. The food was great, however I did unfortunately have some bad mussels which had not been filtered/cleaned correctly, as there was still sand. Apart from that the main was one of the best dishes I have had.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Damien_mh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poole, Dorset
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2014

From the warm welcome we received on arrival to the yummy food, comfy bed & great service this hotel really delivers for a short break in Cornwall. Mousehole is a very pretty village & we did a 'treasure hunt' which took us to interesting back streets to explore.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Topsyanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mousehole
2.0 mi away
The Lamorna Cove Hotel
The Lamorna Cove Hotel
#1 of 1 in Lamorna
45 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hotel Penzance
Hotel Penzance
#1 of 4 in Penzance
788 reviews
8.7 mi away
Tregenna Castle Resort
Tregenna Castle Resort
#10 of 21 in St Ives
2,618 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
The Queens Hotel
The Queens Hotel
#3 of 4 in Penzance
453 reviews
8.2 mi away
The Gannet Inn
The Gannet Inn
#2 of 4 in Carbis Bay
229 reviews
4.3 mi away
Mount Haven Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Coastguard Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Coastguard Hotel

Property: Old Coastguard Hotel
Address: The Parade, Mousehole TR19 6PR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Mousehole
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Mousehole
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Old Coastguard Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Also Known As:
Old Coastguard Penzance
Hotel Old Coastguard
Old Coastguard Hotel Mousehole, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing