We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“towell gate”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Sunnyside Newquay
Ranked #20 of 37 Hotels in Newquay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 June 2011

went on a hen weekend to newquay and stayed at Sunny side. When we arrived we were taken into a room and told the rules by Steve. They seemed to have good outlook and only seem to cater for parties. Nothing was a problem until we came in at night and two night porters demanded we show our pink cards before we came in. You have to pay to use the towells and when we checked out were charged £9 a towell for leaving makeup on them. So beware of this and take your own towells. Before you check out they make you wait at reception and check all the rooms. When they check rooms they don't tell you which room the dirty towells are out off. As you have already payed to use the towells bit of a cheek charging to wash them. Breakfast was nice but they get very mixed up with orders so beware of this.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank southwalesBill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ssh57, Manager at Hotel Sunnyside Newquay, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2011

From a management aspect, we are glad the reviewer made comment on the request for guest cards to be produced during their stay with us. As a busy hotel in a town centre location, it is very important that all staff follow our policy to ensure we only allow registered guests into the hotel. Our guest card system, where every guest is issued with a personalised card to confirm residency, we believe, works well in this respect. Our security has been praised on many occasions by previous guests, and so we are disappointed that the reviewer found this to be an inconvenience, more so than a necessary measure put in place to safeguard their group.

With regard to the matter of towels, we would like to clarify that we have NEVER charged a guest for the cleaning of a hire towel. As detailed in the room information notice, displayed in every guest room, we do, however, have to pass on a charge for towels when they are stained by the hirer and are unable to be made available for future guest use. As a budget hotel, we do not feel this is unfair- we simply cannot absorb the cost of replacing towels due to make-up and fake tan stains (amongst others).

We are particularly disappointed with this review as we would never wish to dampen a guest’s impression of the hotel by what we feel is a well advertised policy. We have a set procedure in place to ensure this is treated in a fair manner; if a towel is marked with a potential stain, we carry out an immediate hot wash to confirm if a charge is necessary or not. If a mark does wash out, we can use the towel again and no charge is incurred by the guest. If the towel is stained, it cannot be put back into hotel use, and the guest is welcome to keep the towel, however, we do need to pass on a charge for a replacement towel (at cost price). In this instance a charge of £5 per towel (not £9 as indicated) was passed on to the guest due to make-up stains.

Again, to receive anything less than a glowing review comes as a disappointment to the team. I hope the reviewer and her friends had an otherwise fab hen weekend in Newquay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (365)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

273 - 279 of 365 reviews

Reviewed 23 June 2011

The hotel sunnyside is a very clean and modern hotel , i was surprised how nice it was considering the fact they allowed 16 of us on a stag do . The staff are friendly and helpful and the bar has a very relaxed atmosphere . I highly recommend the full english breakfast which at 3 pounds was a bargain . Would certainly stay again .

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jason32_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2011

Stayed here with a friend for 4 nights in a twin bedded room on second floor. Didn't pay for a sea view, but was very happy to find we had a great one! All staff very friendly, always greeted with a smile. The room was comfy and spacious with a small, but functional bathroom. The room had lots of storage space, a working television, and was very quiet. Only negative would be that the curtains didn't quite fit the windows!
We can't comment on the breakfast, as we chose not to have it, although it smelt nice! We did try out the bar once, which was really nice, with lots of comfy seating!
Parking was limited at the hotel, but as we got there mid-week, we were able to get a space, which we used throughout our stay.
The location was amazing - seconds from the beach and grass/park area, and only a minutes walk from either the shops, or our favourite bar - Walkabout!
After camping for the last 3 years - this was a very luxurious and pleasant place to stay - we will defiitely be back next year!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sarah14387
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ssh57, Manager at Hotel Sunnyside Newquay, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2011

Thank-you for your kind comments. We are really pleased you enjoyed your recent stay and promise to investigate the issue with the ill-fitting curtains. Hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2011

Well I've read some of the negative reviews on here and can only say that some people will never be satisfied!! Myself and the boys from b14, have stayed at the sunnyside every year now for the last 6yrs, for stag weekends and birthday's and will continue to return.

Whilst it is a budget hotel,it has great staff,v.friendly and more than willing to make your stay comfortable and memorable, yes the bunk rooms are cosy, especially when you have 4 grown men in the room!! Notice that I didn't say GROWN-UP!!! lol, but this can add to the banter and atmosphere of the stay!

It's location is second to none, towan bay 60secs away and the addition of the surf shack.... brilliant idea, you can't beat a Saturday morning body boarding session to help get rid of the hangover!! The main drag is virtually staggering distance away!! And a good job to!!! Lol Central,Sailors and walkabout just around the corner with good old berties night club only 5 mins away.

So if your looking for a great place to stay but have a budget then you can't beat the sunnyside!! Will The boys from b14 be back..... of course we will...see you in July 2011!!!! SPARKY'S STAG.

  • Stayed: September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sjk1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2011

Brilliant location, can't fault the place, will return when visiting Newquay again.

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nksd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2011

As a well seasoned visitor and former local of Newquay, I really would not consider staying anywhere else short term in Newquay. The rates are fantastic in comparison to many other establishments. The rooms are clean, comfortable and functional. The showers are decent and clean, the beds are comfortable and I sleep straight through with no disturbances. At the end of the day you could pay almost double and not get better than Sunnyside. If your destination is newquay then I couldn't recommend better for a short break or Stag/Hen do.

Room Tip: Sunnyside is not yr destination Its yr basestation
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank iBenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2011

Stayed here in june 2010 with my friends in a triple bunk room. the room was all we needed really yeah small but perfectly fine the bathroom was small but clean and this did not effect our holiday in anyway. we came down when it was the world cup and was woken by people shouting ENGLAND! at 4am in the moring but we laughed about it as im sure the nights after we woke people up coming in. such a fun, young hotel and would reccomend to all my friends.
the staff are really friendly and the hotel really clean and nice. Best holiday ever!
we've booked to come back this year again.
such a great location and couldnt fault anything such value for money.
love itttt!!!!!

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Harriet-1991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newquay hotels
1.0 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
0.2 mi away
Legacy Hotel Victoria - Newquay
0.9 mi away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#6 of 37 in Newquay
1,400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Best Western Hotel Bristol
1.4 mi away
Porth Lodge Hotel
Porth Lodge Hotel
#26 of 37 in Newquay
141 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Atlantic Hotel
The Atlantic Hotel
#10 of 37 in Newquay
1,024 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sunnyside Newquay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sunnyside Newquay

Address: 5-7 The Crescent, Newquay TR7 1DT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 37 Hotels in Newquay
Price Range: £59 - £122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Sunnyside Newquay 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly located for a short break in Newquay, Hotel Sunnyside is a fun and upbeat budget hotel offering a range of facilities and a great choice of affordable private en-suite rooms for single travellers, couples, and groups of all ages. Positioned just above Towan Beach in the heart of Newquay town centre, our location boasts inspirational views across Newquay bay and the awe-inspiring Atlantic coastline. With only a two minute walk to the main shops, bars, and restaurants, and only a short stroll from the beach, Newquay's winning formula of sun/fun/sea/surf are all on your doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Sunnyside Newquay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunnyside Hotel Newquay
Hotel Sunnyside Newquay Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing