We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“FAB! My 2nd visit and looking forward to a 3rd!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Sunnyside Newquay
Ranked #22 of 38 Hotels in Newquay
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
“FAB! My 2nd visit and looking forward to a 3rd!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2011

Just about recovered from another great week end in Newquay staying at Hotel Sunnyside. I LOVE this hotel! Came last year on a hen do and was organising one for my best friend this year and had to come back! I don't think you can find a better location- it's right in the middle of Newquay, a stumble away from the night life (although not right in the high street so won't get woken by those staggering back later than you) and a stones throw from the great beach (I think it's called towan?). I paid with my best friend (the hen) to have a twin sea view room which looked right over the beach and that funny little island, it was lovely.Those that were in bunks commented that they were on the small side but there were certainly no complaints especially at the price that was paid for them. The rooms had everything we needed.
The hotel has introduced a pay for all the extra's policy since my last stay which I thought was a good idea. Especially being a bunch of girls, we all brought our own toiletries anyway and would never have used the hotels, so it just doesn't seem necessary and if they can keep their prices lower because of it-great! Most of us brought our own towels too and the 2 that didn't were happy enough to pay for towel hire.
The staff are great and I recognised a couple of faces from last year which was nice. Great having that funky little bar there too, had a few cocktails whilst waiting for the girls to get ready!
All in all another great stay, so thank you to all at Hotel Sunnyside- you'll see me again soon!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dollymolly81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ssh57, Manager at Hotel Sunnyside Newquay, responded to this review, 21 July 2011
Great review, thank-you Dollymolly81!

It is pleasing to hear a positive comment on Tripadvisor regarding our new room amenities policy. Given the many positive verbal comments this year, this policy seems to have been received well. We are aware that it does come as a surprise to some, but on the whole, the feedback we have received thus far supports our belief that our guests would rather pay less for their stay and bring a towel and their own toiletries.

To clarify to not familiar with our room amenities policy, many items such as towel hire and tea and coffee making facilities are not included in the base room rate. If you do wish to include such items in your stay, you can just add them as an extra. It's as easy as that. It's just our way of maintaining our low rates.

Thanks again Dollymolly81. See you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

357 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    202
    97
    23
    12
    23
See reviews for
28
49
12
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Devon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2011

We stayed here for 3 nights on a hen weekend. All of our rooms were lovely, spacious with an amazing view.
Being a minutes walk from Walkabout made it ideal as girls being girls, we wore our highest heels and it made it easy for us to walk back!! Right in the middle of town and by a lovely little beach. Didn't mind paying £3 for breakfast, but was suprised you had to pay extra for tea/coffee/juice etc.
Overall the staff were brillaint, especially Steve, with the exception of a couple of the staff, who seemed a bit clueless when it came to knowing what they were doing!! Limited parking spaces outside, and hard to drive to with the one way systems, but a large car park is not far away if you dont mind paying and keep walking up to top up your ticket!!
Overall, a brilliant place to stay though, would definatley recommend, and come back again!!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vikster89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ssh57, Manager at Hotel Sunnyside Newquay, responded to this review, 19 July 2011
Thank-you for the review Vikster89.

We are glad you found us a 'brilliant place to stay'. Going into our peak season, we have taken on a few new members of staff, so we apologise for the fact that they may have appeared less up to speed than Steven and our more experienced members of the team.

We look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2011

If you want amazing views, then this hotel is perfect for that. In a fantastic location, just minutes from the beach and pubs/clubs.
However the rooms themselves were terrible. Discusting sheets, really old and worn, although a comfy bed. The toilet/shower room was tiny and really old, the shower was often luke warm.
The breakfasts start at 9am, which is really late. By that time me and my boyfriend wanted to be out in the sea but as we had already paid for the breakfast we had to stick around. The breakfast was all either microwaved or fried and it was greasy and plain. Can't really complain too much for £3. Tea/coffee was extra which is ridiculous. Everything was a tariff which could have worked well but during the night when I wanted a drink but didn't have any change it was a hassle!
They said that the bar closed at 12pm but it actually closed at least 40 minutes before and we struggled to even get a bottle of water!
The rooms had paper thin walls and the noise from outside was also very disturbing. They said it was £1 per hour of wifi but they didn't even have the internet as apparently it was down for the whole duration of our stay.
All in all, a great location but hotel was really not up to much. It wasn't even that cheap!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bal12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ssh57, Manager at Hotel Sunnyside Newquay, responded to this review, 19 July 2011
This review comes as a surprise and a real disappointment. We appreciate internet review sites are designed for people to share their personal opinions, but we just wish that guests would MAKE US AWARE of any dissatisfaction during their stay! We are a friendly bunch and issues such as the ones here could have been resolved easily. Even the chance to apologise in person may have helped with the guest’s lasting impression, but when a guest reports their stay on check-out as being "good", it's difficult to attend to such matters.

We extend our apologies for the shortcomings during this particular stay and would like to take this opportunity to address the issues noted.

Some of our bed linen is tired. We have recently addressed this by purchasing a whole new supply of sheets and duvet sets. We would have happily exchanged the entire bed linen. The bed linen in this instance should not have been on the beds in the first place and will now be removed completely. That said, I feel the reviewer has been somewhat unreasonable in her choice of words to describe our rooms.

We are happy to move breakfast forward if a guest has plans. However, this was never brought to our attention at any stage. We advertise our breakfast times on the website, but nevertheless, we are always happy to meet a guest request whenever possible. Breakfast was being served from 7.30 am for a group during the reviewer's stay, and we would have set up an additional table for two without a moment's hesitation.

We have received a few comments now concerning the policy of charging £1 for a hot drink in addition to breakfast at £3. We admit that we have got this one wrong. We feel at these prices, it still represents great value, however, it appears an inclusive price of £4 would help avoid guest disappointment. Again, the choice of wording used by the reviewer is perhaps extreme. We are sorry that the reviewer did not enjoy her breakfast.

At this time of year, soft drinks (including bottled water) are available 24 hours a day. Also, our bar would have opened at 12pm, not closed at 12pm. As per the sign in reception, our bar is open from 12pm - 11.30pm.

We do apologise for the problem with the wi-fi. Our server went down during the time of the stay, and the Hotel itself had no internet access for 24 hours.

For £30 per person per night, the reviewer stayed in our peak season in a double standard room with a king size bed and a sea-view. We welcome anyone to compare this rate against a comparable hotel in Newquay. Many surf lodges/hostels in Newquay with shared facilities are advertising bunk beds at a similar price! We feel the issue of the pricing is unfounded.

In summary, we know we cannot get everything perfect every time. We urge guests just to let us know if something does not meet their expectations. We’re here to ensure you have a great time with us and not leave feeling the need to write a review such as this one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton UK
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2011

Went for a hen weekend,the staff were nice and helpful,the £3 breakfast was decent,just a shame that didnt include a drink too.

The room was disapointing as the rooms on the website look alot bigger and for four girls trying to get ready in a tiny room with the only space being a small gap in between the bunk beds was annoying as we all had to squeeze round eachother. The powerpoints were in hard to get places too. The bed was very comfy,so that was a plus. It was a clean room and the bathroom was small but had everything you need.

The chucklebrothers on reception were a good crack and made sure any noisy guests cleared off to their rooms.

The bar downstairs was handy and Steve was enjoying being the party host to his guests.

The hotel put you on the guest list to a strip club/bar which saves you a fiver for the entry but the drinks were so expensive and the woman were not easy on the eye. Best off going to the Walkabout bar where we had a great evening.

It is literally over the road from the lush beach and night life,so you cant go wrong with that.

Apart from the room we had a fab stay and met some cracking people.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shewalkstheline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ssh57, Manager at Hotel Sunnyside Newquay, responded to this review, 19 July 2011
We are glad to hear the reviewer enjoyed their stay in Newquay.

We can understand the reviewer’s disappointment with the size of their particular room. As we have made comment on before on Tripadvisor, our bunk rooms are not spacious. That said, we do not advertise them as being anything else but 'cozy' (with direct reference to size). The one image on our website of the quad bunk room does, to us, indicate a compact room.

The Hotel’s concept is to offer clean private guest rooms with comfy beds in a great location at low room rates. To allow this and keep our bunk room pricing competitive with Newquay hostels and surf lodges, we must compromise space in the bunk rooms at times. Essentially, we can offer a private en-suite room in a fantastic central location by maximising the space in the room. As Tripadvisor proves, this concept generally proves popular, but, yes, we do accept that this may leave guests disappointed if they are not made fully aware of this fact before they arrive.

As noted in another management response, we are to change our breakfast pricing for 2012 to include a hot drink or juice with our breakfast.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2011

Went for my 23rd birthday with a friend and had a brilliant time. The staff were friendly and very helpful. The room was a good size with a great sea view. Its a very good place to go for a stag or hen party as well. Will be going back next year.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen_Gaff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ssh57, Manager at Hotel Sunnyside Newquay, responded to this review, 8 July 2011
Thank-you Helen for your kind comments. We hope to see you again next year for your 24th!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edenbridge, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2011

An unusual hotel that is a pandora's box & has an interesting concept regarding pricing.
From the street the hotel appears to be a standard double fronted building. In fact this hotel bosts over 50 bedrooms. In order to keep costs down the hotel charges extras for everything,from tea,coffee &towels to breakfasts.
The front of house staff are friendly & try to keep the guests happy.
The location is ideal for both accessing the seafront & also the town centre.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank philweil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ssh57, Manager at Hotel Sunnyside Newquay, responded to this review, 5 July 2011
We are grateful for the feedback from philweil. It is always good to hear that our customer service and great location is appreciated, but it is also beneficial to be made aware when a guest feels their stay was not perfect. In this instance, in writing this review, we will take the opportunity to explain the hotel concept to all TripAdvisor users thinking of visiting Hotel Sunnyside.

Before booking, we do urge potential customers to visit our website to gain an understanding of our 'pay for what you need' concept. The reviewer was absolutely correct in that certain room amenities (inc. towels, toiletries pack) and breakfast are booked as optional extras. We try to make this clear on our website, but the concept is highlighted for our guests' attention on each and every booking confirmation. We then send a 'pre-arrival' email a week prior to arrival to help ensure there are no surprises at check-in.

The 'pay for what you need' concept was introduced as a way of helping the Hotel maintain our low rates. It has been received very well on the whole by our guests. It is a shame if the policy has been missed on this occasion and has lead to a level of disappointment.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Wales
Level Contributor
80 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2011

went on a hen weekend to newquay and stayed at Sunny side. When we arrived we were taken into a room and told the rules by Steve. They seemed to have good outlook and only seem to cater for parties. Nothing was a problem until we came in at night and two night porters demanded we show our pink cards before we came in. You have to pay to use the towells and when we checked out were charged £9 a towell for leaving makeup on them. So beware of this and take your own towells. Before you check out they make you wait at reception and check all the rooms. When they check rooms they don't tell you which room the dirty towells are out off. As you have already payed to use the towells bit of a cheek charging to wash them. Breakfast was nice but they get very mixed up with orders so beware of this.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank southwalesBill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ssh57, Manager at Hotel Sunnyside Newquay, responded to this review, 30 June 2011
From a management aspect, we are glad the reviewer made comment on the request for guest cards to be produced during their stay with us. As a busy hotel in a town centre location, it is very important that all staff follow our policy to ensure we only allow registered guests into the hotel. Our guest card system, where every guest is issued with a personalised card to confirm residency, we believe, works well in this respect. Our security has been praised on many occasions by previous guests, and so we are disappointed that the reviewer found this to be an inconvenience, more so than a necessary measure put in place to safeguard their group.

With regard to the matter of towels, we would like to clarify that we have NEVER charged a guest for the cleaning of a hire towel. As detailed in the room information notice, displayed in every guest room, we do, however, have to pass on a charge for towels when they are stained by the hirer and are unable to be made available for future guest use. As a budget hotel, we do not feel this is unfair- we simply cannot absorb the cost of replacing towels due to make-up and fake tan stains (amongst others).

We are particularly disappointed with this review as we would never wish to dampen a guest’s impression of the hotel by what we feel is a well advertised policy. We have a set procedure in place to ensure this is treated in a fair manner; if a towel is marked with a potential stain, we carry out an immediate hot wash to confirm if a charge is necessary or not. If a mark does wash out, we can use the towel again and no charge is incurred by the guest. If the towel is stained, it cannot be put back into hotel use, and the guest is welcome to keep the towel, however, we do need to pass on a charge for a replacement towel (at cost price). In this instance a charge of £5 per towel (not £9 as indicated) was passed on to the guest due to make-up stains.

Again, to receive anything less than a glowing review comes as a disappointment to the team. I hope the reviewer and her friends had an otherwise fab hen weekend in Newquay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newquay hotels
0.4 mi away
Longbeach Hotel
Longbeach Hotel
#27 of 38 in Newquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
0.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel Bristol
0.0 mi away
Minerva Hotel
Minerva Hotel
#19 of 38 in Newquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Great Western Hotel
Great Western Hotel
#11 of 38 in Newquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 806 reviews
1.4 mi away
Porth Lodge Hotel
Porth Lodge Hotel
#28 of 38 in Newquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
2.6 mi away
Premier Inn Newquay (Quintrell Downs) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sunnyside Newquay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sunnyside Newquay

Property: Hotel Sunnyside Newquay
Address: 5-7 The Crescent, Newquay TR7 1DT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 38 Hotels in Newquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Sunnyside Newquay 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly located for a short break in Newquay, Hotel Sunnyside is a fun and upbeat budget hotel offering a range of facilities and a great choice of affordable private en-suite rooms for single travellers, couples, and groups of all ages.Positioned just above Towan Beach in the heart of Newquay town centre, our location boasts inspirational views across Newquay bay and the awe-inspiring Atlantic coastline. With only a two minute walk to the main shops, bars, and restaurants, and only a short stroll from the beach, Newquay's winning formula of sun/fun/sea/surf are all on your doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Sunnyside Newquay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunnyside Hotel Newquay
Hotel Sunnyside Newquay Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing