We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“bargain price for a central location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Sunnyside Newquay
Ranked #20 of 38 Hotels in Newquay
Certificate of Excellence
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“bargain price for a central location”
Reviewed 1 May 2013

stayed here for a weekend hen party of 15 and we were not dissapointed. accomodation is basic more like a hostel than a hotel but hey you get what you pay for, and we cant complain about the cost as the location of the hotel is central to the high street. difficult to locate as sat navs dont pick up the one way street through the town centre of Newquay, and parking is limited but if you dont manage to secure hotel parking opposite the hotel there is parking on the street for free (but this is also limited too). the hotel management are friendly, approachable and always available, really informative about the area and what extras the hotel has to purchase from reception. a photo of our group on our fancy dress night was taken by management for their up and coming wall, we were Hooters Girls! we will definetly all be visiting and using this hotel again!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shona w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ssh57, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Sunnyside Newquay, responded to this review, 20 May 2013
Thank-you Shona for your kind comments. Unfortunately Newquay's one way system can be a bit of a pain. We look forward to seeing you again in the near future :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

363 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    207
    98
    23
    12
    23
See reviews for
28
49
12
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
derry
2 reviews
Reviewed 9 April 2013

This was my first visit to the lovely seaside town of Newquay with my partner. We stayed over easter weekend and found the whole experience excellent. I flew over from Ireland and travelled down on the friday, arriving late - which was very well accommodated by the staff at the hotel. Hotel Sunnyside is a relaxed, fun place to stay which offers lovely comfortable rooms (especially ours which was with a seaview!). The surf school (Adam and Co) next door was excellent in helping us get kitted out, I loved my first experience of surfing. Even better the hotel allowed us to sneak up the room with wetsuits on to get changed instead of out in the cold!! The experience in the hotel was made all the more special by the staff, especially Sandy who was so kind, helpful and great craic! She really made our visit special, we look forward to returning!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank clara b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2013

We chose this hotel based on the trip advisor site reviews. We were given a nice room with a sea view. We could see the sea from being in bed.
The customer service was faultless for us.
The pay for what you need style of extras was OK; there are plenty of other choices less than a minute from the hotel for breakfast and coffee if you need them.
For going out in Newquay it has a perfect central location.
There were large single sex groups in the hotel, on stag dos and the like on weekends away, but nothing a normal person should be intimidated by.
I really enjoyed our time staying here and have no reservations recommending it to others.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 302AndrewM302
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 March 2013

Had a really enjoyable weekend away in Newquay but the trip was made by our choice of hotel. I say hotel, it could be considered a hostel, but that shouldn't put you off. The service and friendliness of the staff are fantastic. Too often the bigger chain hotels don't seem bothered by your custom, however this place offers good old fashioned hospitality. I shared a bunk room with some friends and yes, it wasn't hugely spacious, but at £25 a night, how can anyone complain (although they probably do!!). Clean, warm, modern (ish). Nice bar serving bottles. Didn't try breakfast or their surf school. Super charming Scottish lady on the front desk. Forget her name but she is lovely. If looking at a trip to Newquay, you must book here. I've been to Newquay 4 times previously, and this is the best hotel/hostel by far.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank phlufc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South West England, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
85 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2013

Stayed in this hotel in April. Hotel was very nice, amazing location right in the centre of town. We stayed in a very large room over looking the sea. Only negative was that the hotel was very noisy. There were groups of people staying in the hotel for a hen/stag night which meant we were woken in the early hours due to shouting and doors slamming.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlexandraM241
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ssh57, General Manager at Hotel Sunnyside Newquay, responded to this review, 14 February 2013
Thank-you to Alexandra for your feedback..

On the plus side, we are pleased you found our hotel to be very nice and that you appreciated our great location.

We are extremely sorry for the inconvenience you experienced during your stay with guest noise levels. We do try hard to contain excess noise, with polite notices dotted around the hotel concerning noise after 10pm and equally polite requests in person a during group check-in. We have two members of staff on duty at night (at weekends) to try to minimise the impact of returning guests at night. We are sorry we failed you on this occasion.

Please accept our sincere apologies. We will look to implement new ideas to try to avoid a similar problem in the future. It is shame that this tainted an apparent otherwise enjoyable stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2012

This hotel is situated with beach views and is right in the centre of Newquay. The staff are welcoming and very accommodating. I would recommend if driving to Hotel to print out directions that the hotel send you as the one way system in Newquay is very frustrating and makes the hotel difficult to get to using a sat nav. The Hotel is right beside a surfing school and beach, so benefits from being easy to go to the beach straight away and get surfing!! But also to explore the town centre.

Really good value for money, with a great breakfast and good location.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clarisworks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ssh57, General Manager at Hotel Sunnyside Newquay, responded to this review, 15 November 2012
Thank-you to Clarisworks for the kind comments. We really appreciate your thoughts about our hotel.

Yes, regrettably, Sat Nav and Google Maps do not recognise the one-way system in Newquay. As a result, indeed the hotel is not easy to find by car. This is the one down-side of our fantastic central location.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 14 October 2012

Stayed in this hotel for 2 nights with three friends for a girly weekend away. We had absolutley no complaints whatsoever. The staff were fantastic and could't do enough for you. The rooms were clean, the breakfast was lovely and the location was perfect. It has lovely sea views and it's only about a minute walk from the shops and bars. It's situated on a small quiet street so perect for getting to sleep at night. Will definatly be returning!! Kate, Jodie, Sam and Jen

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ssh57, Front Office Manager at Hotel Sunnyside Newquay, responded to this review, 16 October 2012
Wow, thanks for the fantastic review guys!

We're all so pleased to read your comments about our hotel. It's amazing to receive such positive feedback from our guests :-)

We look to forward to seeing you all again x
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newquay hotels
0.4 mi away
Longbeach Hotel
Longbeach Hotel
#26 of 38 in Newquay
60 reviews
1.0 mi away
Ravensbury Hotel
Ravensbury Hotel
#22 of 38 in Newquay
107 reviews
0.3 mi away
Travelodge Newquay Seafront Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Best Western Hotel Bristol
0.4 mi away
Great Western Hotel
Great Western Hotel
#12 of 38 in Newquay
845 reviews
1.6 mi away
Kenton Hotel
Kenton Hotel
#29 of 38 in Newquay
108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sunnyside Newquay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sunnyside Newquay

Property: Hotel Sunnyside Newquay
Address: 5-7 The Crescent, Newquay TR7 1DT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 38 Hotels in Newquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Sunnyside Newquay 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly located for a short break in Newquay, Hotel Sunnyside is a fun and upbeat budget hotel offering a range of facilities and a great choice of affordable private en-suite rooms for single travellers, couples, and groups of all ages.Positioned just above Towan Beach in the heart of Newquay town centre, our location boasts inspirational views across Newquay bay and the awe-inspiring Atlantic coastline. With only a two minute walk to the main shops, bars, and restaurants, and only a short stroll from the beach, Newquay's winning formula of sun/fun/sea/surf are all on your doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LateRooms, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Priceline, Ebookers and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Sunnyside Newquay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunnyside Hotel Newquay
Hotel Sunnyside Newquay Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing