We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Sunnyside Newquay
Nearby Hotels
US$189
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$184
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$255
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$248
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$180
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$175
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Esplanade Hotel(Newquay)(Great Value!)
US$141
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Pentire Hotel(Newquay)(Great Value!)
US$97
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$134
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$76
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
US$85
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$76
Priceline
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
US$161
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$156
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$94
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$83
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (370)
Filter reviews
370 results
Traveller rating
213
98
24
12
23
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
213
98
24
12
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbudget hotelstag doone way systemsurf schoolbrilliant locationnight porterbank holidaycomfortable roomsthree nightssea viewbunksurfingstagshenssurfers
Filter
Updating list...
151 - 156 of 370 reviews
Reviewed 18 March 2014

stayed on a young farmers weekend here, Very pleasant hotel and staff!! showers were a bit restrictive (for tall people!) would certainly stay again though. cracking coastal views aswell. great access to the town aswell .

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank borishob1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ssh57, General Manager at Hotel Sunnyside Newquay, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2014

Thank you borishob1234. Very pleased to read your comments. Hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2014

I stayed in this hotel as part of a group of young farmers. The staff are very friendly and welcoming and will do anything to help you and make your stay good. This hotel is in a great location right on the sea front and a very very short walk to the shops however we found it very hard to find parking as there isn't much parking around if you don't reserve a space from the hotel. The rooms were very basic but nice and the beds were really comfy however the showers weren't very warm and if your a tall person you can't move the shower up and down. We were given breakfast vouchers for the morning however the breakfast was cold and we had to wait a long time. I would defiantly stay again though :)

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank N2411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ssh57, General Manager at Hotel Sunnyside Newquay, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2014

Thank you N2411 for your feedback on our hotel.

We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your recent stay and that you would stay with us again.

We are extremely sorry for the inconvenience you experienced with the shower and with breakfast. We accept that mistakes were made on what was our opening weekend of the season. With new staff, a few technical issues, and over 100 breakfasts to serve, things did not go as we would have hoped. We offer our sincere apologies to all those affected by these shortcomings.

As we prepare for our second weekend of the new season, we have addressed these issues to ensure there is no repeat.

Thank you again for your review and we hope to see you again on your next YFC visit to Newquay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2013

I stayed at Hotel Sunnyside in Newquay as part of a school residential in October 2013. We did not book direct, but instead via a booking agent. However, we were delighted they choose to place us at Hotel Sunnyside. I was asked to review the agency (Barefoot Adventures) on Tripadvisor, but I would also like to add my thoughts for the hotel itself.

The accommodation at Hotel Sunnyside was basic and clean and thus perfectly fit for purpose. Myself and the other teachers were upgraded to 'standard' rooms with single beds. The students were allocated 'bunk' rooms. There were seemingly dozens of rooms at the hotel and so they were able to accommodate all the friendship groups really well. Sorting this issue out was perhaps the most difficult aspect of the entire trip! Sandy, the manager, was very able and willing with the rooming situation. Throughout our stay, I will say that all the hotel staff were very good but Sandy, as perhaps the most prominent, stood out. A very professional and friendly lady- a credit to the hotel.

We booked a package with all meals provided by the hotel- breakfast, a packed lunch, and a 3 course dinner. The food was substantial and flavoursome. Again, I expected far less quality for the price paid. All diets were catered for. No complaints whatsoever with any of the meals. After dinner the hotel provided a quiz and a disco one night for the students.

A thoroughly enjoyable stay. The students and teachers all had a wonderful week of surf and sand (and a little sun!). Thank you to all involved for successful trip. See you in 2014!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Winston B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ssh57, General Manager at Hotel Sunnyside Newquay, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2014

Thank you very much for your kind comments. Please accept our apologies for the delay in our acknowledgement.

We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your school residential at Hotel Sunnyside Newquay through Barefoot Adventures. As we expand our schools and junior sports tours offering, it is very encouraging to receive such positive feedback from a school group. It is very much our aim that we continue to offer a great product to welcome school trips to Newquay.

We hope to see you again later this year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2013

Friendly, welcoming, helpful staff and a great location overlooking Towan Beach made this a great choice for budget accommodation in Newquay for the weekend.

The reasonable cost covers your room and if you want any extras like towels, tea/coffee, toiletries etc, they're available at a nominal cost from reception; I'd read some reviews here bemoaning this policy, which I don't quite get: the hotel don't hide this policy but actually make it a feature - you pay less for your room and are then free to add (or not) whatever you want. Personally, it suited us just fine - we added towels for £1 each and would have taken our own toiletries anyway; we decided not to have breakfast in the hotel, but again if we'd wanted to, the price and details were completely transparent. Hair-dryers & irons etc were available free of charge on request.

The sea-view room we had was more spacious than the bunk/twins and yes, the view (unsurprisingly!) was much nicer, too :)

Overall, we thought our stay was really good value in a clean and comfortable hotel, with friendly, helpful staff. We'd recommend it and will no doubt stay there again next time we're in Newquay.

PS We were on the 2nd floor and the fire-doors all closed nice and quietly on automatic shutters.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dennis B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ssh57, General Manager at Hotel Sunnyside Newquay, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2013

Thank you very much for your kind comments. We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us at Hotel Sunnyside. We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2013

I visited Hotel Sunnyside in Newquay in September 2013 as part of a hen party. The hotel is basic, so don't go expecting too much, but is it exceptionally clean and perfectly comfortable for a short stay. We had a combination of bunk bed rooms and normal rooms. I would perhaps recommend the bunk bed rooms, but purely on the price- £10 cheaper. It doesn't matter much on a weekend break with friends! The hotel have a concept with respect of extras- you need to pay for towels and breakfast. This was made very clear in a series of emails (perhaps too many?) from the hotel- I guess they don't want anyone to be surprised about this part. We booked breakfast at £5 each, but bought our own towels. Breakfast was delicious for the money. The staff at the hotel are very friendly- nothing too much trouble. Weather was great when we were there, so we headed out to the beach for the day. Nightlife in Newquay was busy with a fun vibe. Perfect for hens and stags. Overall a great place for a group stay. Not sure why any families and older people would book here. Very much geared to younger guests. Thank-you. We'll be back. The May Hen party xxx

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angela M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ssh57, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Sunnyside Newquay, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2013

Thanks Angela, fantastic to hear you enjoyed your trip to Newquay and thank-you for such a detailed and honest review :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews