We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Spot on!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Sunnyside Newquay

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Sunnyside Newquay
Ranked #21 of 38 Hotels in Newquay
Certificate of Excellence
Abertillery
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Spot on!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014 via mobile

Im writing this from the bus on the way home from a fab weekend in Newquay.
I booked the hotel for 19 of us a few months back and I'm glad we picked this hotel.
The staff replied very quickly to all emails and questions I had. They made organising tour much easier and stress free.
when we arrived at the hotel we were welcomed by Sandy who was great to us all weekend and even joined in with our kangaroo court in the bar on the Saturday night. The staff behind the bar were also very polite to us.
I would recommend this hotel to anyone who's going to Newquay and don't want to pay over the odds. We will choose this hotel again if we visit newquay in the future.
Cwmffrwdoer FC

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank steffancl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

357 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    202
    97
    23
    12
    23
See reviews for
28
49
12
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2014

I organised a school rugby tour to Newquay. It was exactly what we needed, budget accomodation, a decent games room, good food (all meals) and excellent staff. The boys commented on how comfortable the beds were, and said they cannot wait to go again. The rooms are not huge, but who goes to Newquay to stay inside?! The staff were probably the strength of the hotel, they were very welcoming and were very accomodating. The wifi was not great, but gave an excuse to do no work whiole away, so added to my positive opinion of the place!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Frazer25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014 via mobile

Had a pleasure to stay at Hotel Sunnyside Newquay with my wife and 3 children and couldn't ask for more then what we received. First of all the rates were cheapest in the area and location was stunning. The staff and especially the manageress Sandy was exceptional. I would strongly recommend anyone who is planning to visit Newquay please check their website or just call the their friendly team a call I am sure you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shak S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flimwell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

First impressions weren't great; the hotel was boiling hot and the windows hardly opened, felt like we couldn't escape the heat. We were a large group and we had all booked together under one name, although our rooms were spread out across the whole hotel. The shower rooms were extremely cramped but I guess thats beyond control as you can only work with what you've got. Towards the end of our stay the staff seemed to warm up to us a bit more than on our arrival which resulted in a more pleasant stay. The breakfast came out quickly and was enjoyable, the waiting staff were extremely friendly.

I personally wouldn't pay more than £20 a night for this hotel and I was shocked that the wifi asks you to use your own mobile data in order to hold a steady connection (which subsequently used more mobile data holding the connection steady).

Hotel is great for stag weekends, weekend away with friends. I wouldn't recommend the place for families, although the staff might place families in a more quiet area of the hotel. As I was woken up a few times by a rowdy stag do on the last night (but they were dealt with by security promptly!)

Room Tip: If you're going as a couple, ask for a double room or you'll end up with bunk beds! Ask for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Abi C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

My partner and I stayed here for 1 night over Easter as camping got too cold!

We booked the room last minute through booking.com and we couldn't knock the price. £30 (guessing this was a late deal price) for a room overlooking the beach. We did have to pay a £30 deposit which I'm still waiting to be returned but after ringing the hotel (the girl on the phone was very helpful) its winging its way back to me.

Although most things are at extra cost (towels, wifi, breakfast) this wasnt in issue. There is a small bath mat/towel which can be used and there's the cleanest wetherspoons I've ever seen round the corner that does brekkie til 12.

The room was clean, there was 4, yes 4 pillows on the bed instead of the usual 2 and the decor wasn't drab.

The only thing I would say is that a 10 am checkout is a wee bit early but I like my bed :P

All in all, a good stay...

Room Tip: Sea front Room!!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Faerycakes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ssh57, General Manager at Hotel Sunnyside Newquay, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Hi Faerycakes!

Thank you for your candid review. We appreciate your comments on our clean rooms and for noticing the pillow allocation. We hold the cleanliness and comfort of our beds and guest rooms in the very highest regard.

We do offer a late check-out for a small fee, however, we note your thoughts on the standard check-out time.

We hope the security bond issue was resolved without any further delay. For clarity for other readers, the process actually holds funds, as opposed to debiting. This time process does vary from card issuer to card issuer, unfortunately. We cancel all bonds on departure at our end.

Thank you again for taking the time to submit a review. We hope to see you again very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014

This is our second stay at sunnyside, nice, warm welcome from the staff. Brilliant location, close to everything we needed, the beach and town.
Would recommend this for other surfers, the staff looked after all of our gear and kept it safe for us when out. The lady on the front desk is very helpful and lovely.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Simon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ssh57, General Manager at Hotel Sunnyside Newquay, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Thank you Simon for taking the time to review the hotel. We hope to see you soon for a 3rd stay with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2014 via mobile

Hi,

We were a hen party of 9, we had an amazing time, hotel was a stone through from the town and amazing sea views,

Paul on reception was very helpful and organised my booking without any problems - thank you! A credit to the hotel,

Rooms were ok, what you see is what you get, perfect for what we were looking for, I was pleasantly surprised!

Thanks to the security man Bob, your brilliant! And the hotel manager was extremely helpful and very welcoming!

Will defo stay again, roll on the summer

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PlymouthXxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ssh57, General Manager at Hotel Sunnyside Newquay, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Thank you PlymouthXxx. We really appreciate your kind words. A big thanks especially for recognising Bob; our fantastic night manager. We hope to see you again soon. Roll on the summer indeed!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newquay hotels
0.4 mi away
Longbeach Hotel
Longbeach Hotel
#27 of 38 in Newquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
0.0 mi away
Minerva Hotel
Minerva Hotel
#19 of 38 in Newquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
0.4 mi away
Great Western Hotel
Great Western Hotel
#12 of 38 in Newquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 789 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Ravensbury Hotel
Ravensbury Hotel
#25 of 38 in Newquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
0.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel Bristol
0.2 mi away
White House Newquay
White House Newquay
#8 of 38 in Newquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sunnyside Newquay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sunnyside Newquay

Property: Hotel Sunnyside Newquay
Address: 5-7 The Crescent, Newquay TR7 1DT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 38 Hotels in Newquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Sunnyside Newquay 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly located for a short break in Newquay, Hotel Sunnyside is a fun and upbeat budget hotel offering a range of facilities and a great choice of affordable private en-suite rooms for single travellers, couples, and groups of all ages.Positioned just above Towan Beach in the heart of Newquay town centre, our location boasts inspirational views across Newquay bay and the awe-inspiring Atlantic coastline. With only a two minute walk to the main shops, bars, and restaurants, and only a short stroll from the beach, Newquay's winning formula of sun/fun/sea/surf are all on your doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, HostelWorld and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Sunnyside Newquay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunnyside Hotel Newquay
Hotel Sunnyside Newquay Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing