We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“hen weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Sunnyside Newquay
Ranked #19 of 37 Hotels in Newquay
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“hen weekend”
Reviewed 12 July 2014

absolutely perfect location for a hen weekend, the hotel was clean and tidy. everything you would expect for the price. unfortunately breakfast does not live up to the standard of the room, on our first day we waited an hour then they ran out of food for everyone.
overall i would stay here again but i would recommend you go to one of the local cafes for breakfast.

Helpful?
1 Thank nicky_lou81
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
ssh57, General Manager at Hotel Sunnyside Newquay, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Hi Nicky Lou,

Thank you very much for your comments on our clean accommodation and reasonable prices.

I have referred the issue you experienced at breakfast to Sandy, our manager on duty at the time. Something may have been miscommunicated, however, Sandy has confirmed that we didn't actually run out of food. Sandy recalls discussing the matter personally with you, and again, we extend our apologies. Your order was (inexcusably) lost. And so to avoid any further delay, I understand that a refund was provided along with complimentary cereal and toast.

Our breakfast consistently receives rave reviews from our guests. We are very sorry that we let you down on this occasion. Please let us know if you plan to return to Newquay in the near future- we will be happy to provide you with our lovely cooked breakfast free of charge :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

364 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    208
    98
    23
    12
    23
See reviews for
29
49
12
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Stayed for one night on business, stayed in the double budget room which involved bunk-beds, the bottom one being double. The room was clean aside from a weird foisty smell which wasn't great. Obviously, being a budget hotel you had to pay for any extra's, this being towels, soaps, breakfast etc although there was hand wash. The breakfast was nice although I went down at 7.50 and wasn't even allowed in the breakfast room until bang on 8 and then I sat in a huge room on my own. The staff were nice and the hotel was quite central, 5 minute walk from Fistral and right on Towan beach. If going on group holidays this is a great budget stay. If travelling alone wouldn't recommend for more than one night and for couples i'd give it a wide-birth.

Room Tip: Definitely pay the extra for a sea-view double.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Grundogandthecog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ssh57, General Manager at Hotel Sunnyside Newquay, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Thank you Grundogandthecog.

The issue with breakfast has been addressed. Obviously we do need time to prepare for service but we could have offered you a cup of tea whilst continuing to set up. Thank you for acknowledging our tasty breakfast.

We apologise for the inconvenience regarding any odour. We are unsure how this could have been present after the room had been cleaned but we are sorry and we totally understand your dissatisfaction. The issue has not been reported before or since but we will continue to monitor this particular room.

The title of the review is a fair assessment- we actually advertise ourselves as a hotel-hostel.

We hope to see you again... possibly with a group of friends :-) Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

We returned from a weekend stag trip to Newquay yesterday, with 7 of us staying in the Hotel Sunnyside.

Being a best man is not an easy task when it comes to putting together a full weekend itinerary. Sunnyside really helped with this in regards to the package we had for the group (accommodation, booking for a coasteering activity which came with a BBQ and a welcome beer on arrival).

The hotel manager, Sandy, was incredibly helpful and attentive to any questions we had throughout our stay. If you're with a stag group, the hotel bar is a fantastic place to start the night. We certainly made the most of the pool tables in the games room. Paul behind the bar was a fantastic host.

The rooms aren't the biggest, but it is exactly what it says on the tin - 'Budget Accomodation'. Newquay is all about the outdoor activities, whether it be hanging out on the beach (less than 5 mins away) or hitting the town for the nights out. Hotel Sunnyside serves as a great place to bring a group of friends away for a light hearted, affordable and fun weekend.

Tom B

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tombristow1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ssh57, General Manager at Hotel Sunnyside Newquay, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Hi Tom,

Thank you very much for your review and, in particular, for your kind words regarding Sandy. We're delighted that you enjoyed your stag weekend in Newquay.

Kind regards,

All at Hotel Sunnyside
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

If you're looking for a clean, affordable place for a big group that is right in the centre of everything in Newquay this is a great choice. The ideal hotel for people who aren't planning to spend much time there and just want somewhere to sleep. Good facilities on site with pool tables and bar a good place to start the evening. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alexjallen1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ssh57, General Manager at Hotel Sunnyside Newquay, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Thank you Alexjallen1986 for your thoughts on our hotel. Very much appreciated. We hope to see you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 July 2014

My husband and I spent the weekend at Hotel Sunnyside and from start to finish it was one of the most enjoyable getaways we have ever experienced.
The room was clean and comfortable and the breakfast was superb.
On arriving at the Hotel we were greeted with a warm welcome and all our needs were met.
The Hotel is situated in an excellent area just a small walk to the beach and all the shops.
I will return again and I will encourage all of my friends to book Sunnyside when they go to Corwall.
A big thank you to all the staff
See you all soon

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alexandria A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ssh57, General Manager at Hotel Sunnyside Newquay, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Thank you Alexandria A. You were an absolute pleasure to have stay with us. We hope to see you again soon. From all at Hotel Sunnyside.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 June 2014 via mobile

I can't speak highly enough about Sunnyside. From the initial booking to the service we received during our stay, everything has been first class.

We managed to book a room for my son's birthday - all the arrangements for his party on a nearly beach were covered off by the hotel including zorbing and a surfing lesson, as well as a cracking barbecue to finish off the day. It really was a great day and my son already wants to book the same for next year.

The balance of the hotel is perfect - we saw all sorts of customers, from stag parties to families on holiday, and the hotel seemed to cope with all requests with ridiculous ease.

The rooms were perfect for our needs and the hotel staff were extremely helpful whenever we asked for anything.

I also loved the bar area and will definitely be making the most of it next time I visit (without my son).

A great weekend, a great hotel.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Thomas T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ssh57, General Manager at Hotel Sunnyside Newquay, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Dear Thomas,

Thank you very much for your kind words. We're delighted to read that you enjoyed your recent stay with us. We're also pleased to read your thoughts on the surfing and zorbing.

Thank you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

We were early for check-in but decided to go in and let the reception staff know we were here and check that the reservation was all okay. We found the front entrance locked and although rang the door bell several times, had to wait for another customer to leave so that we could gain entry.

Upon entering the hotel I found the reception staff present at the desk, but it would seem that the doorbell was either not working or was ignored.

I explained that we were early but was told rather sternly that we could not check in until 3pm. I asked if we could have the code tor the front door to save waiting outside when we returned, but the man told us rather disinterestedly that we could not have that until we were checked in.

Upon our return we were given our room key and were surprised to find that our 'double room' consisted of bunk-beds. When I enquired about this the reception staff told me that it was 'budget accommodation' and that it was classed as a double room because there were two beds present. It would seem that the advertisement images of a double room which consisted of a double bed was not accurate.

Again, although aware that it is budget accommodation we were surprised to find that towels and other basic amenities were all added at an extra cost. This included a £15 charge anytime clean sheets were needed.

The lift also was not working, and so multiple trips were needed in order to bring out luggage up the several flights of stairs to our room.

The room itself, although tidy was the size of a cupboard with a tiny window and a view of a brick wall. The bathroom was the size of a shoebox and upon reading the notices I found out that you weren't allowed to open the door during/directly after a shower because the fire alarm would be set off. The same applied for deodorants and other aerosols which were advised against for the same reason. If the fire alarm was to be set off a charge of £70 would be given.

Overall, although advertised as budget accommodation, once you add on all of the extras I found we would have been better off going elsewhere. Somewhere where hopefully you would at least get what you were told you had paid for.

To anyone looking to stay here I would advise you look around as there are plenty of other hotels locally.

Room Tip: Don't buy a room here
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JBray847
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ssh57, Manager at Hotel Sunnyside Newquay, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
What a great shame. A shame, first and foremost, that this particular guest has felt let down with part of our service. A shame that the review has been written whilst actually staying with us, as opposed to the guest just popping downstairs to share her thoughts in person. A shame that in not bringing this to our attention at the time, it hasn't offered us the opportunity to help. And a shame that TripAdvisor has been used in such a way.

We are simply bemused as to why the guest has felt compelled to write such an unfair and unrepresentative review part way through her stay with us. Whilst TripAdvisor do provide us with the opportunity to respond, it is now too late to actually address the issues properly. A review like this is actually quite upsetting to all our team who work so hard to make our guests' stay the best it can be.

We would like to take the opportunity to respond, however. Naturally a person’s manner can be taken in differing ways. But having been party to all the exchanges in question, I find it extremely difficult to see any resemblance to the actual events.

We should have offered help with the luggage at the later check-in. We generally do. We apologise for this oversight. But, and quite ironically, as for the comments regarding the door, I was actually attending to a guest’s luggage at the time of the reviewer’s initial arrival. A short wait ensued (20 seconds perhaps). I am very sorry how this has been taken. There was certainly not a member of staff present at the front desk whilst the guest was waiting. I apologised for the inconvenience of the wait.

Omitted from the review is our cooperation with the early check-in and subsequent courtesy call. After requesting a check in at 11.30am, we advised the guest we would prioritise her booked room. Whilst extremely busy, we duly prepared a room ahead of schedule. We phoned the guest approximately an hour later to advise her. We did not hear back before we greeted her at check-in after 3pm.

Of course, all guests are entitled to share opinions on accommodation they have paid for. But much of the review is simply not true. The guest booked a twin budget room- the room type they were provided with. The booking was made online- by the guest. If a mistake was made, with respect, we cannot be held responsible. When this fact was brought to her attention (with our duty receptionist printing out her booking confirmation email (featuring a large image of a bunk bed), confirming the booking of a twin budget room, suddenly the guest did not use the email account on the booking details. Therefore, she did not read her confirmation. Strange why one would make a hotel booking with an email address not in use? However, and this demonstrates just how unfair her comments are, the twin budget room was not a problem for her- "that's fine" was her response. As our cheapest room option, our budget rooms prove popular with friends and young couples alike. The entire conversation was very amicable. We would have gladly assisted if we knew then what we know now. As we always do whenever we possibly can.

The remainder of the review is rather silly. Commenting on a fire alarm system, for example. We do not fine guests for setting off the fire alarm from showers or from the use of deodorant. In fact, there is absolutely no mention of a charge for the amount of £70 anywhere in the hotel. We do not charge £15 for a change of sheets. A further example of information not being read correctly.

Again, we are very sorry to hear of dissatisfaction from any guest. But for all potential guests reading this review, we would ask you to read our other guest reviews and consider our comments in response to this particular one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newquay hotels
1.0 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
0.9 mi away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#6 of 37 in Newquay
1,362 reviews
0.6 mi away
Best Western Hotel Bristol
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Great Western Hotel
Great Western Hotel
#13 of 37 in Newquay
871 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Atlantic Hotel
The Atlantic Hotel
#10 of 37 in Newquay
1,012 reviews
0.2 mi away
Legacy Hotel Victoria - Newquay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sunnyside Newquay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sunnyside Newquay

Property: Hotel Sunnyside Newquay
Address: 5-7 The Crescent, Newquay TR7 1DT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 37 Hotels in Newquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Sunnyside Newquay 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly located for a short break in Newquay, Hotel Sunnyside is a fun and upbeat budget hotel offering a range of facilities and a great choice of affordable private en-suite rooms for single travellers, couples, and groups of all ages.Positioned just above Towan Beach in the heart of Newquay town centre, our location boasts inspirational views across Newquay bay and the awe-inspiring Atlantic coastline. With only a two minute walk to the main shops, bars, and restaurants, and only a short stroll from the beach, Newquay's winning formula of sun/fun/sea/surf are all on your doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Booking.com, LateRooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Sunnyside Newquay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunnyside Hotel Newquay
Hotel Sunnyside Newquay Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing