We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best value in Newquay bar none”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Sunnyside Newquay
Ranked #20 of 38 Hotels in Newquay
Certificate of Excellence
cornwall
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The best value in Newquay bar none”
Reviewed 4 August 2014 via mobile

All of my previous reviews are for hotels or restaurants out of my home county. I did feel compelled though to write this to tell everyone that for anybody wanting a short break or even a night away in Newquay that this is the best value bar none.
We recently had a family celebration to attend in Newquay and looked for a budget hotel within walking distance of the venue as we simply wanted a bed for the night .
A perfect central location along with the offer of private parking are not what you expect from a budget hotel. Add the most helpful courteous staff that you will find anywhere and a bright spotlessly clean room makes this a hotel that ticks all the boxes .
I would not hesitate to recommend Hotel Sunnyside to anyone and once again thank the wonderful staff who obviously take great pride in the job they carry out so well.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank elburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chasslaargh, Manager at Hotel Sunnyside Newquay, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Really glad you had a good stay with us.
Thank you for your kind comments regarding our staff - I will make sure they are passed on!
Hope to see you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

363 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    207
    98
    23
    12
    23
See reviews for
28
49
12
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Reading, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

The hotel staff were really friendly and so helpful to us and the group of young people we took.
They went out of their way to make our stay a good one and were happy at all times.
All the young people were also made to feel welcomed and the staff went above and beyond there job to help us out.
They gave us rooms that were all really close to each other and seperate from other guests which was great.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steph P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chasslaargh, Manager at Hotel Sunnyside Newquay, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Thanks Steph,

Glad your group enjoyed their stay - we enjoyed having you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 August 2014

We booked two rooms for two nights one double and one single.
We didn't realise we had to pay for the towels on our arrival but the lack of drinking water, a kettle and no bin bags in the room really disappointed us. We paid £168 altogether but the rooms were not worth it at all. We couldn't sleep at night as the hotel guests kept making too much noise(running up and down the stairs, slamming the doors etc). We complained after the first night but nothing was done about it. We had to purchase the ear plugs to have a second night decent sleep...
also we were forced to keep the window closed to have a good night sleep as the seaguls kept making the most awful noises you could imagine!the management of the hotel could have installed the air con in this case as when we closed the window, it got really hot inside. We were expecting the management to have dealt with our complaint and monitored the noise at night. They will certainly respond now and try to deny all what I have written here.
Our stay was spoilt thanks to the hotel we tried to have naps during the day but of course this did not help. The squeaking sounds of the stairs, possibly wardrobes in adjacent rooms etc. Were just impossible to endure! Sunny side thank you for ruining our stay in Newquay!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank agataozer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ssh57, General Manager at Hotel Sunnyside Newquay, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
This is a duplicate review- one booking, two reviews. We do think this approach is unreasonable but remains the prerogative of any internet reviewer. All we can do is leave the same response as we have for the other review (directly below)…

As always, we are hugely disappointed to hear about any guest stay that has not been fully enjoyed. When we fail a guest we are quick to investigate, offer an apology, and to look at ways in which we can make amends and put measures in place to help ensure the service failure does not occur again.

We remain sorry for the inconvenience in this instance. And contrary to the reviewer’s thoughts, we won’t deny all what is noted. Indeed in respect of most of the review, we wouldn’t want to...

Yes, we do not provide hot drink making facilities or guest towels in the rooms as standard- this is all made very clear on our website and in the emails we sent to the reviewer at the time of booking and again the week before (as a reminder). As was our parking situation- we advise booking parking at the time of booking. We do stress that parking is limited. If the reviewer chose not to read this information, this should not be used against us after the stay.

Equally we clearly advertise ourselves as a group-specialist hotel. At the time of the stay we had a (lovely) school party in residence. Whilst we do monitor noise levels through the day and night, children running up and down stairs is extremely hard to control. Honestly, we do try! But in fairness to the children, they were well behaved and were in bed by 10.30pm. We have reports from the teachers to confirm this!

In addition, drinking water IS available 24/7, albeit in the guest rooms the water is non-potable. But this is not uncommon in big hotels- we just inform our guest of this point as a courtesy. The Wi-Fi is strong- on the ground floor where we advertise it as being available (ONLY). We apologise for the lack of bin liners. This one is new on us! We choose not to provide liners as we feel having a bin emptied and cleaned daily is more hygienic. And we apologise for the seagulls- a problem of having a hotel overlooking the sea I am afraid.

In respect of the complaint made at reception, we did sympathise and did accept that this was perfectly valid and fair. Our duty receptionist apologised and offered a room move but as the school were leaving us that morning, the offer was not pursued by the reviewer. As often the case with internet reviewers, this was all conducted with a smile and appeared to be happily accepted at the time. So this particular comment is unbalanced at best. As we have stressed before, WHY WRITE THIS NOW WHEN WE ARE UNABLE TO HELP?! For a team of staff that genuinely care so much about our guests and their time with us, this is really upsetting and very frustrating.

As above, we are sorry that the guest did not enjoy their stay. We do accept some fault here. But in our defence, without positioning a member of staff at every turn, the passing noise would have been hard to manage. In respect of our hotel policies, we would be interested to know how the reviewer feels we could have been more open about this. If she chose not to research our hotel on TripAdvisor, did not view our website, and chose not to read the two emails we sent her, it’s a difficult one for us. We’re keen to learn when we make a mistake, but this one leaves us a wee bit stumped.

As we have noted before on TripAdvisor, PLEASE DO YOUR RESEARCH ON OUR HOTEL BEFORE BOOKING. Please do not book blind and then complain afterwards. This approach helps no one- especially you, the guest.

What we do, we do well. We have absolute confidence in this. We want all our guests to enjoy a fabulous stay in Newquay- whether that be with us or another property. If you are looking for a stay with friends in Newquay in a great central location, please continue to read our TripAdvisor reviews and consider that Hotel Sunnyside has been awarded the Certificate of Excellence for the past 4 years :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Myself and my hen party stayed here last weekend. There was 23 of us and the hotel catered for our large group very well! The staff were all very friendly, especially Sandy!
Its a basic hotel (and I think its made quite clear in their write up and you do need to provide your own towels but you could hire these at a measly £1.00!) but perfect for a hen party who need a base to get ready to go out for fun!
The breaky was very nice and you are very central to all of the shops and night life. A beautiful view and the beach 2 min walk away!
They have a few rules to stick to like no bringing extra 'guests' back and to make sure you keep your key and door code safe so you can get back in whenever youre ready/cant take anymore! but considering how large the hotel is and the amount of people coming in and out I think thats fair!
I would certainly come here again, thank you all at Sunnyside :-)

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ellie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chasslaargh, Manager at Hotel Sunnyside Newquay, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Thanks Ellie,

Glad you and your party had a great time. Hope the big day goes well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trowbridge, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

We stayed here the weekend just gone as part of a big hen party.

Perfect for us - right next to the town centre and the beach, rooms were small and basic but clean. Towels not included but for £1 you could hire one and these were big, clean and fresh.

Breakfast was included and this was large and filling, although the dining room could have done with being a bit bigger due to the number of people all trying to get fed at the same time!

Would not bring my children here as it is very noisy through the night (the staff are very responsive to the noise if it is actually inside the hotel but this was outside on the street as well as inside) and was full of big groups of adults drinking etc but was perfect for us.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KellyLW80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chasslaargh, Manager at Hotel Sunnyside Newquay, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Thanks Kelly,

Glad you had a great time - Newquay is a great place for a Hen Night!

I am glad our Night Team were responsive to noise problems. Its hard to keep everyone quiet when they are having fun but we try to look after our guests who may want to get to sleep.
In honesty, week nights are a lot quieter so dont deny your children the pleasure of our wonderful beaches.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 July 2014 via mobile

Following my stay last week with mates on a stag do I felt the need to tell others about my experience. Working in sales and customer service myself i understand what it's like to deal with a demanding consumer and I couldn't in any way fault the staff or the accommodation. Staff were very polite, attentive and dealt with all aspects of our stay in a timely and efficient manner. The location is second to none with all you need (bars, restaurants, beaches) right on your doorstep. Future trips here will definitely be on the cards!!

Matthew, Plymouth

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Matthew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chasslaargh, Manager at Hotel Sunnyside Newquay, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Thanks Matthew,

Great to get such a positive review from someone with professional experience of customer service.
Hope to see you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wiltshire, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

I paid £45 in advanced for a room and on arrival found that this did not include a towel, soap, tea making or breakfast, all of which were charged extra. Much worse, on arrival at 10.30pm, an additional £30 payment was demanded from me in addition to the room cost. I was assured that this was a refundable "security deposit" which would be returned when I checked out. When I left next morning the hotel refused to refund the £30. Now I will haver to take the hotel to court to get it back. This is a scam whereby they charge £75 for a miserable £45 room with no towels, soap, tea or breakfast. Unless you want to be ripped off, avoid this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Robert H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ssh57, General Manager at Hotel Sunnyside Newquay, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
We apologise on behalf of Robert H to all TripAdvisor users hoping for a candid, unbiased review of our hotel. The comments contained within the review are of course entirely false; prompted by a long-standing and bizarre personal vendetta against our hotel. There may indeed be some other factors in this case concerning the reviewer's well being, however, it is regrettable and certainly very sad that our hotel is on the receiving end. We hope that TripAdvisor consider our request to remove this malicious review at the very earliest opportunity.

Should any TripAdvisor user have any concerns whatsoever about booking with us, please do contact us. We will be happy to explain the circumstances behind this review. But suffice to say, there is no such motive in respect of our security bond policy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newquay hotels
0.4 mi away
Longbeach Hotel
Longbeach Hotel
#26 of 38 in Newquay
60 reviews
1.0 mi away
Ravensbury Hotel
Ravensbury Hotel
#22 of 38 in Newquay
107 reviews
0.3 mi away
Travelodge Newquay Seafront Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Best Western Hotel Bristol
0.4 mi away
Great Western Hotel
Great Western Hotel
#12 of 38 in Newquay
846 reviews
1.6 mi away
Kenton Hotel
Kenton Hotel
#29 of 38 in Newquay
108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sunnyside Newquay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sunnyside Newquay

Property: Hotel Sunnyside Newquay
Address: 5-7 The Crescent, Newquay TR7 1DT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 38 Hotels in Newquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Sunnyside Newquay 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly located for a short break in Newquay, Hotel Sunnyside is a fun and upbeat budget hotel offering a range of facilities and a great choice of affordable private en-suite rooms for single travellers, couples, and groups of all ages.Positioned just above Towan Beach in the heart of Newquay town centre, our location boasts inspirational views across Newquay bay and the awe-inspiring Atlantic coastline. With only a two minute walk to the main shops, bars, and restaurants, and only a short stroll from the beach, Newquay's winning formula of sun/fun/sea/surf are all on your doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your Hotel Sunnyside Newquay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunnyside Hotel Newquay
Hotel Sunnyside Newquay Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing