We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect stay!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Sunnyside Newquay

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Sunnyside Newquay
Ranked #21 of 38 Hotels in Newquay
Certificate of Excellence
Acton, London
1 review
“Perfect stay!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2009

Like the last reviewer, I don't do reviews on hotels/restaurants etc but I felt compelled to give this a whirl and share my thoughts! In total contrast to that person, I thought the Sunnyside was fantastic :-). Clean, friendly staff, and cheap. I've just returned from a week in Newquay with 3 other friends, and overall, we had such a good time. We paid £135 each for the week. The weather was great, the nightlife was fab, and the hotel was perfect for our needs. We shared a bunk room. Room was bright, clean, and had comfortable beds. OK, not massive, but we didn't really spend anytime there. We were on a surfing and stay package which meant we were out most the day. The guys in the surf school were awesome- defo recommend the surfing! Really friendly and great patience with us novices! All in all, ace ;-) Recommend for sure A+++

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hils80x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

357 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    202
    97
    23
    12
    23
See reviews for
28
49
12
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
UK
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2009

I've never felt compelled to write a hotel review before but after my recent stay at Sunnyside, I feel oliged to warn others! We stayed on a Friday and Saturday night and had booked a bunk room for four people. The room would have been just about big enough for one person, let alone four. This is unacceptable at a rate of £32.50 pppn (you can stay in central London in a four star hotel for that price!) The room was very hot and stuffy, even though it wasn't a particularly warm weekend. The bathroom was tiny and pretty grubby. Admittedly the location is very nice and central but that's about all this 'hotel' has going for it.

  • Stayed June 2009
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank UKKatherine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ssh57, Manager at Hotel Sunnyside Newquay, responded to this review, 11 July 2009
As per our previous comments with regard to our rooms, we do feel we advertise our hotel in a fair and representative way. Our bunk rooms are basic and compact, however, they are designed with groups in mind who just require a base for their time in Newquay. As the vast majority of reviews on tripadvisor will confirm, our rooms are cleaned to a high standard and I feel obliged to contest any comments to the contrary. With regard price, our room rates are competitive for the type of hotel we operate. We would encourage readers to search other hotels in Newquay to confirm this. We are often less expensive than mixed dorm-style rooms with shared bathrooms- all our rooms are private and en-suite. Granted, in London you may be able to find rooms for a similar price through pre-booked full payment offers. We run comparable deals throughout the year for advance bookings ourselves (£42.50 was our June rack rate- discounts of up to 25% from this rate were available). However, you cannot compare pricing between the two destinations as London benefits from 7 night, all year round trade; leisure and corporate. Newquay and other seasonal resorts rely solely on weekends and summer bookings.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
73surfer73
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2009

Sunnyside was the perfect place to stay for our surf weekend. Basic by functional rooms provide cost effect accomodation, with the bonus of hotel bar, pool tables, restruant and a surf school....c'mon...what more do you want - we'd go back tomorrow. Overall a great place to stay - not the height of luxury...but hey, we were there for surfing/coasteering etc.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 73surfer73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2009

A big thank you to Lee and his staff for looking after a group of 14 of us - we all had a great time! The hotel has a fantastic view overlooking the park and bay, and you feel relaxed the minute you look out to see and take it all in!
The staff are all very friendly and relaxed, nothing was any trouble, and we were made to feel very welcome throughout our stay.
The hotel bar and pool tables and newly decorated and well thought out.
The rooms we stayed in were clean and well maintained.
Breakfast was in the restaurant next door, which was equally well decorated, organised, and the staff were very friendly and helpful.
I will be back!

  • Stayed June 2009
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MartinOSouthampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2009

First the good side. I reckon this hotel got very good location and fairly cheap price. I booked a two person bunk room for 17.5 quid per night. You can't beat the price. The bed was clean. The room was quiet. Old, narrow but still tidy. The toilet was fine and the consistent hot water in the shower. Water pressure was powerful as well. Although they didn't provide kettle in the bunk room, but the reception was happy to help when we asked. During my stay, I did feel comfortable. Only 17.5 quid, what a bargain.

Yet still down side, the service. Firstly, I enquired the hotel if we could arrive and put our luggages in the luggage room at 6am and they answered yes. However a day before my arrival I rang them again to make sure the plan and they said there would be nobody at 6am and told me to arrive at 8am. It was not very helpful for me because I had already booked my coach. Secondly, I had booked three nights online. A week before I went there, I decided to book one more night. I rang the hotel and asked whether I should pay in advance by my debit card or by cash on the day of arrival. They told me it's ok to pay cash on the day of arrival but two days later they charged my debit card, without my approval!

Of course I asked for seeing manager when I arrived. But they insisted the manager would not come. And the reception told me the reason for I could only arrive after 8am was because the guest last night cancelled their booking. So they didnt need anyone to stay at the hotel during the night. So that nobody would be at the hotel at 6am! For the debit card thing, they said they only accepted booking with full amount payment and there must be some misunderstanding between their new employee and me. After the explanation, they did not even wanna make up for these things at all. The last minor inconvenience was they claimed wifi on their website but it just did not work practically during my stay.

I do hope they could improve, even with the increase of their tariff. It could be such a incredibly wonderful place.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank A_Stupid_Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bristol
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2009

If you read a bad review about this place, IGNORE IT!!!!!!!!!! Comfortable beds, great staff, brilliant location, cheap, and very comfortable beds!! Maybe notthe place to take kids, but perfect for everything else.

  • Stayed May 2009
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 575757
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
essex
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 December 2008

ok first things first, i think ppl expectations are too high, you must remember this is a hotel which operates at very resanable prices with a perfect location.
ok so rooms ant great but for anyone whome like myself just wanted a bed to sleep in then this is fine, the bar is lovely, pool tables internet everthing ya could want, doorman at night was brilliant really good company behind the bar.
overal id say that for the money they charged our group we got a real bargain and and this is my first choice hotel wen i come back.

  • Liked — modern bar
  • Disliked — rooms were slightly dated but am told that they will be refurbed soon
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Jim86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newquay hotels
0.7 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
0.4 mi away
Great Western Hotel
Great Western Hotel
#12 of 38 in Newquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 787 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#5 of 38 in Newquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Legacy Hotel Victoria - Newquay
0.4 mi away
Longbeach Hotel
Longbeach Hotel
#27 of 38 in Newquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Pentire Hotel
The Pentire Hotel
#9 of 38 in Newquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 870 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sunnyside Newquay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sunnyside Newquay

Property: Hotel Sunnyside Newquay
Address: 5-7 The Crescent, Newquay TR7 1DT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 38 Hotels in Newquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Sunnyside Newquay 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly located for a short break in Newquay, Hotel Sunnyside is a fun and upbeat budget hotel offering a range of facilities and a great choice of affordable private en-suite rooms for single travellers, couples, and groups of all ages.Positioned just above Towan Beach in the heart of Newquay town centre, our location boasts inspirational views across Newquay bay and the awe-inspiring Atlantic coastline. With only a two minute walk to the main shops, bars, and restaurants, and only a short stroll from the beach, Newquay's winning formula of sun/fun/sea/surf are all on your doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Sunnyside Newquay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunnyside Hotel Newquay
Hotel Sunnyside Newquay Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing