We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You get what you pay for”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Sunnyside Newquay
Ranked #20 of 38 Hotels in Newquay
Certificate of Excellence
Cambridgeshire
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“You get what you pay for”
Reviewed 26 August 2009

We booked this trip through Hostel World and upon arrive at the hotel, they had not been advised of our stay. Apparently this is because we booked the day before our arrival and Hostel World are not quick at passing on the information. The receptionist was extremely helpful and sorted it out within minutes and even gave us a free beer for our trouble. He told us where the best bars and places were to eat. Overall, the service he provided was very good.

The reception and bar areas are decorated in a modern way and looks like a hotel. However, the corridors and bedrooms are more hostel than hotel. The room was small with two bunk beds in, the bathroom had mould in it and the door did not shut properly. That said, you get what you pay for and if you are staying a couple of nights and want a bed and a quick shower then this is the place for you. If you are staying longer or plan to be in the room for any length of time, then it's best to look for somewhere else.

The location was excellent, right on the beach front and in the centre of the bars/shops/restaurants etc. Parking wasn't a problem either.

Unfortunately, our stay was not without a downside. On the last day we had to speak to house keeping about an issue with our room. The housekeeping manager was extremely rude and unhelpful, acting as though she was the victim and not us. I appreciate that there was little she could do, but some compassion goes a long way. She was blunt, unapologetic and extremely defensive. It is such a shame as the receptionist had given us such a great experience with the hotel and had it not been for this woman, I would have rated their service much higher. Also, due to her lack of people skills, I would not recommend this hotel to our friends. This is because it is at times like these that you need staff to provide great customer service.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank annie_cambs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ssh57, Manager at Hotel Sunnyside Newquay, responded to this review, 10 September 2009
I would like to thank the reviewer for the comments regarding the service provided by Brendan on the front desk. At the same time, I would like to apologise again for the inconvenience and 5 minute delay experienced at check-in.

I would also like to make comment on the issue concerning our housekeeping manager. Firstly, having been on duty during the guest’s check-out, I wish to clarify that this complaint was not motivated by the condition of the room or the standard of cleanliness, as perhaps indicated in the review. However, these issues were not acceptable and have since been addressed.

At our hotel we place a massive emphasis on customer service and negative guest feedback is always treated very seriously. However, again, having been party to this particular complaint, I feel compelled to provide a brief overview of the incident.

The dispute was a result of a personal slur being made against a member of our housekeeping team, from which the housekeeping manager was asked to intervene. The member of staff was extremely upset with how the guest spoke to her, and our housekeeping manager felt an obligation to defend her as a valued and long serving member of staff. I have spoken to the housekeeping manager at length regarding this affair, and on reflection, the communication, on both sides, would have been more effective if a calmer approach had been taken. I acknowledge that as a hotel we should maintain an objective stance on such matters. That said, I also acknowledge that staff deserve to be treated with respect within their place of work.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

363 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    207
    98
    23
    12
    23
See reviews for
28
49
12
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Herts
1 review
Reviewed 12 August 2009

Not one for giving reviews really, but just got back and after a great long weekend in newquay. The rooms were small and basic, but were clean and had everything required for a comfortable stay, let's be honest, you'll only sleep in there The bar area and reception are nice with a couple of pool tables in there too. The staff are friendly and helpful, i must say thanks to Will who was on the night shift whilst we were staying, he looked after us well, especially after i had injured my ankle quite badly, he was always happy to help. The hotel has a great location in the centre of town and near to the beach. Would definately stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anon181
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
derby
2 reviews
Reviewed 21 July 2009

just got back from a weekend at the sunnyside hotel newquay,it was a great weekend the hotel is in a great location,staff excellent,friendly and helpful,bar service great a lad called joe very helpful,as was the australian man who was on ,on the sat night.Would not recommend hotel to familys or older couples but definately the place for groups or people wanting good time many thanks.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank storminbnorman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
skegness
1 review
Reviewed 14 July 2009

Just got back from Newquay and this hotel was spot on for a stag party to stay..staff were mega friendly(Aussie dude and Joe) and next to the beach and close to all the bars etc. If you're looking to go on stag do and looking for somewhere cheap then this is the place as it's so chilled out to stay. Defo going back next year for the re-union!!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bravefart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Sussex
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2009

I stayed at hotel sunnyside as part of/organiser of a stag party. From start to finish the staff of the hotel were excellent. Bearing in mind this hotel is aimed at accomadating groups of young people and the various levels of drunkeness they usually bring, the hotel was exceptional. The rooms very clean, with all services in perfect working order. The reception was constanly manned, with the 24hr access facility a godsend. The staff were very tolerable and friendly. I have spent many camping weekends in Newquay, but up until now never in a hotel. The cost and location of this hotel ensures I shall not bother with the camping again! The one and only problem I encountered was parking. The hotels car park had limited space, with the nearest walk to leave the 17 seater minibus was a good 10-15 mins walk away in Fistral Bay. The parking problems are the problem of Newquay itself and not the hotel though! Stay here, and you'll come back.

  • Stayed July 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RichJames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Acton, London
1 review
Reviewed 10 July 2009

Like the last reviewer, I don't do reviews on hotels/restaurants etc but I felt compelled to give this a whirl and share my thoughts! In total contrast to that person, I thought the Sunnyside was fantastic :-). Clean, friendly staff, and cheap. I've just returned from a week in Newquay with 3 other friends, and overall, we had such a good time. We paid £135 each for the week. The weather was great, the nightlife was fab, and the hotel was perfect for our needs. We shared a bunk room. Room was bright, clean, and had comfortable beds. OK, not massive, but we didn't really spend anytime there. We were on a surfing and stay package which meant we were out most the day. The guys in the surf school were awesome- defo recommend the surfing! Really friendly and great patience with us novices! All in all, ace ;-) Recommend for sure A+++

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hils80x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
1 review
Reviewed 9 July 2009

I've never felt compelled to write a hotel review before but after my recent stay at Sunnyside, I feel oliged to warn others! We stayed on a Friday and Saturday night and had booked a bunk room for four people. The room would have been just about big enough for one person, let alone four. This is unacceptable at a rate of £32.50 pppn (you can stay in central London in a four star hotel for that price!) The room was very hot and stuffy, even though it wasn't a particularly warm weekend. The bathroom was tiny and pretty grubby. Admittedly the location is very nice and central but that's about all this 'hotel' has going for it.

  • Stayed June 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UKKatherine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ssh57, Manager at Hotel Sunnyside Newquay, responded to this review, 11 July 2009
As per our previous comments with regard to our rooms, we do feel we advertise our hotel in a fair and representative way. Our bunk rooms are basic and compact, however, they are designed with groups in mind who just require a base for their time in Newquay. As the vast majority of reviews on tripadvisor will confirm, our rooms are cleaned to a high standard and I feel obliged to contest any comments to the contrary. With regard price, our room rates are competitive for the type of hotel we operate. We would encourage readers to search other hotels in Newquay to confirm this. We are often less expensive than mixed dorm-style rooms with shared bathrooms- all our rooms are private and en-suite. Granted, in London you may be able to find rooms for a similar price through pre-booked full payment offers. We run comparable deals throughout the year for advance bookings ourselves (£42.50 was our June rack rate- discounts of up to 25% from this rate were available). However, you cannot compare pricing between the two destinations as London benefits from 7 night, all year round trade; leisure and corporate. Newquay and other seasonal resorts rely solely on weekends and summer bookings.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newquay hotels
0.4 mi away
Longbeach Hotel
Longbeach Hotel
#26 of 38 in Newquay
60 reviews
1.0 mi away
Ravensbury Hotel
Ravensbury Hotel
#22 of 38 in Newquay
107 reviews
0.3 mi away
Travelodge Newquay Seafront Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Best Western Hotel Bristol
0.4 mi away
Great Western Hotel
Great Western Hotel
#12 of 38 in Newquay
845 reviews
1.6 mi away
Kenton Hotel
Kenton Hotel
#29 of 38 in Newquay
108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sunnyside Newquay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sunnyside Newquay

Property: Hotel Sunnyside Newquay
Address: 5-7 The Crescent, Newquay TR7 1DT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 38 Hotels in Newquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Sunnyside Newquay 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly located for a short break in Newquay, Hotel Sunnyside is a fun and upbeat budget hotel offering a range of facilities and a great choice of affordable private en-suite rooms for single travellers, couples, and groups of all ages.Positioned just above Towan Beach in the heart of Newquay town centre, our location boasts inspirational views across Newquay bay and the awe-inspiring Atlantic coastline. With only a two minute walk to the main shops, bars, and restaurants, and only a short stroll from the beach, Newquay's winning formula of sun/fun/sea/surf are all on your doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LateRooms, Priceline, HostelWorld, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Sunnyside Newquay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunnyside Hotel Newquay
Hotel Sunnyside Newquay Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing