We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect!”
Review of The Pentire Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Pentire Hotel
Ranked #10 of 38 Hotels in Newquay
Certificate of Excellence
Worcester
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Perfect!”
Reviewed 18 March 2011

We have just spent an enjoyable 3 nights at The Pentire Hotel. The location is perfect, it really is in a beautiful spot. We were able to walk for miles but also the Pentire's location makes it an ideal central point to visit other places (Eden Project, Falmouth, Watergate Bay (Jamie Olivers Fifteen definately worth a visit for breakfast!) St Ives, Padstow to name but a few. We took our little Westie with us and she was made to feel very welcome! The food is excellent, with a good choice for breakfast and evening meal. We were not able to stay in a refurbished room because we had our hairy friend with us but none the less the room was more than comfortable. A visit to the Lewinnick Lodge (turn right out of the hotel and up as far as you can go!) is a must. Absolutely stunning views with a very relaxing atmosphere and cider make it a good check in point! All in all we have had a lovely break at The Pentire. 10/10 ....... the staff are all very friendly and cannot do enough for you. We definately will return. Thank you!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debs7443
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

893 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    382
    327
    123
    39
    22
See reviews for
177
440
51
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (334)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2011

Verry good service excellent menu, always something you liked, a very friendly hotel with nice bar area, ten minute walk to the magnificent fistrral beach or town centre nice swimming pool and outsiede areas rooms had everything you need and i had a lovely sea view. And if you have never been to fistral beach you don't know what you are missing I have travelled a lot and Newquays beaches take some beating for anyone young or old.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jacksonmarg1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2011

you can see the good work that has been happening recently, with paint and decor only problem they have not reach the 3rd floor. 1st room we had slopped down so your head was lower than your feet. asked reception to swop us and meet a bit of reisitance ''oh you have not up graded'' got another room. the corridor smelt damp and the room had mould around the window, aerial socket, on the celling and the bathroom wall was terrible aswell as the celling. in the bathroom. this put a dampner on our break as we did not want to spend any time in the room. food was ok, bar not too expensive general would of been a good break.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank leaseduffield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loughborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2011

Just returned from a 5 night stay. Excellent value for money; £79 per day for a family of 4 occupying 2 rooms with breakfast and evening meal is tremendous value.
Meals were tasty, with a decent choice, served promptly and effeciently.
Evening entertainment was enjoyable, particularly Johnny Morse, a local instumentalist and Cassie, a talented and most pleasant vocalist.
The welcome that we received when we arrived bode well for the rest of our stay; i.e. friendly, effecient and helpful.
Very handy to have a swimming pool which also offers a good view over Fistral Bay.
Downsides; as many have suggested in these reviews, some of the rooms (ours included) are dated and need a refurbishment. Car parking is limited and I would think that it would be a problem in the Summer when the hotel is full. Don't even try and use the rear car park unless you have a very narrow car, as a fire escape has been built onto the side of the hotel and somebody seems to have forgotten that cars are parked in the area behind it! There is also some waste land to the Newquay side of the hotel which is unsightly.
However, overall excellent value for money and we shall certainly go again.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank andygdyson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2011

Stayed from the 13th to the 16th of feb. Hotel needs updating as the corridors to the bedrooms had worn carpets and old dated wall paper which needed painting badly.However the room we had was clean and had very comfy bed. Meals were very tasty and plenty of choice .For a 2 star hotel the menu was more than expected and better than some 3 star hotels we have sayed in abroad.All staff were very friendly and pleasent.Would definitately stay again..Great value for money

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dianehorwwod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 February 2011

If you are happy to be a 10-15 minute walk out of the centre of Newquay in a quieter area this is the place for you. Excellent value for money, clean rooms, helpful friendly polite staff, great food good choice on menu, drinks not expensive. Great base if you want to do some walking. Only down side - the lounge bar can be rather on the cool side in the winter make sure you have a warm jacket or pack warm tops for the evening. Pay the extra for a sea view as the hotel overlooks Fistral Bay - the view is worth every penny extra.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BedfordSmiler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Queensferry
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2011

We stayed Friday to Monday on a £79 deal which included breakfast and evening meal. We had an exellent stay and the swimming pool (towels provided) was a fantastic way to spend our late afternoons before dinner. We had an unrefurbished room but it was adequate and even though it wasn't on the sea side it still had wonderful, open views of the countryside. Very convenient for Fistral beach and not too far to walk into town for a youngish family either. Staff were friendly and helpful and the food was also very nice with a good choice. This was our second stay and we'll definitely be back. Definitely a brilliant value 3 day break!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Porlock1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newquay hotels
0.8 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
0.3 mi away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#5 of 38 in Newquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,316 reviews
0.2 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Great Western Hotel
Great Western Hotel
#12 of 38 in Newquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 819 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Atlantic Hotel
The Atlantic Hotel
#7 of 38 in Newquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 984 reviews
1.4 mi away
Legacy Hotel Victoria - Newquay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pentire Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pentire Hotel

Property: The Pentire Hotel
Address: 60 Pentire Avenue, Newquay TR7 1NU, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Newquay
#9 Business Hotel in Newquay
#9 Family Hotel in Newquay
#14 Romantic Hotel in Newquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Pentire Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the Pentire headland in Newquay, just a mile from town centre, we have spectacular Fistral beach views. The River Gannel estuary and south west coast path is on our doorstep so we're ideally positioned for surfers, families or groups. Facilities include an indoor heated pool, steam room, childrens play area, beauty salon, fitness studio and a friendly bar. Licenced for Civil Weddings, we provide a beautiful venue for Weddings and receptions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Pentire Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pentire Hotel Newquay
The Pentire Hotel Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing