We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice room upgraded at little cost en suite good view of sea great breakfast and evening”
Review of The Pentire Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Pentire Hotel
Ranked #13 of 37 Hotels in Newquay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 May 2011

we upgradeat little cost 5£ ppso we had nice sea view nice room recently refurbished clean fresh bed en suite hot good shower warm room tea coffeebisc/great breakfast/evening meal good selection big portions/wine good selection.didnt see entertainment but others said good pool nice bar/lounge/staff really nice waiters and waitresses friendly we just used hotel as a base travelled to many areas good location good value dont like newquay bit tired but surrounding areas all easily seen and beautiful we like charlestown and polkerris.there is a car boot in newquay tuesday and thursday starts 12pm ps look over the minor in parts tiredness in the lift stairwell and enjoy.

Room Tip: utop floor facing the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mercedesjanw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (963)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

874 - 880 of 963 reviews

Reviewed 9 May 2011

i stayed at the hotel and it was great food is great and staff r friendley and the pool is lovely and warm and the entertament is ace And it has love views from the hotel nice and quite and a bus which stop out side the hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Deano36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2011

My wife and I stayed at the Pentire Hotel over the Bank Holiday week end and I can honestly say that for the money we got full value. All the meals were excellent and the staff were friendly and could not do enough to make our stay a good one. There were some groups of people on a a choir tour from the Midlands and we even got some in-promptu sing songs

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view of Fistral beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank quentingillett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2011

Hotel certainly looks impressive from the front,however rooms are very dated.Shower was awful,if your over 5ft 8,then your too tall,for the shower head.
We loved the location and the staff were very helpful,breakfast was poor we stopped 3 days but only had breakfast on the 1st day,we didn't bother again,we ate out.
Parking was fine plenty of room.We wouldn't go again though.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wazzaDerbyshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2011

We stayed for one week and were very impressed with the hotel. Our room was a refurbished one with a sea view and had a seperate interconnecting room for our child. The staff were very helpful and always said "yes" to all our dietry requests (gluten free and fussy child!). Food was good. Hotel is clean and comfortable.
The view for the hotel room is stunning but bear in mind that there are some houses inbetween the hotel and the sea view. Our room was above the entertainment but it only went on for about 1 hour and was finished by about 10:00pm.
10 minute was to Fistral beach and a few minutes to the headland (beautiful sunsets). Good location for exploring Cornwall. We will definately go back.

Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
Thank TamKL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2011

I visited the Pentire approx 5 years ago and enjoyed our stay but thought the hotel
a little shabby and tired at that time, however friends who visited recently told us that there had been improvements and how right they were. We stayed in a refurbished room with a view over Fistrel beach, enjoyed wholesome well cooked food served by attentive and friendly staff and spent the evenings In the recently refurbished bar. The position of the hotel between two beaches on a headland only approx one mile from Newquay could not be better. The hotel also has a large indoor pool.

All the staff that we came across seemed to have the right balance between being professional but also friendly which in a holiday hotel is important! Our four day break represented excellent value for money and we would recommend this hotel to all our friends and family.

Room Tip: Bus from outside hotel took us right into Newquay
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank robertbrian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2011

My husband & I recently spent 3 nights at the Pentire hotel and was amazed it was only a 2 star. The accommodation was very comfortable, food excellent and the staff and service were 2nd to none, the entertainment was good. It was very good value for money. I would most definitely recommend this hotel to anyone.

Excellent base in Cornwall

Before staying at the Pentire we had been on a cruise and I can honestly say the cruise did not live up to the Pentire.

Can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: I think I have said all I can about the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank barbboardman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newquay hotels
0.3 mi away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#6 of 37 in Newquay
1,425 reviews
0.2 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
1.6 mi away
Great Western Hotel
Great Western Hotel
#12 of 37 in Newquay
927 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
1.4 mi away
Legacy Hotel Victoria - Newquay
0.9 mi away
Carnmarth Hotel
Carnmarth Hotel
#11 of 37 in Newquay
511 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pentire Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pentire Hotel

Address: 60 Pentire Avenue, Newquay TR7 1NU, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Newquay
#9 Family Hotel in Newquay
#9 Business Hotel in Newquay
#14 Romantic Hotel in Newquay
Price Range: £29 - £125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Pentire Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the Pentire headland in Newquay, just a mile from town centre, we have spectacular Fistral beach views. The River Gannel estuary and south west coast path is on our doorstep so we're ideally positioned for surfers, families or groups. Facilities include an indoor heated pool, steam room, childrens play area, beauty salon, fitness studio and a friendly bar. Licenced for Civil Weddings, we provide a beautiful venue for Weddings and receptions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Expedia, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Cancelon, Ebookers and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Pentire Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pentire Hotel Newquay
The Pentire Hotel Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing