We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay at a well run hotel”
Review of The Pentire Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Pentire Hotel
Ranked #12 of 37 Hotels in Newquay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 May 2011

We stayed at The Pentire for 3 nights from May 3rd. We travelled down from Blackpool so we were tired and hungry when we got to the hotel. We parked our car and went to check in. The Reception area is clean bright and modern. The check in process was handled very efficiently and we were given our keys and were given very clear directions on how to find the bedrooms. There is a lift that goes to all floors of the hotel.
the bedrooms were very clean and had flat screen tv... tea and coffee making facilities etc. The beds were very comfortable and we had a good nights sleep the entire time we were there.

We had booked the dinner bed and breakfast package and dinner was served at 7pm. When we entered the dining room were shown our table by a very friendly member of staff. We were told that we would keep the same table throughout our stay. Just in case we forgot the table had our name on it!.
There was a choice of 3 starters 3 mains and 3 desserts followed by tea or coffee. The food was not gourmet quality but no-one should expect that it would be! we all thoroughly enjoyed our meal and the quality and quantity was excellent.

After dinner we had a brief walk down to the nearest pub then came back to The Pentire and used the bar!

The atmosphere and service was outstanding. The bar was run by Dan who was a very genial host and made us feel extremely welcome. Dan has a sense of humour which appealed to us as we own a hotel in Blackpool and we know how difficult it can be. We spent a few hours in the bar before going to bed thoroughly relaxed and slightly tipsy!

Breakfast the next morning was at 8am and again there was a good choice HOWEVER there were no beans!! Yes I know its not the end of the world but we LIKE beans. We had a word with the restaurant manager Lisa and she said she would see what she could do. Thus began the crusade for beans at breakfast!
Lisa was very friendly and extremely good at running the restaurant. At dinner on the second night she gave us lots of info on places to go... things to do etc.

We decided not to go out around town on the second night so we stayed in the bar and watched the entertainment. The guy who was performing is a local entertainer and played lots of musical instruments and was very amusing at times. One major achievement was that he managed to get one of our party to join in with the participation of actions to Cambourne Hill.... believe me that is a major plus and not something we have seen too often!

We spent the remainder of the night in the bar with the very friendly Dan.. the guy is amazing and without a doubt a major credit to The Pentire!

we were the last to leave the bar and went to bed feeling very happy and enjoyed the night.

Breakfast the next morning was once again lacking the beans we were so desperate to have so plan B was formulated! When we were out and about we nipped into a supermarket and bought a few tins of beans some giftwrap etc and wrapped them up. We gave the "present" to Reception to pass on to the chef..... yes it was cheeky to do that but by now we were suffering withdrawal symptoms from the lack of beans!

At breakfast the next morning we waited in nervous anticipation..... would we get the beans..... would we get breakfast!!!. Sure enough when the breakfast was brought out we had beans!!

The beans saga shows how well run The Pentire is... it also shows the difference between a good hotel and a very good hotel that The Pentire will react to guest comments and that they will go the extra mile to please guests.

In summary we had a very very enjoyable stay at The Pentire made so by the efficient and friendly staff who will go out of their way to help and to make sure that you have a good time whilst staying at The Pentire.

Without a doubt we would recommend The Pentire and would have no hesitation in staying there next time we are in Cornwall.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank trentwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (958)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

868 - 874 of 958 reviews

Reviewed 9 May 2011

we upgradeat little cost 5£ ppso we had nice sea view nice room recently refurbished clean fresh bed en suite hot good shower warm room tea coffeebisc/great breakfast/evening meal good selection big portions/wine good selection.didnt see entertainment but others said good pool nice bar/lounge/staff really nice waiters and waitresses friendly we just used hotel as a base travelled to many areas good location good value dont like newquay bit tired but surrounding areas all easily seen and beautiful we like charlestown and polkerris.there is a car boot in newquay tuesday and thursday starts 12pm ps look over the minor in parts tiredness in the lift stairwell and enjoy.

Room Tip: utop floor facing the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mercedesjanw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2011

i stayed at the hotel and it was great food is great and staff r friendley and the pool is lovely and warm and the entertament is ace And it has love views from the hotel nice and quite and a bus which stop out side the hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Deano36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2011

My wife and I stayed at the Pentire Hotel over the Bank Holiday week end and I can honestly say that for the money we got full value. All the meals were excellent and the staff were friendly and could not do enough to make our stay a good one. There were some groups of people on a a choir tour from the Midlands and we even got some in-promptu sing songs

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view of Fistral beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank quentingillett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2011

Hotel certainly looks impressive from the front,however rooms are very dated.Shower was awful,if your over 5ft 8,then your too tall,for the shower head.
We loved the location and the staff were very helpful,breakfast was poor we stopped 3 days but only had breakfast on the 1st day,we didn't bother again,we ate out.
Parking was fine plenty of room.We wouldn't go again though.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wazzaDerbyshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2011

We stayed for one week and were very impressed with the hotel. Our room was a refurbished one with a sea view and had a seperate interconnecting room for our child. The staff were very helpful and always said "yes" to all our dietry requests (gluten free and fussy child!). Food was good. Hotel is clean and comfortable.
The view for the hotel room is stunning but bear in mind that there are some houses inbetween the hotel and the sea view. Our room was above the entertainment but it only went on for about 1 hour and was finished by about 10:00pm.
10 minute was to Fistral beach and a few minutes to the headland (beautiful sunsets). Good location for exploring Cornwall. We will definately go back.

Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
Thank TamKL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2011

I visited the Pentire approx 5 years ago and enjoyed our stay but thought the hotel
a little shabby and tired at that time, however friends who visited recently told us that there had been improvements and how right they were. We stayed in a refurbished room with a view over Fistrel beach, enjoyed wholesome well cooked food served by attentive and friendly staff and spent the evenings In the recently refurbished bar. The position of the hotel between two beaches on a headland only approx one mile from Newquay could not be better. The hotel also has a large indoor pool.

All the staff that we came across seemed to have the right balance between being professional but also friendly which in a holiday hotel is important! Our four day break represented excellent value for money and we would recommend this hotel to all our friends and family.

Room Tip: Bus from outside hotel took us right into Newquay
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank robertbrian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newquay hotels
0.3 mi away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#6 of 37 in Newquay
1,423 reviews
0.2 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
1.6 mi away
Great Western Hotel
Great Western Hotel
#13 of 37 in Newquay
920 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Legacy Hotel Victoria - Newquay
0.8 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
0.9 mi away
Carnmarth Hotel
Carnmarth Hotel
#11 of 37 in Newquay
506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pentire Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pentire Hotel

Address: 60 Pentire Avenue, Newquay TR7 1NU, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Newquay
#9 Family Hotel in Newquay
#9 Business Hotel in Newquay
#14 Romantic Hotel in Newquay
Price Range: £35 - £113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Pentire Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the Pentire headland in Newquay, just a mile from town centre, we have spectacular Fistral beach views. The River Gannel estuary and south west coast path is on our doorstep so we're ideally positioned for surfers, families or groups. Facilities include an indoor heated pool, steam room, childrens play area, beauty salon, fitness studio and a friendly bar. Licenced for Civil Weddings, we provide a beautiful venue for Weddings and receptions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, 5viajes2012 S.L., Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and LateRooms so you can book your The Pentire Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pentire Hotel Newquay
The Pentire Hotel Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing