We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Welcoming, first class service, clean rooms, excellent food, great sea views”
Review of The Pentire Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Pentire Hotel
Ranked #13 of 37 Hotels in Newquay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 June 2011

This hotel is situated on Pentire Headland giving lovely views of the surrounding area. The local bus stops outside the hotel and takes you into the town centre, which is a long walk for elderly or disabled people. On the other hand for those who enjoy walking there are pleanty of lovely walks nearby. The hotel is clean and the staff are very pleasant and accommodating to individual needs, the rooms we had were clean, spacious with en-suites, telivision and tea/coffee facilities also provided. Meals were varied with pleanty of choices both at breakfast and evening, and were cooked and presented to a high standard. There was nightly entertainment should you wish to participate or you could just relax in the lounge areas.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank alexandraRochester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mrhoward66, Guest Relations Manager at The Pentire Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2011

We're proud of all the hotel staff here and in no doubt that it's our professional, friendly team that earns us such praise. We're making many improvements and new additions to the hotel. Thank you so much for your review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (988)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

892 - 898 of 988 reviews

Reviewed 9 June 2011

We spent a very enjoyable few days at the Pentire. The staff were all very cheerful and helpful and excellent attention was given to my sister's gluten and dairy free diet. I thoroughly enjoyed the variety and quality of the food on the menu and Nick our waiter couldn't have looked after us better!! The view from our window was superb and the pool is a great extra. Many thanks to all of the staff.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kingsheath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mrhoward66, Guest Relations Manager at The Pentire Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2011

We do have some really great views from the hotel. Glad you enjoyed your stay so much. Time and time again, it's our amazing team here that are praised. Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2011

This is our second visit and we are looking forward to a third visit. Its interesting reading the reviews here as some folk seem to not connect what they pay with what they get i.e this is a not a mega star hotel, it is 2 stars and what you get for the money is nothing short of stunning. When we turned up just a little early on Sunday 12th May the girl in reception could not do enough for us. We had a swim in the indoor heated pool (towels supplied) and she tried - not promised - to get our room earlier. Luckily we got the room early. We had 2 rooms both recently refurbished on the 1st floor, one with a sea view. The rooms were very clean, beds were comfy and each came with a flat screen tv and tea/coffee making facilities. One had a new shower and the other a bath. As for food, you can see the evening menu the day before and there is plenty of choice and we were very happy - no its not Jamie Oliver but nor is it canteen food. The breakfast is also a feast.. You have the same table each night and we were happy by a window. The staff again were amazing, I could mention names but they were all so wonderful in looking after you, One of us is a vegetarian and the hotel was very accommodating. My only problem is I appeared to have put on 9Ib by the time I got home. I have stayed in somewhat more expensive hotels such as the Sheraton but prefer the staff here ie they meet your needs and are on your wavelength. The location of the hotel is absolutely fantastic, away from the main town but still accessible and with beautiful sea walks. We tend to go out for the day and in the evening prefer a quiet night in (includes tv) which brings me to my only gripe and that is the rooms were above the bar which was only a problem come the weekend when entertainment was on but this stopped at 11pm which is reasonable.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank basilbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mrhoward66, Guest Relations Manager at The Pentire Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2011

Such great feedback for us to receive. Thank you. Look out for all of our special offers in our monthly newsletter - you can subscribe to receive it directly from our website. Our warmest regards to you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2011

Went to the Pentire with a coach group.We found the hotel to be very comfortable,staff very helpfull nothing to much trouble.The food was excellent,plenty of choice,well cooked.Bedrooms comfortable,although more storage space would be nice,but only a minor problem.Bedrooms cleaned properly every day.Worth paying upgrade for sea facing room.Hotel in good location with bus stop a min or so up the road. All in all a very enjoyable stay would go again and would recomend The Pentire to friends and family.

Room Tip: Ask for seaview
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mandajane095
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2011

I took a coach group of 49 'silver surfers' for a 4 night stay between 10th & 14th May with hotel arranged by coach company. As the organiser, I was greatly relieved that everybody was happy with their allocated rooms, the breakfast and evening meals offered an excellent choice, were well presented and delicious. Several of our party enjoyed the large (for a hotel) indoor pool. The evening entertainment was also excellent, although some of our group preferred to do other things. I would be very happy to take another group to the Pentire or to stay privately - well done to all !

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank ArthursTrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2011

great value for money hotel, great friendly staff, special mention for abby the receptionist lovely friendly and very helpfull

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nigelclark131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2011

We stayed at The Pentire for 3 nights from May 3rd. We travelled down from Blackpool so we were tired and hungry when we got to the hotel. We parked our car and went to check in. The Reception area is clean bright and modern. The check in process was handled very efficiently and we were given our keys and were given very clear directions on how to find the bedrooms. There is a lift that goes to all floors of the hotel.
the bedrooms were very clean and had flat screen tv... tea and coffee making facilities etc. The beds were very comfortable and we had a good nights sleep the entire time we were there.

We had booked the dinner bed and breakfast package and dinner was served at 7pm. When we entered the dining room were shown our table by a very friendly member of staff. We were told that we would keep the same table throughout our stay. Just in case we forgot the table had our name on it!.
There was a choice of 3 starters 3 mains and 3 desserts followed by tea or coffee. The food was not gourmet quality but no-one should expect that it would be! we all thoroughly enjoyed our meal and the quality and quantity was excellent.

After dinner we had a brief walk down to the nearest pub then came back to The Pentire and used the bar!

The atmosphere and service was outstanding. The bar was run by Dan who was a very genial host and made us feel extremely welcome. Dan has a sense of humour which appealed to us as we own a hotel in Blackpool and we know how difficult it can be. We spent a few hours in the bar before going to bed thoroughly relaxed and slightly tipsy!

Breakfast the next morning was at 8am and again there was a good choice HOWEVER there were no beans!! Yes I know its not the end of the world but we LIKE beans. We had a word with the restaurant manager Lisa and she said she would see what she could do. Thus began the crusade for beans at breakfast!
Lisa was very friendly and extremely good at running the restaurant. At dinner on the second night she gave us lots of info on places to go... things to do etc.

We decided not to go out around town on the second night so we stayed in the bar and watched the entertainment. The guy who was performing is a local entertainer and played lots of musical instruments and was very amusing at times. One major achievement was that he managed to get one of our party to join in with the participation of actions to Cambourne Hill.... believe me that is a major plus and not something we have seen too often!

We spent the remainder of the night in the bar with the very friendly Dan.. the guy is amazing and without a doubt a major credit to The Pentire!

we were the last to leave the bar and went to bed feeling very happy and enjoyed the night.

Breakfast the next morning was once again lacking the beans we were so desperate to have so plan B was formulated! When we were out and about we nipped into a supermarket and bought a few tins of beans some giftwrap etc and wrapped them up. We gave the "present" to Reception to pass on to the chef..... yes it was cheeky to do that but by now we were suffering withdrawal symptoms from the lack of beans!

At breakfast the next morning we waited in nervous anticipation..... would we get the beans..... would we get breakfast!!!. Sure enough when the breakfast was brought out we had beans!!

The beans saga shows how well run The Pentire is... it also shows the difference between a good hotel and a very good hotel that The Pentire will react to guest comments and that they will go the extra mile to please guests.

In summary we had a very very enjoyable stay at The Pentire made so by the efficient and friendly staff who will go out of their way to help and to make sure that you have a good time whilst staying at The Pentire.

Without a doubt we would recommend The Pentire and would have no hesitation in staying there next time we are in Cornwall.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank trentwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newquay hotels
0.2 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
1.4 mi away
Legacy Hotel Victoria - Newquay
0.8 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#5 of 37 in Newquay
1,448 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Atlantic Hotel
The Atlantic Hotel
#10 of 37 in Newquay
1,047 reviews
2.8 mi away
Sands Resort Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pentire Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pentire Hotel

Address: 60 Pentire Avenue, Newquay TR7 1NU, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Newquay
#9 Family Hotel in Newquay
#9 Business Hotel in Newquay
#14 Romantic Hotel in Newquay
Price Range: £42 - £117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Pentire Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the Pentire headland in Newquay, just a mile from town centre, we have spectacular Fistral beach views. The River Gannel estuary and south west coast path is on our doorstep so we're ideally positioned for surfers, families or groups. Facilities include an indoor heated pool, steam room, childrens play area, beauty salon, fitness studio and a friendly bar. Licenced for Civil Weddings, we provide a beautiful venue for Weddings and receptions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Stayforlong S.L., TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Pentire Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pentire Hotel Newquay
The Pentire Hotel Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing