We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic holiday with a brilliant hotel”
Review of The Pentire Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Pentire Hotel
Ranked #11 of 38 Hotels in Newquay
Certificate of Excellence
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic holiday with a brilliant hotel”
Reviewed 22 July 2011

I've just returned from a three night break at the Pentire hotel with my fiance. We had a fantastic time on our second visit together to Newquay and would strongly recommend this hotel. The check in was very simple, the room was lovely and we had an amazing view. The staff were very friendly and helpful and genuinely seemed to enjoy their jobs. We only ate breakfast in the restaurant but it was delicious and it was the small things the staff did that really made a difference. There is entertainment on in the evenings and a pool table and swimming pool if you want to stay in the hotel. There is so much to see and do that despite cramming so much in we still ran out of time. We were very lucky to find a great bar about ten minutes away called Bhodi's beach cafe, it was a romantic little place with great service, amazing food and an incredible view.This hotel is in an great location with the town very easy to get to and it was very good value for money. We will return to Newquay and would definitely chose this hotel again and would strongly recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sarahjanecooper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

907 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    382
    334
    128
    41
    22
See reviews for
181
448
51
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (340)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
40 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2011

Location is out of the main town centre but that can be an advantage. Taxis into town are less than £5.The Food was excellent and catered for all tastes. The Swimming pool is new, nice and clean. However the sauna only has a set max. temperature which was not hot enough for us.
For a nice romantic evening turn right outside the hotel and go to the Lewinnick Bar which overlooks the sea on the Pentire headland.
The Eden project is well worth a visit.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mort487
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2011

Hotel room was spacious, clean and fabulous views. The staff were helpful and smiley, always ready to please. Food was lovely, being a non meat eater i had no trouble choosing from the menus. Would highly recommend to anyone and everyone....

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peculiar_one
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 July 2011

I booked a 3 night mid week stay to enyoy the end of season weather in Newquay with my Collie Sammy and was pleasantly surprised with the quality of food, service and overall value for money, especially as they only charged me £5 a night for Sammy.

The Pentire Hotel is very ye olde school, yet has a 21st Century approach to style, and although it creaks a bit in places, the facilities along with the service I found to be excellent value for money.

If you have a dog and fancy a midweek coastal break with a fantastic view of the Atlantic Ocean, then look no further, as the Pentire does exactly what it says in the brochure.

I would especially recommend mid January, as the sea is wild and the beach is normally empty, but the staff and service are still first class.

Ronnie

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view, and they will normally give you that if available
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RonnieFlatz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Yorkshire
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2011

We stayed here in July 2011 on our 1st visit to Newquey. The hotel staff are really friendly & helpful and the food is great. Everything is cooked fresh with a good choice of menu, and I can guarantee you won,t be disappointed with the choice of dishes on offer. The only downside is that the hotel is a little way out of town for anyone who has difficulty walking far & the buses only run hourly until 5.30pm and there are no buses on a Sunday, this of course is out of the hands of the hotel. Otherwise very highly recommended and close to a lovely beach.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hullensian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolton
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 18 July 2011

Honestly, are some people writing reviews about the right hotel here??!

Me and my wife went on a 'Just Go coaches' package trip which for us was more than what we usually spend on a holiday. But for the cash we spent and the service we got throughout, it was worth every penny. Firstly a quick shout-out to Just Go. They were fantastic. They had great excursions and the driver (special mention to Callum). he was exceptional and we had some very cool impromptu outings which stood well with the whole coach. That said, me and my wife were the youngest on the trip (30 and 34), but the oldies and goldies were great company. With this in mind we got worried as we got close to the hotel, thinking it would be very 'old person' orientated and we would be very bored each night. How wrong we were!!!

We arrived to an excellent welcome from very friendly staff willing to go the extra mile all the time. It had excellent facility's and the food was second to non with great choices (and help from the kitchen when I realized I didn't like mushrooms). The bar was fully stocked and well maned, the downstairs movie/bingo room was a nice touch for the older guest (even though we didn't really use it) and they had an exceptional swimming pool and sauna facility. Every night they had entertainment and the pool/ping pong room was always open for use. Morning papers were available every day and it had a very compatible (free) WiFi.

We upgraded beforehand for a 'sea view ' room and boy oh boy...it didn't disappoint. The view of Fistral beach was beautiful and the added touch of the headland Lighthouse at night was fantastic. The location was great as well. The first night we arrived, we decided to take a trip to the cliff edge to watch the sun go down. On Google maps it looks like a real walk. In reality it's 10 minutes away and not to be missed. Down the road it takes you straight into Fistral beach and into some very cool surf club houses/bars.

People keep talking about how bad the rooms looked, but we saw no problems. We also talked to some other oldies from another coach (the worst critics from my experience), and they thought the rooms were excellent too. Maybe some people on here arrived during it's transition period or something. The rooms were cleaned every day and towels and other home luxury's were on demand whenever you needed them.

On a very personal note I would like to do a shout out out to Dan the Barman an all round good guy who made mine and my wife's stay very relaxing. And another shout out to the reception staff that rung me a taxi and helped get some information about emergency dentists when my toothache flared up. I was in a huge amount of pain and you made the whole experience easier and I had it dealt with faster, so the coach ride home on Sunday was much more pleasant. Thank you.

I would recommend this hotel to anyone and we are going back next year. Don't be worried if your younger because the older clientele are pretty cool and the staff are mostly young. They are attentive to all ages and a damn good laugh.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Modobaggins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mrhoward66, Guest Relations Manager at The Pentire Hotel, responded to this review, 22 July 2011
Wonderful for us to receive feedback like this. We have a great team here at the hotel and we're extremely proud of them all. Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We're ideally equipped for group holidays and often have special deals available which you can subscribe to receive in our monthly newsletter. Come back and visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wiltshire
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2011

Stayed here for 4 nights on half board.Food was good for the price we paid ,plenty of choices and service in the restaurant was very good, smiling staff and very helpful. We had an upgraded room which we paid £10 a night extra but well worth it.We had sea facing room, 108, which was very big and bathroom was good, only a shower though! Fine for us as we don`t mind not having a bath.Room service was excellent, very clean !!!!It was about 20 mins walk to town either across the headland or straight down the main road. A bus picked up outside the hotel every hour which was a bonus if you don`t like walking. Pentire is very close to Fistral Beach so plenty of headland walks...overall a very good value for money hotel.

Room Tip: Go for a sea facing upgraded room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tobyboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mrhoward66, Guest Relations Manager at The Pentire Hotel, responded to this review, 18 July 2011
Many thanks for your kind comments and feedback - which we've passed directly onto our hotel team. Really pleased that you enjoyed your 4 night stay with us. Keep up-to-date with all our special offers and late deals in our monthly email newsletter. Subscribe directly from our website. Do come and join us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newquay hotels
0.8 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
0.2 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
0.3 mi away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#5 of 38 in Newquay
1,335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
The Atlantic Hotel
The Atlantic Hotel
#8 of 38 in Newquay
990 reviews
1.6 mi away
Great Western Hotel
Great Western Hotel
#12 of 38 in Newquay
832 reviews
1.4 mi away
Legacy Hotel Victoria - Newquay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pentire Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pentire Hotel

Property: The Pentire Hotel
Address: 60 Pentire Avenue, Newquay TR7 1NU, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Newquay
#9 Family Hotel in Newquay
#9 Business Hotel in Newquay
#14 Romantic Hotel in Newquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Pentire Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the Pentire headland in Newquay, just a mile from town centre, we have spectacular Fistral beach views. The River Gannel estuary and south west coast path is on our doorstep so we're ideally positioned for surfers, families or groups. Facilities include an indoor heated pool, steam room, childrens play area, beauty salon, fitness studio and a friendly bar. Licenced for Civil Weddings, we provide a beautiful venue for Weddings and receptions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Pentire Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pentire Hotel Newquay
The Pentire Hotel Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing