We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“so-so”
Review of The Pentire Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Pentire Hotel
Ranked #13 of 37 Hotels in Newquay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 August 2011

The pentire tries hard and the staff are very nice but essentially, this is quite an average hotel. Handy for the beach but about 15 minutes from the town centre, the place is fairly shabby and really could do with a makeover. Our first room smelt of feet, our second was much better.
The food is pretty poor, catering for people with little culinary range. We asked for some balsamic vinegar for our salad and was told they didn't have any.
The pool is very nice and the bar is sizeable. The evening acts are utterly cringeworthy though and to be avoided. They alos have TV on a running loop on News 24, with subtitles. Why? Who knows...
This place caters to the elderly more easily than the young, but some familiies were here.
So-so, nothing special.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wigman2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mrhoward66, Guest Relations Manager at The Pentire Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2011

Many thanks for posting a review and offering us some feedback. In reply, we do advertise that we are 1 mile outside of Newquay town centre overlooking Fistral beach. There is a handy bus stop outside the hotel – only a short ride and a direct solution if you don’t want to walk or take a short taxi ride. We are sorry to hear that you didn’t like our food or the free entertainment provided. We make great effort to cater for all age ranges and for all tastes. We attract a wide range of guests including surfers, younger families and couples, majority enjoy our facilities and offer positive feedback on value, location and service. Many do return, which is the biggest compliment that we can receive.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (986)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

866 - 872 of 986 reviews

Reviewed 25 August 2011

Had a great holiday , the location was spot on for Fistral beach and the beautiful Pentire coast. The hotel has a homely feel to it. Furniture and carpets are worn however the place is clean and comfortable.Food was very good although service could be improved, we felt forgotten at times and maybe they could manage a smile?
Rooms were spacious with plenty of storage. The toiletries were nice and the tea/coffee tray was good. Rooms had flat screen tvs.
Swimming pool was lovely.
This is a very relaxed hotel, if you're not too picky you will enjoy.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank joeboxer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mrhoward66, Guest Relations Manager at The Pentire Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2011

Really pleased that you had a 'Great' holiday at our hotel and thank you for your feedback. We are making many improvements at the hotel and continually investing in our facilities - something that many guests are noticing when they return and also recognised by 3 Stars from Visit Britain recently. Do come back and visit us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2011

This trip was part of my birthday present! My partner surprised me with it, and told me we were going to the Relentless Boardmasters Festival, and I was STOKED! Anyways, when we eventually arrived at the hotel, I was taken back by the poor exterior of the hotel, it looked like it needed a lick of paint, but at this point in time, I just thought, the jury's still out. Its fine. Then when we went to check in, we were told, 'normal' check in hours was at 3 pm, and we were made to wait 30 minutes for the receptionist to find out 'if the room was ready' only to be told that it wasnt. When we did eventually get to access our room, the hallway was very creaky and narrow, and had a funny smell to it. When we got to our room, we thought 'oh god what had we let ourselves in for' but when we opened to door it didnt look too bad as we thought it was going to, it felt cozy. However, the bathroom let it down. No power shower, and the curtains looked like it had been there since the 1980's. The walls are also a bit think :) When we looked up the photos of the hotel on the internet, because my partner had said if he knew that this place actually looked nothing like the photos on the internet, he would have never booked it. The bit that hurt the most, the 4.5 star hotel worked out to cost the same (it was £180 per room pernight instead of £180 per person at the Pentire). The 'fitness centre', welll... the swimming pool and the 1 person sauna, like the rest of the hotel let it down. Breakfast.. well until the last morning that I had it ,no complaints whatsoever, until i found a strand of hair in my breakfast, which I sent back, and got given a new one. I personally do not mind the hotel, but because the photos on the website had no true bearing of the hotel, I would not come back.

Room Tip: Try asking for the 'sea' facing rooms, the seagulls wont wake you up too much in the morning...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kbree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mrhoward66, Guest Relations Manager at The Pentire Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2011

Thank you for posting a review. We are sorry to hear that you didn’t enjoy your stay on this occasion. To add some balance, if guests arrive much earlier than our 3pm check-in time, we endeavor to make their room available as soon as possible. Whilst doing this, guests are always made very welcome and are free to use all hotel facilities. We do not advertise ‘power showers’ in our bathrooms and make no claims to offer a ‘Fitness Centre’. We do however have brilliant leisure facilities including an indoor heated pool, table tennis and a dry sauna that can comfortably seat 3 people. Every photograph used on our website and in our brochure reflects exactly what we have to offer, and without any exceptions. Our short break packages offer amazing value for money. Most include dinner, bed, breakfast and entertainment over 2, 3 or 4 nights. We assume that you are mistaken about the actual cost of your stay with us. We continue to invest and make many improvements with majority of our rooms now completely refurbished.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2011

We recently returned from our third visit to the Pentire Hotel. Each year it keeps improving with its ongoing upgrade of the decor. I was lucky enough to stay in one of the newly decorated rooms and it was lovely, no sea view this time, but if you are lucky enough to get one, the views of Fistral beach are great. I think it is good value for money on a dinner bed and breakfast basis. The food is plentiful, it may not be fine dining but after a day out on the beach it's great to come back to the hotel knowing you are going to be well fed! Good selection for each course at dinner with a vegetarian option. Breakfast is the same, good selection and the eggs are always perfectly cooked. I like the fact that you keep the same table all the way through your holiday. It's a bonus to have a pool when you have children to entertain, especially on a rainy day. It may not be big enough to do lengths but it certainly serves its purpose. The evening entertainment can be a bit hit or miss depending on your tastes (I think they cater for the more mature guest!) but there is always the option of going downstairs to play table tennis, pool, cards etc or if it's a nice night a walk along the beach or into town. We did decide to dine out one evening, just for a change, and the receptionist recommended we try Little Italy which was fantastic, I've left a good review for them also! The main reason for returning to this hotel for the third year running is their welcoming, helpful and friendly staff. They are a real credit to the hotel and its owners. The restaurant staff were great and Katie did a lovely job of being our waitress, very pleasant and helpful, thank you! The reception team who dealt with all our enquiries promptly and professionally. The domestic staff who make your room absolutely spotless every day. The management who were very quick and efficient with resolving a couple of problems that we had. And, of course, 'Dan the Man' (and his prize winning guinea pigs!), probably the best barman in Newquay! What he doesn't know about Harry Potter isn't worth knowing! Thanks for another great stay and we'll hopefully see you again soon :o)

Room Tip: If your a light sleeper bring ear plugs as the seagulls are loud!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emma G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mrhoward66, Guest Relations Manager at The Pentire Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2011

That's really lovely feedback for all the team at the hotel to receive. Thank you for posting a review about your recent stay with us. Have you considered spending Christmas or your New Years celebrations at The Pentire Hotel... We have some great deals, it's such a fantastic atmosphere and lots of fun. Do come back and see us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2011

Great budget hotel...... friendly reception staff - didn't have time for breakfast but they organised a takeaway. Room small but clean and adequate. Downside - not so sound proof. Great location and free parking facilities. Would I stay there again - yes.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank metroambassador
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mrhoward66, Guest Relations Manager at The Pentire Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2011

Great feedback for us to receive - thank you for posting a review. We are making even more hotel improvements over the coming weeks following our '3 Stars' accreditation from Visit Britain. We agree, our location is pretty special and offers one of the very best views of Fistral beach. Keep an eye on our Special Offers page for all the deals. Do come back and stay with us again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2011

Came here for a week staying in a double room with a triple through a connecting door for our children...we had a dual aspect and could see out across Fistral beach and all across the hills of Crantock. We paid a reasonable price I think for bed, breakfast and evening meal particularly when I tell you that each and every meal we had was excellent!!! We had a good choice at each sitting and every morsel was well prepared and served by friendly staff...congratulaions Pentire! We did use the swimming pool and sauna on a few occasions and found it to be clean as well as easy to access, my son used the pool table and table tennis a few times and was impressed with the magician who was the entertainment on one of the nights (didn't do much for us adults though). We tried the Happy Feet experience in the salon booked through the hotel which was clean and professional and good value at £10 for 20mins. Overall a good stay we all agreed we will go again but hope to see a little upgrading in the bathrooms...ours was lacking in flair although spotless it does need a few little touches to bring it up to the same standard as the rooms.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RotherRiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mrhoward66, Guest Relations Manager at The Pentire Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2011

Thank you for taking the time to post a review for our hotel. Really pleased that the whole family enjoyed your holiday so much. We're continually making improvements throughout, recognised by Visit Britain, who awarded us 3 Stars during the week of your stay. Keep an eye out for our hotel special offers in our monthly email newsletter. You can subscribe to receive this directly from our homepage. Look forward to welcoming you all back again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2011

We stayed in this hotel for 4 nights, we loved it. The rooms were very clean and well decorated and fully stocked tea,coffee etc. The service was first class by all the staff, breakfast was lovely and the staff couldnt do enough for us. There is lots of room in the hotel to just sit and relax a real home from home. We had a lovely view of fistral beach from our window, and its a lovely walk down to there. All in all a wonderful hotel that I would gladly go to again and again.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sar695
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mrhoward66, Guest Relations Manager at The Pentire Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2011

Thank you very much for your comments. We're proud of the hotel team and will pass-on your kind comments. We've also just been awarded 3 Stars by Visit Britain - so the good news continues. Do come back and visit us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newquay hotels
0.2 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
1.4 mi away
Legacy Hotel Victoria - Newquay
0.8 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#5 of 37 in Newquay
1,447 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Atlantic Hotel
The Atlantic Hotel
#10 of 37 in Newquay
1,047 reviews
2.8 mi away
Sands Resort Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pentire Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pentire Hotel

Address: 60 Pentire Avenue, Newquay TR7 1NU, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Newquay
#9 Business Hotel in Newquay
#9 Family Hotel in Newquay
#14 Romantic Hotel in Newquay
Price Range: £43 - £117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Pentire Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the Pentire headland in Newquay, just a mile from town centre, we have spectacular Fistral beach views. The River Gannel estuary and south west coast path is on our doorstep so we're ideally positioned for surfers, families or groups. Facilities include an indoor heated pool, steam room, childrens play area, beauty salon, fitness studio and a friendly bar. Licenced for Civil Weddings, we provide a beautiful venue for Weddings and receptions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Stayforlong S.L., TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Pentire Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pentire Hotel Newquay
The Pentire Hotel Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing