We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Someones done some photoshopping”
Review of The Pentire Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Pentire Hotel
Ranked #11 of 38 Hotels in Newquay
Certificate of Excellence
nottingham
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Someones done some photoshopping”
Reviewed 4 September 2011

We booked pentire as it had a pool and a sauna, and the rooms seemed clean and fresh.

Not so much.

We arrived to a building site but thankfully being the bankholiday the builders were not on the premises. Having booked our rooms together we were allocated one on the first floor (opposite the door to the stairs, and had a gap under the door so not very private) and one on the third floor.

Third floor room was disgraceful, bathroom dingy and then when my friend drew the curtains they fell down on her. The new room she got offered was covered in mould so she declined that and asked them to fix the rail instead. They told her "oh yes this happens quite a lot, we need new curtain rails!" Her shower then ceased to work only to be told, "we're at the top of the hill and your on the third floor so theres probably not the water pressure to have a shower at the minute......"

Our room was mildy better as had been 'refurbished'. I can't help feel they need to buy higher quality products as our bathroom was very nice but the shower had already fallen off the wall so we had to prop it on the shower rail and sit under it or hold it whilst in the shower, and the carpet whilst attractive didnt have any underlay so would wear quickly. The curtains were the old 1990's patterened ones without any liners so didnt really keep out the light.

We tried to use the sauna, but it wasn't working. We didnt try the pool.

Long walk into town as well which cost money in taxis. Is close to fistral beach though.

Room Tip: Ok if you get a refurbed room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bryony S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mrhoward66, Guest Relations Manager at The Pentire Hotel, responded to this review, 7 September 2011
Thank you for posting a review. Our prime location overlooking Fistral beach is a highly desirable spot. As such, a small range of luxury deluxe apartments are being built. However, this is next door to our hotel and offers no interruption to any areas or facilities. All rooms are being refurbished, with majority now completed. New curtains are all lined, our carpets all have underlay fitted and we now have new telephones in each room. In fact, we’ve just been awarded 3 Stars as a result of all of these improvements. We advertise that we are 1 mile outside of Newquay town centre overlooking the beach. It’s a 10-15 minute walk into town, however there’s a handy bus stop outside the hotel – a short trip and a direct solution if you don’t want to walk or take a quick taxi ride. We have no records of the sauna being broken however the instructions say to allow approx. 15 minutes to heat up if you are the first to use it. None of our hotel photographs have ever been tampered with in Photoshop and accurately represent what we offer, with no exceptions. Our pool is extremely popular with all guests – we’re sure you would have loved it if you had tried it. We hope to welcome you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

913 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    382
    336
    131
    42
    22
See reviews for
183
452
51
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (341)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2011

My wife, myself and my parents stayed in the Pentire hotel for four nights in July. We found most of the staff to be friendly, when I say most....one just didn't seem to want to make an effort, but we all have bad days. The breakfast was mostly buffet except for the cooked breakfast, but they had a good choice. The bar was quite modern and sold local ales (Tribute) and cider. There was entertainment on each night and were of a good standard. You could sit out in the sun at the rear of the hotel or on the bar sun terrace at the front of the hotel. We didn't use the swimming pool but it looked really good and there seemed enough to do for children. The rooms are clean, just big enough for two and have nice en-suite bathrooms. We also had a view at the rear of the hotel and could actually see the sea from our bed, which was nice. If I was going to be critical the hallways look lived in and it would be good if they bounced the wireless up to the higher floors.

I have read many reviews about this hotel and people have said "Good value for money", and I totally agree, it is. My parents who are in their 70's loved the place. We have stayed in other 4 star hotels in Newquay (Atlantic) where the rooms are huge and contemporary decorated, massive beds and big plasma televisions, luxurious bathrooms with glass hand basins, the breakfast all buffet style with quality produce. This comes at a cost of £130-£150 per night. We paid approx £85 per night at the Pentire and therefore cannot expect to get the same comforts as four star hotels. I have read some reviews complaining about the hotel, its simple, if you want top class high quality hotel rooms pay more money, but we definitely feel we got value for money and we will return to this hotel in the future.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nsimster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mrhoward66, Guest Relations Manager at The Pentire Hotel, responded to this review, 9 September 2011
Many thanks for your comments. Glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We've been making lots of improvements and listening carefully to our guests. Quality upgrades to all of our rooms are nearly all completed now and include flat screen televisions, new furniture & curtains, beautiful new bathrooms & internal dial telephones. The investments don't stop there. New on-site beauty salon, hair salon and Garra Ruffa Fish foot spa facilities have also just opened. We're focusing on our dining area too, with smart new tables creating a more contemporary look and feel. All our efforts have recently been recognised with a 3 Star accreditation from Visit Britain. We are also looking to extend our wifi internet access to all hotel areas in the next few months. We'd love to welcome you back again soon. Many thanks again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kettering, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2011

Location is ideal, 5 minute walk to the beach and 10 minute walk into town.
Staff were friendly and happy to help. Had a look at the pool which looked nice and clean although we didnt get an opportunity to use it.
Breakfast was just right.

Only slight negative was that the walls seemed to be quite thin, person in the next room had news channel on from 6am and going on until late and i could hear every word!
That aside, I would DEFINITELY go back to the hotel if I was to go to Newquay again.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RhiRhi0102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manchester
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2011

The pentire tries hard and the staff are very nice but essentially, this is quite an average hotel. Handy for the beach but about 15 minutes from the town centre, the place is fairly shabby and really could do with a makeover. Our first room smelt of feet, our second was much better.
The food is pretty poor, catering for people with little culinary range. We asked for some balsamic vinegar for our salad and was told they didn't have any.
The pool is very nice and the bar is sizeable. The evening acts are utterly cringeworthy though and to be avoided. They alos have TV on a running loop on News 24, with subtitles. Why? Who knows...
This place caters to the elderly more easily than the young, but some familiies were here.
So-so, nothing special.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wigman2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mrhoward66, Guest Relations Manager at The Pentire Hotel, responded to this review, 7 September 2011
Many thanks for posting a review and offering us some feedback. In reply, we do advertise that we are 1 mile outside of Newquay town centre overlooking Fistral beach. There is a handy bus stop outside the hotel – only a short ride and a direct solution if you don’t want to walk or take a short taxi ride. We are sorry to hear that you didn’t like our food or the free entertainment provided. We make great effort to cater for all age ranges and for all tastes. We attract a wide range of guests including surfers, younger families and couples, majority enjoy our facilities and offer positive feedback on value, location and service. Many do return, which is the biggest compliment that we can receive.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2011

Had a great holiday , the location was spot on for Fistral beach and the beautiful Pentire coast. The hotel has a homely feel to it. Furniture and carpets are worn however the place is clean and comfortable.Food was very good although service could be improved, we felt forgotten at times and maybe they could manage a smile?
Rooms were spacious with plenty of storage. The toiletries were nice and the tea/coffee tray was good. Rooms had flat screen tvs.
Swimming pool was lovely.
This is a very relaxed hotel, if you're not too picky you will enjoy.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joeboxer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mrhoward66, Guest Relations Manager at The Pentire Hotel, responded to this review, 30 August 2011
Really pleased that you had a 'Great' holiday at our hotel and thank you for your feedback. We are making many improvements at the hotel and continually investing in our facilities - something that many guests are noticing when they return and also recognised by 3 Stars from Visit Britain recently. Do come back and visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2011

This trip was part of my birthday present! My partner surprised me with it, and told me we were going to the Relentless Boardmasters Festival, and I was STOKED! Anyways, when we eventually arrived at the hotel, I was taken back by the poor exterior of the hotel, it looked like it needed a lick of paint, but at this point in time, I just thought, the jury's still out. Its fine. Then when we went to check in, we were told, 'normal' check in hours was at 3 pm, and we were made to wait 30 minutes for the receptionist to find out 'if the room was ready' only to be told that it wasnt. When we did eventually get to access our room, the hallway was very creaky and narrow, and had a funny smell to it. When we got to our room, we thought 'oh god what had we let ourselves in for' but when we opened to door it didnt look too bad as we thought it was going to, it felt cozy. However, the bathroom let it down. No power shower, and the curtains looked like it had been there since the 1980's. The walls are also a bit think :) When we looked up the photos of the hotel on the internet, because my partner had said if he knew that this place actually looked nothing like the photos on the internet, he would have never booked it. The bit that hurt the most, the 4.5 star hotel worked out to cost the same (it was £180 per room pernight instead of £180 per person at the Pentire). The 'fitness centre', welll... the swimming pool and the 1 person sauna, like the rest of the hotel let it down. Breakfast.. well until the last morning that I had it ,no complaints whatsoever, until i found a strand of hair in my breakfast, which I sent back, and got given a new one. I personally do not mind the hotel, but because the photos on the website had no true bearing of the hotel, I would not come back.

Room Tip: Try asking for the 'sea' facing rooms, the seagulls wont wake you up too much in the morning...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kbree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mrhoward66, Guest Relations Manager at The Pentire Hotel, responded to this review, 7 September 2011
Thank you for posting a review. We are sorry to hear that you didn’t enjoy your stay on this occasion. To add some balance, if guests arrive much earlier than our 3pm check-in time, we endeavor to make their room available as soon as possible. Whilst doing this, guests are always made very welcome and are free to use all hotel facilities. We do not advertise ‘power showers’ in our bathrooms and make no claims to offer a ‘Fitness Centre’. We do however have brilliant leisure facilities including an indoor heated pool, table tennis and a dry sauna that can comfortably seat 3 people. Every photograph used on our website and in our brochure reflects exactly what we have to offer, and without any exceptions. Our short break packages offer amazing value for money. Most include dinner, bed, breakfast and entertainment over 2, 3 or 4 nights. We assume that you are mistaken about the actual cost of your stay with us. We continue to invest and make many improvements with majority of our rooms now completely refurbished.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surbiton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2011

We recently returned from our third visit to the Pentire Hotel. Each year it keeps improving with its ongoing upgrade of the decor. I was lucky enough to stay in one of the newly decorated rooms and it was lovely, no sea view this time, but if you are lucky enough to get one, the views of Fistral beach are great. I think it is good value for money on a dinner bed and breakfast basis. The food is plentiful, it may not be fine dining but after a day out on the beach it's great to come back to the hotel knowing you are going to be well fed! Good selection for each course at dinner with a vegetarian option. Breakfast is the same, good selection and the eggs are always perfectly cooked. I like the fact that you keep the same table all the way through your holiday. It's a bonus to have a pool when you have children to entertain, especially on a rainy day. It may not be big enough to do lengths but it certainly serves its purpose. The evening entertainment can be a bit hit or miss depending on your tastes (I think they cater for the more mature guest!) but there is always the option of going downstairs to play table tennis, pool, cards etc or if it's a nice night a walk along the beach or into town. We did decide to dine out one evening, just for a change, and the receptionist recommended we try Little Italy which was fantastic, I've left a good review for them also! The main reason for returning to this hotel for the third year running is their welcoming, helpful and friendly staff. They are a real credit to the hotel and its owners. The restaurant staff were great and Katie did a lovely job of being our waitress, very pleasant and helpful, thank you! The reception team who dealt with all our enquiries promptly and professionally. The domestic staff who make your room absolutely spotless every day. The management who were very quick and efficient with resolving a couple of problems that we had. And, of course, 'Dan the Man' (and his prize winning guinea pigs!), probably the best barman in Newquay! What he doesn't know about Harry Potter isn't worth knowing! Thanks for another great stay and we'll hopefully see you again soon :o)

Room Tip: If your a light sleeper bring ear plugs as the seagulls are loud!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emma G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mrhoward66, Guest Relations Manager at The Pentire Hotel, responded to this review, 30 August 2011
That's really lovely feedback for all the team at the hotel to receive. Thank you for posting a review about your recent stay with us. Have you considered spending Christmas or your New Years celebrations at The Pentire Hotel... We have some great deals, it's such a fantastic atmosphere and lots of fun. Do come back and see us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newquay hotels
0.2 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
1.1 mi away
The Atlantic Hotel
The Atlantic Hotel
#10 of 38 in Newquay
1,001 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#6 of 38 in Newquay
1,345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
1.6 mi away
Great Western Hotel
Great Western Hotel
#12 of 38 in Newquay
845 reviews
1.4 mi away
Legacy Hotel Victoria - Newquay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pentire Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pentire Hotel

Property: The Pentire Hotel
Address: 60 Pentire Avenue, Newquay TR7 1NU, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Newquay
#9 Business Hotel in Newquay
#9 Family Hotel in Newquay
#14 Romantic Hotel in Newquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Pentire Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the Pentire headland in Newquay, just a mile from town centre, we have spectacular Fistral beach views. The River Gannel estuary and south west coast path is on our doorstep so we're ideally positioned for surfers, families or groups. Facilities include an indoor heated pool, steam room, childrens play area, beauty salon, fitness studio and a friendly bar. Licenced for Civil Weddings, we provide a beautiful venue for Weddings and receptions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Priceline, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Pentire Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pentire Hotel Newquay
The Pentire Hotel Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing