We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent value & v helpful staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Pentire Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Pentire Hotel
Ranked #10 of 38 Hotels in Newquay
Certificate of Excellence
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent value & v helpful staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2011

I booked here as it was the only place I could find a room at short notice. However I have to say I was pleasantly surprised. The room had all the facilites you could want with an immaculate en-suite. The swimming pool was an excellent bonus. The staff were extremely helpful and happy to assist with any queries. I enquired about an evening meal , unaware service was about to end. However they were still provided an excellent 3 course meal at a terrific price. Excellent value all round and I'd be happy to book here again

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Red2wenty2wo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mrhoward66, Guest Relations Manager at The Pentire Hotel, responded to this review, 12 September 2011
Many thanks for your kind comments and taking the time to write a review about your recent stay with us. We hope you will return again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

880 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    375
    324
    121
    38
    22
See reviews for
176
430
50
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (330)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2011

We stayed at this Hotel with a Coach Tour from Scotland. We found the Hotel very nice, the room we had was what you would expect. The room was clean and the bathroom was fine. The only fault with the room was there was not enought hanging space for a seven night stay, there was plenty of drawer space. The food was very good, there was something for everyone, and there was plenty. The Staff were very friendly and helpful. The Hotel is out of Town which is good as Newquay on Friday and Saturday is very noisy.
If I was everck in Newquay I would have no problem staying at this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tweed10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mrhoward66, Guest Relations Manager at The Pentire Hotel, responded to this review, 12 September 2011
Thanks so much for writing a review about your recent stay with us. We're ideally suited to cater for the needs of holiday groups, with 75 well appointed hotel rooms, leisure facilities and lovely views of Fistral beach. Glad that you enjoyed your holiday in Newquay with us. Do come back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torquay, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2011

I stayed at this hotel with my family. The staff were very friendly and welcoming, making a lovely atmosphere throughout for me and my children. The pool was excellent along with all the other facilities provided. Our room was spacious, lovely and clean and the food quality was of high standard. We will definitely be returning in the future and I would certainly recommend it. The bonus was being a 4 minute walk to Fistral Beach.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lorna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mrhoward66, Guest Relations Manager at The Pentire Hotel, responded to this review, 12 September 2011
Good to hear that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us. We're so proud of our hotel team and will pass on your kind comments to them. We look forward to welcoming you all back again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stourbridge
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2011

The room was adequate but there was a problem with the water pressure which meant that the shower did not work properly. The food was good with there being a choice of four evening meals and a hearty breakfast. Staff were all helpful and friendly. One of our four nights was spoilt by youths coming in and being noisy at 4 o'clock in the morning.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank callmehetty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mrhoward66, Guest Relations Manager at The Pentire Hotel, responded to this review, 9 September 2011
Really pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We would love to welcome you back again. Very sorry to hear that you were disturbed on one night. We've replaced all water filters now and this has improved our water pressure - thank you for bringing this to our attention. Do come back and visit us again soon - we've some outstanding short break offers available - and Christmas and New Year is always special and great fun here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nottingham
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2011

We booked pentire as it had a pool and a sauna, and the rooms seemed clean and fresh.

Not so much.

We arrived to a building site but thankfully being the bankholiday the builders were not on the premises. Having booked our rooms together we were allocated one on the first floor (opposite the door to the stairs, and had a gap under the door so not very private) and one on the third floor.

Third floor room was disgraceful, bathroom dingy and then when my friend drew the curtains they fell down on her. The new room she got offered was covered in mould so she declined that and asked them to fix the rail instead. They told her "oh yes this happens quite a lot, we need new curtain rails!" Her shower then ceased to work only to be told, "we're at the top of the hill and your on the third floor so theres probably not the water pressure to have a shower at the minute......"

Our room was mildy better as had been 'refurbished'. I can't help feel they need to buy higher quality products as our bathroom was very nice but the shower had already fallen off the wall so we had to prop it on the shower rail and sit under it or hold it whilst in the shower, and the carpet whilst attractive didnt have any underlay so would wear quickly. The curtains were the old 1990's patterened ones without any liners so didnt really keep out the light.

We tried to use the sauna, but it wasn't working. We didnt try the pool.

Long walk into town as well which cost money in taxis. Is close to fistral beach though.

Room Tip: Ok if you get a refurbed room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bryony S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mrhoward66, Guest Relations Manager at The Pentire Hotel, responded to this review, 7 September 2011
Thank you for posting a review. Our prime location overlooking Fistral beach is a highly desirable spot. As such, a small range of luxury deluxe apartments are being built. However, this is next door to our hotel and offers no interruption to any areas or facilities. All rooms are being refurbished, with majority now completed. New curtains are all lined, our carpets all have underlay fitted and we now have new telephones in each room. In fact, we’ve just been awarded 3 Stars as a result of all of these improvements. We advertise that we are 1 mile outside of Newquay town centre overlooking the beach. It’s a 10-15 minute walk into town, however there’s a handy bus stop outside the hotel – a short trip and a direct solution if you don’t want to walk or take a quick taxi ride. We have no records of the sauna being broken however the instructions say to allow approx. 15 minutes to heat up if you are the first to use it. None of our hotel photographs have ever been tampered with in Photoshop and accurately represent what we offer, with no exceptions. Our pool is extremely popular with all guests – we’re sure you would have loved it if you had tried it. We hope to welcome you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2011

My wife, myself and my parents stayed in the Pentire hotel for four nights in July. We found most of the staff to be friendly, when I say most....one just didn't seem to want to make an effort, but we all have bad days. The breakfast was mostly buffet except for the cooked breakfast, but they had a good choice. The bar was quite modern and sold local ales (Tribute) and cider. There was entertainment on each night and were of a good standard. You could sit out in the sun at the rear of the hotel or on the bar sun terrace at the front of the hotel. We didn't use the swimming pool but it looked really good and there seemed enough to do for children. The rooms are clean, just big enough for two and have nice en-suite bathrooms. We also had a view at the rear of the hotel and could actually see the sea from our bed, which was nice. If I was going to be critical the hallways look lived in and it would be good if they bounced the wireless up to the higher floors.

I have read many reviews about this hotel and people have said "Good value for money", and I totally agree, it is. My parents who are in their 70's loved the place. We have stayed in other 4 star hotels in Newquay (Atlantic) where the rooms are huge and contemporary decorated, massive beds and big plasma televisions, luxurious bathrooms with glass hand basins, the breakfast all buffet style with quality produce. This comes at a cost of £130-£150 per night. We paid approx £85 per night at the Pentire and therefore cannot expect to get the same comforts as four star hotels. I have read some reviews complaining about the hotel, its simple, if you want top class high quality hotel rooms pay more money, but we definitely feel we got value for money and we will return to this hotel in the future.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nsimster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mrhoward66, Guest Relations Manager at The Pentire Hotel, responded to this review, 9 September 2011
Many thanks for your comments. Glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We've been making lots of improvements and listening carefully to our guests. Quality upgrades to all of our rooms are nearly all completed now and include flat screen televisions, new furniture & curtains, beautiful new bathrooms & internal dial telephones. The investments don't stop there. New on-site beauty salon, hair salon and Garra Ruffa Fish foot spa facilities have also just opened. We're focusing on our dining area too, with smart new tables creating a more contemporary look and feel. All our efforts have recently been recognised with a 3 Star accreditation from Visit Britain. We are also looking to extend our wifi internet access to all hotel areas in the next few months. We'd love to welcome you back again soon. Many thanks again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kettering, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2011

Location is ideal, 5 minute walk to the beach and 10 minute walk into town.
Staff were friendly and happy to help. Had a look at the pool which looked nice and clean although we didnt get an opportunity to use it.
Breakfast was just right.

Only slight negative was that the walls seemed to be quite thin, person in the next room had news channel on from 6am and going on until late and i could hear every word!
That aside, I would DEFINITELY go back to the hotel if I was to go to Newquay again.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RhiRhi0102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newquay hotels
0.8 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
0.3 mi away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#5 of 38 in Newquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,300 reviews
0.2 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Great Western Hotel
Great Western Hotel
#11 of 38 in Newquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 804 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Atlantic Hotel
The Atlantic Hotel
#7 of 38 in Newquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 974 reviews
1.4 mi away
Legacy Hotel Victoria - Newquay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pentire Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pentire Hotel

Property: The Pentire Hotel
Address: 60 Pentire Avenue, Newquay TR7 1NU, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Newquay
#9 Business Hotel in Newquay
#9 Family Hotel in Newquay
#14 Romantic Hotel in Newquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Pentire Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the Pentire headland in Newquay, just a mile from town centre, we have spectacular Fistral beach views. The River Gannel estuary and south west coast path is on our doorstep so we're ideally positioned for surfers, families or groups. Facilities include an indoor heated pool, steam room, childrens play area, beauty salon, fitness studio and a friendly bar. Licenced for Civil Weddings, we provide a beautiful venue for Weddings and receptions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Pentire Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pentire Hotel Newquay
The Pentire Hotel Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing