We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good trip”
Review of The Pentire Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Pentire Hotel
Ranked #12 of 37 Hotels in Newquay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 March 2012

We booked a three night stay for £79 bed breakfast and three course evening meal, its only a three star but the staff were excellent and the food very good we would return there if we going back to cornwall

Room Tip: sea view rooms are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mitchells33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (988)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

827 - 833 of 989 reviews

Reviewed 28 February 2012

Stayed here for 3 nights dinner bed and breakfast for £79 each on the Travelzoo offer. We had room 222, which was not like one shown on hotel web site. The decor was dated, thin curtains, one window had toilet paper stuffed round it, only one bedside table and all furniture was marked, the carpet was stained (red nail polish I think), cracked bath panel and the thing that amazed us most was the clear glass in the bathroom window, we had to keep the blind drawn all the time as we were on the front of the hotel, so could have been very embarrassing! The rest of the hotel was fine. the food was very good and the service was excellent (Neil was our waiter and he was 1st class) I do realise we had a cheap deal, but the rooms do not up dating. We were going to say something when we checked out but the receptionist was already dealing with someone complaining that they had no hot water and could not connect to the internet. Would not have paid full price to stay here.

Room Tip: Not 222 as has clear glass in the bathroom window!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank alfie101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2012

On the whole the weekend proved to be very good value for money due to the offer of £79 per person for half board.

The rooms were ok, spacious and clean however some seemed to have been done up more so than others. Our friend’s bathroom looked as though it was in need of some updating and the overall hotel decor was looking fairly dated.

The meals were good, you don’t get a vast amount but you can’t really expect a lot for £79. You get a choice of 3 starters, mains, puddings and then coffee. We didn’t really have a bad experience with any of the food and the cooked breakfast was really nice!

The main downside of the stay was the pool area...it definitely was not a nice experience. The floor seemed unhygienic and the pool itself was not very clean. The changing rooms were small, again unclean with rusty patches on the floor. It was not somewhere that I would want to have taken children. This was a real shame as the rest of the hotel on the whole was nice and seemed to have been touched up.

Overall, a pleasant stay apart from the pool, couldn't fault the price but unsure if we would visit again without the deal.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 143Traveller88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mrhoward66, Guest Relations at The Pentire Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 February 2012

Many thanks for posting a review about your recent stay with us. We have some really brilliant hotel offers providing excellent value for money. So much so that we've be twice as busy as last year - which is fabulous news. We are upgrading all of our hotel rooms and the changing room areas are also getting a make-over too - planned for next week. The swimming pool itself is always immaculately clean and extremely popular with majority of all our guests. We do hope you will come back and visit us again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2012

We stayed here for three days from 19 to 21 feb 2012. Our first room had a problem with the ensuite; the shower over bath had a crack in the bath base. We flagged this up with reception and were moved to another room which was excellent. It appears that the hotel is in the course of gradual refurbishment and it may be a matter of luck as to which room you get. However the rest of the hotel was fine, the staff were excellent and the food wouldn't be out of place in a four star establishment, excellent choice and fresh well presented dishes. The waiting and bar staff are polite and attentive.
As a value for money stay this was a big success, thoroughly reccomended.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank billord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2012

We stayed at the Pentire Hotel for 3 nights on a special deal. The hotel is in a fabulous position in Newquay and only a short walk from the beach. We found the staff extreemly helpful, the food was really good with so much choice and was very tasty. We had children with us and they loved the pool. We would certainly return to the hotel again. Very good value and have no complaints at all.

Room Tip: would need to ask for sea view if thats what you would like.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jacqueline G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2012

Just returned from a 3 night stay. It's a great hotel, the staff are great both at reception, in reception and at the bar. Rooms were good, clean and well kept. Would stay here again and recommend. Only gripe was the pool area. The changing rooms weren't pleasant and the pool area has a blue carpet around it which was always damp. But don't let this put you off. If you want a great hotel this is it but please sort the pool area out...

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Caps2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mrhoward66, Guest Relations at The Pentire Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 February 2012

Many thanks for posting a review about your recent stay. We are upgrading all of our hotel rooms and the changing rooms for the pool are getting a make-over next week. The special blue carpet around the poolside is specifically designed for the purpose of catching the splashes - so it's completely normal for this to be damp. We hope to warmly welcome you back again to see us again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2012

We have just returned from a special 3 night deal stay at this hotel and to be honest from the start it was very good, basicly for what we paid it was extremely good value for money and would have no problem reccomending this hotel to anyone.
The food was first class and the rooms tidy and comfortable, if i had to make a critisism it would only be the changing rooms in the swimming area but hey if thats all i have to complain about then its still an exellent place to stay and i give it a 9 out of 10.

Room Tip: Go for a sea view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newquay hotels
1.4 mi away
Legacy Hotel Victoria - Newquay
0.2 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
0.8 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#5 of 37 in Newquay
1,448 reviews
1.6 mi away
Great Western Hotel
Great Western Hotel
#13 of 37 in Newquay
940 reviews
2.8 mi away
Sands Resort Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pentire Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pentire Hotel

Address: 60 Pentire Avenue, Newquay TR7 1NU, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Newquay
#9 Business Hotel in Newquay
#9 Family Hotel in Newquay
#14 Romantic Hotel in Newquay
Price Range: £42 - £117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Pentire Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the Pentire headland in Newquay, just a mile from town centre, we have spectacular Fistral beach views. The River Gannel estuary and south west coast path is on our doorstep so we're ideally positioned for surfers, families or groups. Facilities include an indoor heated pool, steam room, childrens play area, beauty salon, fitness studio and a friendly bar. Licenced for Civil Weddings, we provide a beautiful venue for Weddings and receptions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Stayforlong S.L., Hotels.com, Expedia, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Pentire Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pentire Hotel Newquay
The Pentire Hotel Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing