We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A pleasant surprise”
Review of The Pentire Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Pentire Hotel
Ranked #11 of 38 Hotels in Newquay
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A pleasant surprise”
Reviewed 22 April 2012

I stayed for one night, on a Thursday. Because the price was so very reasonable, I expected very little. I got a warm welcome, even at 11.30 pm,a small (single) but spotless room and bathroom, a comfortable bed with good bedlinen, tea and coffee making facilities and a hairdryer. The hotel was quiet, and in the morning I had a cooked breakfast included in the price and a cheerful farewell from the desk staff. Couldn't ask for more, really, as an overnight stop.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Londoner77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

915 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    382
    337
    132
    42
    22
See reviews for
183
454
51
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (341)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rocky Point, New York
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2012

We chose this hotel based on it's excellent package of bed, breakfast and dinner. It was special because we were getting married down in Cornwall and wanted a really nice hotel. We paid extra to upgrade to a sea view room. Although the view was spectacular and we did have the best weather of the year we still found ourselves disappointed. The headboard kept banging at night and woke us up from our sleep and there were other issues. The dinners left a bit to be desired with basic chicken and tomato sauce and then "Eton Mess" for dessert. The Eton mess had no merange, half a strawberry and cream. The breakfast was incredibly disappointing as it did not beging before 8am which is unorthodox for most hotels, making it very difficult to get ready when you need to be on the road very early in the morning. We were surprised that they also stated they had a spa when it turned out to be a pool and a sauna that was not working. Also the towels from the pool had to be left downstairs and no robes were provided as it was a very cold walk back up to the room. We would have to say if the staff weren't above my expectations we probably would have given a lower rating than three. The hairdresser, beautician and waiter (Nick, a really nice guy who actually could recite the entire drinks menu from the bar) were a 10 out of 10. The facilities and food just left a lot to be desired.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank calphurnia7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mrhoward66, Guest Relations at The Pentire Hotel, responded to this review, 17 April 2012
We are very sorry to hear that your recent stay didn’t meet expectations. We were unaware that your headboard was creating noise and would have rectified immediately if you had let us know. We don’t claim that we have a hotel spa, however our hotel leisure facilities do include an indoor heated pool and sauna. We apologise that our sauna wasn’t working for a very short period. This rarely happens and all is now working again. We don’t provide robes as we are not a spa, however there are changing facilities around the pool area, so you can dry off and change without needing to go to your room. Really pleased that you like our additional hotel facilities (beautician and our hairdresser). We now also have a Happy Feet ‘foot’ spa and fitness studio facilities to try too.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2012

This is the third time we have stayed at the Pentire, the last time being 3 years ago. A considerable amount of money has been spent refurbishing the bedrooms, public rooms and lift. We stayed on a half board basis and the food in the restaurant on the evening was to a good standard with a choice of 3 starters, mains and sweets. The breakfast was likewise good with lots of alternatives. The staff were extremely friendly and accommodating.
We took our 4 year old Westie dog with us as there are 5 bedrooms allocated for people with pets. Dogs were only allowed in the bedrooms and lobby/reception area. They were supposedly not allowed in the bar area which seemed a bit crazy but as our dog was well behaved and we were spending a lot on alchohol we were allowed in.
The hotel is well situated being very close to a lovely open walking area with lovely views all round great for the dog. It was also just a short walk to Fistral beach.

The bedrooms are of a good standard with flat screen tv`s and tea making facilities. The beds are extremely comfortable.

The main room which previously was all open to the bar has now been segregated off to create a bar/cafe (RUNES) on the front of the hotel. This obviouslyu makes good business sense trying to attract passing amd local trade. However it falls down on the food it serves and consequently is very rarely used during the day. We decided to use it for lunch and had to ask someone at reception to come and take our order. We ordered a cheese Ploughmans Lunch which was very poor quality and consisted of a bit of lettuce, tomato, roll, pickle and processed cheese slices yuk. The following day we ordered a cream tea consisting of 2 nice skones, clotted cream and jam. A pot of tea arrived with tubes of UHT milk. The tea tasted revolting and when i asked the staff if they had fresh milk they obligingly went into the kitchen and came back with a cup of tea with fresh milk which was delightful. They really need to crank up there act if they want the cafe to work.
Despite that the hotel is great value for money and would certainly recommend anyone to stay there.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FunnyboneEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mrhoward66, Guest Relations at The Pentire Hotel, responded to this review, 13 April 2012
Our greatest pleasure is when our guests return to stay with us. Thank you. We are also delighted that you have noticed the investments and many improvements that we have been undertaking. Lots of new hotel leisure facilities and refurbishments now completed. It was our mistake that we served UHT milk with your cream tea. We always serve this with fresh milk. Sorry that you didn’t enjoy the cheese. We have noted your comments and will look to improve on this. Thank you for your feedback and we look forward to warmly welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
163 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2012

I strongly believe that Trip Advisor should delete reviews that are over one year old.
For several years we saw the Pentire Hotel offers on Travelzoo and read the reviews. Then last year as the reviews got better we booked the Travelzoo offer.
We were not disappointed then or on our recent visit.
Everyone concerned has, and is, working hard to provide a great holiday experience, and we would have no hesitation in recommending The Pentire Hotel.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tommo47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wisbech, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2012

I have just stayed at this hotel. Single room very small but very clean and has everything you need. Not much room to hang clothes though. Heated indoor swimming pool very nice. Tea and coffee replenished daily. Food good and big portions. Staff very pleasant and helpful. About a mile from Newquay.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MEP462
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rhoose south wales
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2012

we stayed at this hotel for 3 nights .about 2 weeks ago, and although the bed rooms are looking very tired we had a fabulous time, somes of the hotel areas have already been revamped. so not all the areas were tatty. but the staff couldn't do enough, and the meals were all very nice we could not complain. the breakfasts were ample, cooked continental,fruit cerials
yogurt, so for what we payed ( as it was a special offer ) we were over the moon. the evening meals were 3 courses of home cooked food. we went with friends and we all had a great time.beautiful sea views, but the down side very noisy sea gulls internet didn't work in the bed rooms.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heather P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carmarthen, Wales, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 March 2012

We stayed here on a 3 night break for my 35th Birthday, the staff were more than friendly and welcoming - nothing was too much, the rooms clean and tidy - food, hats off to the chef and the waiters/waitresses you were so attentive and friendly, The hotel itself could do with a lil renovation if i am honest, as it is looking a bit tired, but overall i would definitely recommend it to family, friends and whoever else is looking for a coach trip or a few days away, they even have allocated rooms for pet lovers, we met David a schitzpoo he was adorable - no smells or mess to be found i must add, the 'happy feet' was a weird but pleasant experience. I would definitely recommend this hotel for anyone wanting a few days away, well i will be back! They did provide entertainment but we didn't go to these so i am unable to comment here but the food was soooo good. Go and enjoy. :-))

Room Tip: Corner suites have more light.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clare I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mrhoward66, Guest Relations at The Pentire Hotel, responded to this review, 9 March 2012
Thanks for your review about your recent stay. Glad that you enjoyed your Birthday break with us. The kitchen team work hard and produce some really great food. We've just changed our sausage supplier too, so our Cornish cooked breakfasts are now even more delicious! Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newquay hotels
0.2 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
0.3 mi away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#6 of 38 in Newquay
1,347 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Atlantic Hotel
The Atlantic Hotel
#10 of 38 in Newquay
1,003 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
1.6 mi away
Great Western Hotel
Great Western Hotel
#12 of 38 in Newquay
850 reviews
0.8 mi away
Longbeach Hotel
Longbeach Hotel
#26 of 38 in Newquay
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pentire Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pentire Hotel

Property: The Pentire Hotel
Address: 60 Pentire Avenue, Newquay TR7 1NU, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Newquay
#9 Family Hotel in Newquay
#9 Business Hotel in Newquay
#14 Romantic Hotel in Newquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Pentire Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the Pentire headland in Newquay, just a mile from town centre, we have spectacular Fistral beach views. The River Gannel estuary and south west coast path is on our doorstep so we're ideally positioned for surfers, families or groups. Facilities include an indoor heated pool, steam room, childrens play area, beauty salon, fitness studio and a friendly bar. Licenced for Civil Weddings, we provide a beautiful venue for Weddings and receptions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, Agoda, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Pentire Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pentire Hotel Newquay
The Pentire Hotel Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing