We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Pentire Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$189
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$183
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$179
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$173
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Minerva Hotel(Newquay)(Great Value!)
US$93
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$160
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$155
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$76
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
US$56
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$52
Priceline
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
US$93
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$82
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Esplanade Hotel(Newquay)(Great Value!)
US$140
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$136
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travelodge Newquay Seafront Hotel(Newquay)(Great Value!)
US$66
Travelodge
View Deal
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
US$254
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$245
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,030)
Filter reviews
1,030 results
Traveller rating
424
374
153
50
29
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
424
374
153
50
29
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfistral beachsea viewsteam roomswimming poolhalf boardcoach partycourse evening mealcoach tripfriendly hoteltable tennischanging roomsbreakfast and dinnerweekend breakreception staffsingle roomfantastic valuewalk into town
Filter
Updating list...
858 - 863 of 1,030 reviews
Reviewed 3 May 2012 via mobile

We were in pentire and the staff was very nice, the room was very clean, towels were change daily, but their wifi can be access only at the lobby area, and breakfast was good, but very little basically table spoon of baked beans, two mushrooms, one egg, one sausage and one bacon, apart from that we enjoyed our self.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fanjay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mrhoward66, Guest Relations at The Pentire Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2012

Thank you for your feedback and glad that you enjoyed yourselves during your stay with us. We do serve a 'standard sized' Cornish cooked breakfast. Majority are usually full and satisfied after toast, tea or coffee. If guests would like a little more, just ask - always very happy to oblige.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2012

I stayed for one night, on a Thursday. Because the price was so very reasonable, I expected very little. I got a warm welcome, even at 11.30 pm,a small (single) but spotless room and bathroom, a comfortable bed with good bedlinen, tea and coffee making facilities and a hairdryer. The hotel was quiet, and in the morning I had a cooked breakfast included in the price and a cheerful farewell from the desk staff. Couldn't ask for more, really, as an overnight stop.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Londoner77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2012

We chose this hotel based on it's excellent package of bed, breakfast and dinner. It was special because we were getting married down in Cornwall and wanted a really nice hotel. We paid extra to upgrade to a sea view room. Although the view was spectacular and we did have the best weather of the year we still found ourselves disappointed. The headboard kept banging at night and woke us up from our sleep and there were other issues. The dinners left a bit to be desired with basic chicken and tomato sauce and then "Eton Mess" for dessert. The Eton mess had no merange, half a strawberry and cream. The breakfast was incredibly disappointing as it did not beging before 8am which is unorthodox for most hotels, making it very difficult to get ready when you need to be on the road very early in the morning. We were surprised that they also stated they had a spa when it turned out to be a pool and a sauna that was not working. Also the towels from the pool had to be left downstairs and no robes were provided as it was a very cold walk back up to the room. We would have to say if the staff weren't above my expectations we probably would have given a lower rating than three. The hairdresser, beautician and waiter (Nick, a really nice guy who actually could recite the entire drinks menu from the bar) were a 10 out of 10. The facilities and food just left a lot to be desired.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank calphurnia7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mrhoward66, Guest Relations at The Pentire Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2012

We are very sorry to hear that your recent stay didn’t meet expectations. We were unaware that your headboard was creating noise and would have rectified immediately if you had let us know. We don’t claim that we have a hotel spa, however our hotel leisure facilities do include an indoor heated pool and sauna. We apologise that our sauna wasn’t working for a very short period. This rarely happens and all is now working again. We don’t provide robes as we are not a spa, however there are changing facilities around the pool area, so you can dry off and change without needing to go to your room. Really pleased that you like our additional hotel facilities (beautician and our hairdresser). We now also have a Happy Feet ‘foot’ spa and fitness studio facilities to try too.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2012

This is the third time we have stayed at the Pentire, the last time being 3 years ago. A considerable amount of money has been spent refurbishing the bedrooms, public rooms and lift. We stayed on a half board basis and the food in the restaurant on the evening was to a good standard with a choice of 3 starters, mains and sweets. The breakfast was likewise good with lots of alternatives. The staff were extremely friendly and accommodating.
We took our 4 year old Westie dog with us as there are 5 bedrooms allocated for people with pets. Dogs were only allowed in the bedrooms and lobby/reception area. They were supposedly not allowed in the bar area which seemed a bit crazy but as our dog was well behaved and we were spending a lot on alchohol we were allowed in.
The hotel is well situated being very close to a lovely open walking area with lovely views all round great for the dog. It was also just a short walk to Fistral beach.

The bedrooms are of a good standard with flat screen tv`s and tea making facilities. The beds are extremely comfortable.

The main room which previously was all open to the bar has now been segregated off to create a bar/cafe (RUNES) on the front of the hotel. This obviouslyu makes good business sense trying to attract passing amd local trade. However it falls down on the food it serves and consequently is very rarely used during the day. We decided to use it for lunch and had to ask someone at reception to come and take our order. We ordered a cheese Ploughmans Lunch which was very poor quality and consisted of a bit of lettuce, tomato, roll, pickle and processed cheese slices yuk. The following day we ordered a cream tea consisting of 2 nice skones, clotted cream and jam. A pot of tea arrived with tubes of UHT milk. The tea tasted revolting and when i asked the staff if they had fresh milk they obligingly went into the kitchen and came back with a cup of tea with fresh milk which was delightful. They really need to crank up there act if they want the cafe to work.
Despite that the hotel is great value for money and would certainly recommend anyone to stay there.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FunnyboneEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mrhoward66, Guest Relations at The Pentire Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2012

Our greatest pleasure is when our guests return to stay with us. Thank you. We are also delighted that you have noticed the investments and many improvements that we have been undertaking. Lots of new hotel leisure facilities and refurbishments now completed. It was our mistake that we served UHT milk with your cream tea. We always serve this with fresh milk. Sorry that you didn’t enjoy the cheese. We have noted your comments and will look to improve on this. Thank you for your feedback and we look forward to warmly welcoming you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2012

I strongly believe that Trip Advisor should delete reviews that are over one year old.
For several years we saw the Pentire Hotel offers on Travelzoo and read the reviews. Then last year as the reviews got better we booked the Travelzoo offer.
We were not disappointed then or on our recent visit.
Everyone concerned has, and is, working hard to provide a great holiday experience, and we would have no hesitation in recommending The Pentire Hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tommo47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews