We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Pentire Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Fairbank Hotel(Crantock)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,016)
Filter reviews
1,016 results
Traveller rating
419
371
149
49
28
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
419
371
149
49
28
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfistral beachsea viewsteam roomswimming poolhalf boardcoach partycourse evening mealcoach tripfriendly hoteltable tennischanging roomsbreakfast and dinnerweekend breakreception staffsingle roomfantastic valuewalk into town
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
827 - 832 of 1,016 reviews
Reviewed 25 July 2012

We went there on the 16th of July circa 2012 as part of a coach trip - well, would you drive nearly 400 miles as a start of an 'holiday'? - nar! - plus when you add the cost of go-go juice in the fuel tank of your car/projectile, it's cost effective in common sense terms to go by coach - and now that is out the way, the nitty gritty as they say.. Having stopped in quite a few hotels over many, many years we found this bit of a surprise to be honest as it was clean both inside and out (could name worse, oh deary me, yes..) and if anything there was no 'porter' to take the suitcases in but hey! - we are not Royal or part of the 'self styled elite', we get stuck in and if you can't take a suitcase to your room... On the bright side, there is a lift there - that works, yes, actually works!!!! - so its not all bad news. We had Room 208 and to coin a phrase, 'we could eat our dinner off the floor' as it was so, so clean would not be far off the truth but in the spirit of fairness, they do have a ample supply of plates and kindred other things to eat from plus supporting 'eating irons' by way of kerniffs, forks and spoons etc. The bed was brilliant, although we only used it to sleep in to be honest, came with clean sheets etc. that you would normally expect plus a real modern 26inch(?) flat screen gogglebox bolted to the wall with Freeview WITH a remote control that - yes, again - actually worked - ghorsh! - we were so overwent, we were with all the excitement.. The shower/toilet room was so, so clean it was amazing to be honest as dunno about you, but we seem to 'check' that said room out as a first thing when staying anywhere as this is nearly always a good indicator as to how the rest of the joint is - or should be plus we were intrusted with three, regulation issue bog rolls! - yes, THREE!!!! - it's rare to even get one and perhaps a bit left on the actual toilet roll holder which can be an issue if you intend sitting there for any length of time and make notes with a soft pointed pencil (this stops you carving holes in the paper itself and 'not a lot of peeple know dat' as that bloke with the glasses used to say in films). Having sorted out the room as such, its worth pointing out that the view is to die for - the coast line with the waves crashing in..the surfers..on those long boards and not keyboards in front of screens..make's you wanna bung a Beach Boys record on and start whistling to it - for those without their own teeth, ask Matron and I feel sure something could be sorted out.. Once we sorted ourselves out and had a quick shower each - its like a long one but shorter - it was time to nip down for Dinner. The menu was brilliaint with choice of starters, three choices of main meals plus ditto sweets etc and with coffee to finish - we have paid more and got worse at some places, believe me.. It should be pointed out that we found the Staff were/are fantasic and from the Reception Staff to the daily cleaners, they all had a smile and a kind word. One word has to be said about Aiden, who served us our meals, as he was BRILLIANT! - by brilliant I don't mean he had a gloss finish or anything - but nothing was too much trouble and he went the extra mile/kilo to get things as to how you/we wanted them and if he can keep this formula up, he will go places and by that I do not mean he has a Bus Pass.. The entertainment, which was free, was very good overall and if you get the chance to see local Cornish man Johnny Morse pwerform, please DO!!!! - the range of musical instruments he plays is astounding!. The only thing that was a pain was nothing to do with the hotel, no not at all but a couple of the passengers on our coach as I bring to you the exploits (some of them) of "Butch & Sundance". Can you immagine waiting for your coach to arrive and a couple of the village idiots are mere feet away from you and you mutter among youselves: "I do hope they are not on OUR coach!" and the Sod's Law says they are!. Well, this happened to others that were waiting further down the road 'in the chain' to us, but we didn't know it at the time of course. When they got on, to say they looked like something out of a 'supermarket trolley sweep' in a charity shop would not be too far from it but I would point out at this stage that Butch was female (as far as we can ascertain, without having access to an inspection ramp and ditto lamp..) with an exciting array of wardrobe in assorted colours and styles as we were to find out later that were very popular in the last century judging by photo's I have seen in those shiny Sunday newspaper magazines and Sundance in his jeans tucked into the tops of his cowboy/motorcycle boots was a cracker - Jeff Banks, eat yer heart out! - these are the new style icons!. For those looking for culture, its now time to walk the dog or polish your sink plunger as its down hill all the way now. So as we sat there in the dinning room, we were seated three tables away from Butch & Sundance and boy can that woman yak! - and LOUD! - as she found a target on the next table to yak about ANYTHING & EVERYTHING to! - most of it was a load of old shoemakers products but what you have to understand is that she is a woman (we think - Jury still out..) and can talk with a vocal range that just about anybody could hear within fifty yards/kilo's and discreet 'hints' like 'put a sock in it, fatty' went unheeded as she still rambled on and on and on. The woman she was 'talking' to was elderly and we all seemed to think her husband seated across from her had switched his hearing aid off before the consulation had started and was out of it completely. To see this event unfold at each mealtime was quite something as she seemed to master the art of being able to continue with talking non-stop and shovelling food down its neck without missing a beat as the kerniff and fork seemed to work like a Swiss watch as they never seemed to collide at any given point with her mouth and we assumed if such a thing did happen, the sparks would fall and set fire to the dinning room carpet.. While all this was going on, its worth pointing out that Sundance never said much, basically because the poor sod would not be able to get a word in edgeways. We shared the hotel with another coach party from Bonnie Scotland - the coach they arrived in had tartan smoke coming out the exhaust, so bit of a give-away! - and were seated up the other end of the large dinning room and even some of those could hear her chants yards/kilo's away.. One day we went on an excursion to St Ives and can you believe that Butch came back to the coach with a bucket - yes, you read right there, a bucket - and a curtain track she had found in a charity shop! - everybody else took in the local flavour but coming nearly 400 miles, we brought a bucket and a curtain track. The looks and comments from everybody on the coach was...well you wonder.. A word here about about driver Mally who was brilliant in many ways and a gem in being helpful - what that man took in his stride with these two escapees from 'Monty Python' is nobody's business but even he had to admit this was a 'first' in his book and his description of the Fantastic Two is not really printable here. One thing that came to light and as its in the 'public domain' now due to the high volume of her voice, it seems that Butch has been married - to men - before and it seems that one took his own life (please, modesty here as it could be one of your own..) and in that very area some years ago and on hearing this from her own foghorn, sorry mouth, we took an extra interest in Sundance as in 'just in case' as well, you don't know do you? - what makes anybody go snap - or even crackle and pop?... There were lots of other 'bits' that I could enthrall you with on these two but another time, another planet perhaps but final word was that when we left the Pentire that morning to come home, we felt that we were leaving a 'home from home' as we had no complaints, the Staff had been smashing and would we go back there again? - based on this adventure, YESSSSSSSS!!!! (but without Butch & Sundance of course..) Right then! - I must rest up now.

Room Tip: Room 208 or anything near it - brilliant views!!!!!
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2012

Hotel was nice. Room was small for a twin room, beds were uncomfortable. Television had very poor reception. Wonderful sea views from our room.

Hotel staff were very helpful and friendly. Meals were fantastic. Bit disappointing if your a vegetarian.

Room Tip: Back rooms of the hotel all have sea views.
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank a_langley0602
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2012

First impressions were oh dear, once inside the hotel I found it to be in need of a full refurbishment from top to bottom, there was a dreadful smell in the hallways and coridoors, the room was ok but the bathroom had mould everywhere, cracked and falling off tiles, broken bath panel with very sharp edges and the roller blind was approximately 250mm short which ment passers by could see in. The staff were friendly and the bar area was in fairly good order, I wouldn't recommend this hotel

Room Tip: Different Hotel
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andy1234187056
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mrhoward66, Guest Relations at The Pentire Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2012

We are deeply concerned. Having written to you directly on 2 occasions, we are still unable to verify any actual dates that you stayed at The Pentire Hotel. Importantly, we do not have any rooms in the condition that you have described. We welcome all feedback from our guests, however on this occasion we question the validity of this review and have officially reported this content to Trip Advisor as suspicious.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2012

A little bit ratty tatty and in need of a makeover, but the very friendly and helpful staff save the place. well located not far from town centre and a short walk to a great bar/restaurant and fabulous outcrop overlooking the ocean. We did have sea views from our 2nd floor room and the bed was comfortable enough, but the shower/bath only just worked if you wangled the shower-piece around a bit and it was all a bit squeezy. Breakfast was good - selection of cereals, fruit and hot options as well, and the service once again was good and very fast. There was free entertainment in the lounge each night while we were there - musicians, bingo, movies, and the bar stays open late. There is an indoor pool, table tennis table and pool table which was most welcome on a couple of days when the weather was too wet to get out. Pentire seems to be popular with coach groups and it is good value and fine so long as you aren't expecting too much luxury and just want a base from which to explore this lovely part of Cornwall.

Room Tip: Some rooms have views, some have queen/king beds. Decide which is most important to you and choose.
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Raeh255100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2012

We booked this hotel about 6 months in advance of a party we were going to a short walk away. It was perfectly adequate considering the reason we were there, but if we were staying longer or we'd gone to Newquay for a relaxing break I'd have been disappointed. The public areas of the hotel were fine, staff were very helpful and location was good as it wasn't noisy, but the rooms were disappointing. We paid over £100 a night for a very small, basic room with a standard double bed. Ok yes, the view was amazing from the 3rd floor but what use is a view if you don't want to linger in the room? I thought king or at least queen size beds were standard in hotel rooms nowadays.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HenleyHatty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews