We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“LOVELY!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Pentire Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Pentire Hotel
Ranked #9 of 38 Hotels in Newquay
Certificate of Excellence
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“LOVELY!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2012

Thank-you for accommodating us for a brief trip to Newquay, lovely room and very good staff throughout the hotel. Even the night security man was welcoming and friendly even at our late return time from a night out!! Great location only costing £5 for a taxi into town, which meant you were far enough out of it to have a good peaceful nights sleep!!
Food was also very good, quick service and a good varied choice. Beautiful views, definitely have an Ocean view room if you can when planning a trip, trust me it is worth it! Would love to go back again very soon. Thank-you

Room Tip: Book an Ocean view......beautiful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

871 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    371
    323
    119
    36
    22
See reviews for
174
426
50
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (326)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Wigan, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2012

went for two nights on the 28th of july 2012 and on the whole was brilliant indoor pool was great and the staff was friendly hotel room was spacious and clean so all in all it was a good break. one of the only problems was the distance from the town centre and cost around 6 pound in a taxi .

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank michaelH980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mrhoward66, Guest Relations at The Pentire Hotel, responded to this review, 1 August 2012
Great to read that you had a brilliant time and a good break here in Newquay. Our hotel is by the coast and overlooks Fistral beach, so we're about a mile from busy town centre. In reality, it's only a short walk. There's also a handy bus stop just outside the hotel too. Many thanks for posting a review and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NOTTINGHAM
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2012

booked a short break BBD for less than £300, cant beat value for money. Indoor swimming pool added bonus for when weather not very good.
Food portions may be a little small but all fresh veg and good quality.
entertainment was interesting!!!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SUNSEA1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mrhoward66, Guest Relations at The Pentire Hotel, responded to this review, 31 July 2012
Thanks for posting a review about your recent short break to Newquay. Do come back and visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2012

Only stopped for one night, so don't have too much opinion on it. Tried out the swimming pool, but wasn't very exciting and changing rooms were bit grotty. Rooms small and quite basic but generally clean. Short walk to beach and about 20mins to Newquay centre.

Pretty much what I expected from a English seaside hotel for the price I paid, so can't complain and I had a nice time!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SarahK85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spalding, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2012

We went there on the 16th of July circa 2012 as part of a coach trip - well, would you drive nearly 400 miles as a start of an 'holiday'? - nar! - plus when you add the cost of go-go juice in the fuel tank of your car/projectile, it's cost effective in common sense terms to go by coach - and now that is out the way, the nitty gritty as they say.. Having stopped in quite a few hotels over many, many years we found this bit of a surprise to be honest as it was clean both inside and out (could name worse, oh deary me, yes..) and if anything there was no 'porter' to take the suitcases in but hey! - we are not Royal or part of the 'self styled elite', we get stuck in and if you can't take a suitcase to your room... On the bright side, there is a lift there - that works, yes, actually works!!!! - so its not all bad news. We had Room 208 and to coin a phrase, 'we could eat our dinner off the floor' as it was so, so clean would not be far off the truth but in the spirit of fairness, they do have a ample supply of plates and kindred other things to eat from plus supporting 'eating irons' by way of kerniffs, forks and spoons etc. The bed was brilliant, although we only used it to sleep in to be honest, came with clean sheets etc. that you would normally expect plus a real modern 26inch(?) flat screen gogglebox bolted to the wall with Freeview WITH a remote control that - yes, again - actually worked - ghorsh! - we were so overwent, we were with all the excitement.. The shower/toilet room was so, so clean it was amazing to be honest as dunno about you, but we seem to 'check' that said room out as a first thing when staying anywhere as this is nearly always a good indicator as to how the rest of the joint is - or should be plus we were intrusted with three, regulation issue bog rolls! - yes, THREE!!!! - it's rare to even get one and perhaps a bit left on the actual toilet roll holder which can be an issue if you intend sitting there for any length of time and make notes with a soft pointed pencil (this stops you carving holes in the paper itself and 'not a lot of peeple know dat' as that bloke with the glasses used to say in films). Having sorted out the room as such, its worth pointing out that the view is to die for - the coast line with the waves crashing in..the surfers..on those long boards and not keyboards in front of screens..make's you wanna bung a Beach Boys record on and start whistling to it - for those without their own teeth, ask Matron and I feel sure something could be sorted out.. Once we sorted ourselves out and had a quick shower each - its like a long one but shorter - it was time to nip down for Dinner. The menu was brilliaint with choice of starters, three choices of main meals plus ditto sweets etc and with coffee to finish - we have paid more and got worse at some places, believe me.. It should be pointed out that we found the Staff were/are fantasic and from the Reception Staff to the daily cleaners, they all had a smile and a kind word. One word has to be said about Aiden, who served us our meals, as he was BRILLIANT! - by brilliant I don't mean he had a gloss finish or anything - but nothing was too much trouble and he went the extra mile/kilo to get things as to how you/we wanted them and if he can keep this formula up, he will go places and by that I do not mean he has a Bus Pass.. The entertainment, which was free, was very good overall and if you get the chance to see local Cornish man Johnny Morse pwerform, please DO!!!! - the range of musical instruments he plays is astounding!. The only thing that was a pain was nothing to do with the hotel, no not at all but a couple of the passengers on our coach as I bring to you the exploits (some of them) of "Butch & Sundance". Can you immagine waiting for your coach to arrive and a couple of the village idiots are mere feet away from you and you mutter among youselves: "I do hope they are not on OUR coach!" and the Sod's Law says they are!. Well, this happened to others that were waiting further down the road 'in the chain' to us, but we didn't know it at the time of course. When they got on, to say they looked like something out of a 'supermarket trolley sweep' in a charity shop would not be too far from it but I would point out at this stage that Butch was female (as far as we can ascertain, without having access to an inspection ramp and ditto lamp..) with an exciting array of wardrobe in assorted colours and styles as we were to find out later that were very popular in the last century judging by photo's I have seen in those shiny Sunday newspaper magazines and Sundance in his jeans tucked into the tops of his cowboy/motorcycle boots was a cracker - Jeff Banks, eat yer heart out! - these are the new style icons!. For those looking for culture, its now time to walk the dog or polish your sink plunger as its down hill all the way now. So as we sat there in the dinning room, we were seated three tables away from Butch & Sundance and boy can that woman yak! - and LOUD! - as she found a target on the next table to yak about ANYTHING & EVERYTHING to! - most of it was a load of old shoemakers products but what you have to understand is that she is a woman (we think - Jury still out..) and can talk with a vocal range that just about anybody could hear within fifty yards/kilo's and discreet 'hints' like 'put a sock in it, fatty' went unheeded as she still rambled on and on and on. The woman she was 'talking' to was elderly and we all seemed to think her husband seated across from her had switched his hearing aid off before the consulation had started and was out of it completely. To see this event unfold at each mealtime was quite something as she seemed to master the art of being able to continue with talking non-stop and shovelling food down its neck without missing a beat as the kerniff and fork seemed to work like a Swiss watch as they never seemed to collide at any given point with her mouth and we assumed if such a thing did happen, the sparks would fall and set fire to the dinning room carpet.. While all this was going on, its worth pointing out that Sundance never said much, basically because the poor sod would not be able to get a word in edgeways. We shared the hotel with another coach party from Bonnie Scotland - the coach they arrived in had tartan smoke coming out the exhaust, so bit of a give-away! - and were seated up the other end of the large dinning room and even some of those could hear her chants yards/kilo's away.. One day we went on an excursion to St Ives and can you believe that Butch came back to the coach with a bucket - yes, you read right there, a bucket - and a curtain track she had found in a charity shop! - everybody else took in the local flavour but coming nearly 400 miles, we brought a bucket and a curtain track. The looks and comments from everybody on the coach was...well you wonder.. A word here about about driver Mally who was brilliant in many ways and a gem in being helpful - what that man took in his stride with these two escapees from 'Monty Python' is nobody's business but even he had to admit this was a 'first' in his book and his description of the Fantastic Two is not really printable here. One thing that came to light and as its in the 'public domain' now due to the high volume of her voice, it seems that Butch has been married - to men - before and it seems that one took his own life (please, modesty here as it could be one of your own..) and in that very area some years ago and on hearing this from her own foghorn, sorry mouth, we took an extra interest in Sundance as in 'just in case' as well, you don't know do you? - what makes anybody go snap - or even crackle and pop?... There were lots of other 'bits' that I could enthrall you with on these two but another time, another planet perhaps but final word was that when we left the Pentire that morning to come home, we felt that we were leaving a 'home from home' as we had no complaints, the Staff had been smashing and would we go back there again? - based on this adventure, YESSSSSSSS!!!! (but without Butch & Sundance of course..) Right then! - I must rest up now.

Room Tip: Room 208 or anything near it - brilliant views!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gateshead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2012

Hotel was nice. Room was small for a twin room, beds were uncomfortable. Television had very poor reception. Wonderful sea views from our room.

Hotel staff were very helpful and friendly. Meals were fantastic. Bit disappointing if your a vegetarian.

Room Tip: Back rooms of the hotel all have sea views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank a_langley0602
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidstone, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2012

First impressions were oh dear, once inside the hotel I found it to be in need of a full refurbishment from top to bottom, there was a dreadful smell in the hallways and coridoors, the room was ok but the bathroom had mould everywhere, cracked and falling off tiles, broken bath panel with very sharp edges and the roller blind was approximately 250mm short which ment passers by could see in. The staff were friendly and the bar area was in fairly good order, I wouldn't recommend this hotel

Room Tip: Different Hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andy1234187056
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mrhoward66, Guest Relations at The Pentire Hotel, responded to this review, 17 July 2012
We are deeply concerned. Having written to you directly on 2 occasions, we are still unable to verify any actual dates that you stayed at The Pentire Hotel. Importantly, we do not have any rooms in the condition that you have described. We welcome all feedback from our guests, however on this occasion we question the validity of this review and have officially reported this content to Trip Advisor as suspicious.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newquay hotels
0.3 mi away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#5 of 38 in Newquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,271 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
0.1 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Legacy Hotel Victoria - Newquay
1.5 mi away
Great Western Hotel
Great Western Hotel
#12 of 38 in Newquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 787 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Atlantic Hotel
The Atlantic Hotel
#7 of 38 in Newquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 963 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pentire Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pentire Hotel

Property: The Pentire Hotel
Address: 60 Pentire Avenue, Newquay TR7 1NU, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Newquay
#9 Business Hotel in Newquay
#9 Family Hotel in Newquay
#14 Romantic Hotel in Newquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Pentire Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the Pentire headland in Newquay, just a mile from town centre, we have spectacular Fistral beach views. The River Gannel estuary and south west coast path is on our doorstep so we're ideally positioned for surfers, families or groups. Facilities include an indoor heated pool, steam room, childrens play area, beauty salon, fitness studio and a friendly bar. Licenced for Civil Weddings, we provide a beautiful venue for Weddings and receptions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Pentire Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pentire Hotel Newquay
The Pentire Hotel Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing