We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern and bright, great location.”
Review of The Pentire Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Pentire Hotel
Ranked #12 of 37 Hotels in Newquay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 August 2012

This hotel is a very nice place to stay. The staff are friendly and helpful and the hotel is clean and well positioned...Thera a swimming pool on site. Breakfast is good with plenty of choice and again the staff were very accommodating.

Overall this is a lovely hotel, if I was to be picky I'd say that the draws in our room hadn't been wiped out and had the previous tenants hair and sock fluff in ( blueeergh) and when they topped up our coffee making facilities they left a coffee stain on our table from where we rested the spoon the day before.....like I said , picky! Definitely a nice place to stay!

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Edavmmae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (963)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

767 - 773 of 963 reviews

Reviewed 11 August 2012

Stayed here for one night, hotel is decent value for money if you are looking for a mid range hotel. Friendly staff, decent breakfast. Rooms slightly showing thier age but clean and comfortable. Quite a walk into town, but short run by car or taxi, and excellent views over Fistral beach.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JerryandLeslie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2012

Had a fabulous weekend at the Pentire. The staff are lovely, they can't do enough for you. The food is great, can't fault any of it especially as i'm an awkward veggie i was catered for. Will definately be staying here again and recommending to friends.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank peculiar_one
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mrhoward66, Guest Relations at The Pentire Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2012

Delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us again. Our biggest pleasure is when we see our guests returning to stay with us each year. Many thanks for posting your review. Our warmest regards.from all of the team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2012

What a lovely hotel we only stayed 1 night but the service an food were fab, the room was clean and welcoming and had a fantastic sea view, great location taxi into town only cost £5, will definately be recomending to family and friends and will be planning nother trip to the pentire very soon. thank-you for a great nights sleep.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lisa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2012

Thank-you for accommodating us for a brief trip to Newquay, lovely room and very good staff throughout the hotel. Even the night security man was welcoming and friendly even at our late return time from a night out!! Great location only costing £5 for a taxi into town, which meant you were far enough out of it to have a good peaceful nights sleep!!
Food was also very good, quick service and a good varied choice. Beautiful views, definitely have an Ocean view room if you can when planning a trip, trust me it is worth it! Would love to go back again very soon. Thank-you

Room Tip: Book an Ocean view......beautiful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2012

went for two nights on the 28th of july 2012 and on the whole was brilliant indoor pool was great and the staff was friendly hotel room was spacious and clean so all in all it was a good break. one of the only problems was the distance from the town centre and cost around 6 pound in a taxi .

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank michaelH980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mrhoward66, Guest Relations at The Pentire Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2012

Great to read that you had a brilliant time and a good break here in Newquay. Our hotel is by the coast and overlooks Fistral beach, so we're about a mile from busy town centre. In reality, it's only a short walk. There's also a handy bus stop just outside the hotel too. Many thanks for posting a review and we hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2012

booked a short break BBD for less than £300, cant beat value for money. Indoor swimming pool added bonus for when weather not very good.
Food portions may be a little small but all fresh veg and good quality.
entertainment was interesting!!!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SUNSEA1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mrhoward66, Guest Relations at The Pentire Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2012

Thanks for posting a review about your recent short break to Newquay. Do come back and visit us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newquay hotels
0.3 mi away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#6 of 37 in Newquay
1,425 reviews
0.2 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
1.6 mi away
Great Western Hotel
Great Western Hotel
#13 of 37 in Newquay
927 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
1.4 mi away
Legacy Hotel Victoria - Newquay
0.9 mi away
Carnmarth Hotel
Carnmarth Hotel
#11 of 37 in Newquay
511 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pentire Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pentire Hotel

Address: 60 Pentire Avenue, Newquay TR7 1NU, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Newquay
#9 Business Hotel in Newquay
#9 Family Hotel in Newquay
#14 Romantic Hotel in Newquay
Price Range: £29 - £126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Pentire Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the Pentire headland in Newquay, just a mile from town centre, we have spectacular Fistral beach views. The River Gannel estuary and south west coast path is on our doorstep so we're ideally positioned for surfers, families or groups. Facilities include an indoor heated pool, steam room, childrens play area, beauty salon, fitness studio and a friendly bar. Licenced for Civil Weddings, we provide a beautiful venue for Weddings and receptions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Expedia, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Pentire Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pentire Hotel Newquay
The Pentire Hotel Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing