We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value For Family Break”
Review of The Pentire Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Pentire Hotel
Ranked #12 of 37 Hotels in Newquay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 November 2012

Stayed at the Pentire last weekend (26 and 27 October) on a bed and breakfast rate with my husband and two boys. The room setup was great with a separate bedroom for my two boys and sharing a bathroom. Loads of tea, coffee and biscuits supplied along with a plentiful supply of soaps etc. It looks like the bathrooms have been refurbished recently which look great apart from a grotty stained loo seat and no shower tray surround at bottom of shower!
The buffet at breakfast was adequate and the cooked breakfast was good. We used the swimming pool which was enjoyable but changing rooms a bit grotty!

On the Saturday night we went out to a brilliant restaurant for families called the Lewinnick Lodge which is only a short walk from the Pentire. You do need to book in advance but well worth the walk and great food. On our return, live music was playing below our room which wasn't a problem at first but when it was still playing at 11.35 pm we did phone Reception! Have got to say that the hotel staff acted immediately and stopped the music.

We do visit Newquay a few times a year for the surfing and would probably go back to the Pentire but stay in a room away from the live music!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Victoria186361
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mrhoward66, Guest Relations at The Pentire Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2012

We are delighted to hear that you liked your room and our breakfasts. The indoor swimming pool is always popular with our guests and we are in the process of installing a brand new steam room. We’ve fixed the toilet seat – thanks for bringing this to our attention. Our live music always ends at 11pm – apologies if this over ran. We hope to warmly welcome you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (936)
There are newer reviews for The Pentire Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

713 - 719 of 936 reviews

Reviewed 30 October 2012

We spent 3 nights here and would have enjoyed our stay if our sleep had not been disturbed by the noisy, inconsiderate people in the next room. They put their TV on after midnight every night. On our last night it went on at 4am!
We did not realise that there was a night porter who would have sorted the problem. This could be mentioned on the information sheet guests are given when they check in.
The staff we met were courteous and helpful at all times, the rooms are basic but have good beds and showers.
Breakfast is the best meal. We loved the porridge and the cooked breakfast was tasty as was the brown toast.
Dinner was rather bland. We enjoyed the puddings most.

Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
1  Thank 2pomsWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mrhoward66, Guest Relations at The Pentire Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2012

We completely agree – we have a fantastic hotel team and are extremely proud of our hardworking staff. Breakfasts and puddings are always popular and delighted you enjoyed them too. We ask all hotel guests to be considerate of others and would encourage guests to let us know if they are experiencing excessive noise from other rooms – so that we may resolve matters in a timely manner. Please come and visit us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2012

we were on a 2 night break with travelzoo, very good value. very friendly helpful, enthusiastic staff, nice warm indoor pool, plenty of good food at dinner, nice bar area. Our only criticism would be is that the decor was tired looking, it needs a coat of paint in lighter colours around the hotel and new lampshades in the dining room. We appreciate it is very difficult when the hotel is open all year but it would enhance the overall experience that the Pentire offers.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank linda c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2012

This was our second visit to the Hotel it was excellent the staff were friendly courteous and extremely helpful everything there was more than suitable to us. The quality of food and the service in the dining room was excellent we thoroughly enjoyed ourselves with our friends and will return in March 2013 hopefully. well done Pentire excellent. thanks Greg Lindsay Peter and Carole.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Greg R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2012 via mobile

We arrived at The Pentire with a very warm welcome from the fab reception staff and given keys to our very clean and comfortable family room. We were staying on a DBB basis and have to say the food was lovely, nice choices and the waiting staff were also great.
Having the facility of the pool was a great bonus too.
I attended the Ladies evening charity event and had a great time. It was so nice to see so many people giving up their time for such a worthy cause. The hotel really helped the charity put on a good night and should be commended.
Thank you for a lovely stay, we'll be back!

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Littlemisssunshine44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2012

We found this hotel on travel zoo and the deal seamed to good to miss so I booked it there and then.
I read the reviews on this site and we were a bit dubious about what we will find on our arrival.
We checked in and picked up the keys for our family room which was clean and tidy with a newly refitted bathroom and a comfortable beds.
The main thing that set this hotel apart from others we have stayed in was the excellent service far better than the 5 star we stayed in last summer and special thank you to our waiter Neil who was fantastic.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 4x4Sparky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2012

what a joy it was to holiday at this hotel the management should be enormously proud of their staff so very very friendly and nothing was too much trouble for them we had room with sea view which was very clean the food was very good with plenty of variety please give this hotel a try you wont be dissapointed

Room Tip: choose sea view although this is on the top floor their is a lift
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank coupleswindon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newquay hotels
0.2 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
0.3 mi away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#6 of 37 in Newquay
1,380 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Atlantic Hotel
The Atlantic Hotel
#10 of 37 in Newquay
1,016 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
1.4 mi away
Legacy Hotel Victoria - Newquay
1.8 mi away
Best Western Hotel Bristol
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pentire Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pentire Hotel

Address: 60 Pentire Avenue, Newquay TR7 1NU, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Newquay
#9 Family Hotel in Newquay
#9 Business Hotel in Newquay
#14 Romantic Hotel in Newquay
Price Range: £51 - £105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Pentire Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the Pentire headland in Newquay, just a mile from town centre, we have spectacular Fistral beach views. The River Gannel estuary and south west coast path is on our doorstep so we're ideally positioned for surfers, families or groups. Facilities include an indoor heated pool, steam room, childrens play area, beauty salon, fitness studio and a friendly bar. Licenced for Civil Weddings, we provide a beautiful venue for Weddings and receptions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, LateRooms and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Pentire Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pentire Hotel Newquay
The Pentire Hotel Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing