We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“all round relaxing”
Review of The Pentire Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Pentire Hotel
Ranked #12 of 37 Hotels in Newquay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 November 2012

We booked this via Travelzoo and had a last minute 2 night deal which included the dog(altho he slept in the car as it was warm enough).Yes the hotel is elderly but comfortable, friendly, warm and with a lovely pool and good food. We even had free wine with our deal!We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and will go again with the family.

Room Tip: We had a dog friendly room but the ocean view rooms must be great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank edmund250150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (958)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

729 - 735 of 958 reviews

Reviewed 6 November 2012

Went to theis hotel on a special through Zoo travel. stayed for 2 nights and can recommned it! Lots of space, indoor swimming pool, full of people and friendly staff. Great bar and live music and dancing. Food was lovely and plentiful, can recommend the breakfasts! Tea/cofee making facilities, lovely and warm and cosy.

Easy to walk along beach to Newquay and also situated right on the headland so fantastic views and a walker's paradise. Great for couples or familys.

Room Tip: Sea view is obvioulsy the best choice but if not, you can see the sea every day, the minute you walk...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kumba7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2012

We had a 2 day break here. It was a very friendly hotel and if you ignore the stripes and checks, sloping floors and very tired decor, it would have been excellent. But the room was clean with very comfortable beds and good food, Couldn't fault the staff - they were exceptional.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jill S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2012

A great place to stay for a very good (special) price.
Food plentiful, good variety, and well cooked
Staff, exceptionally helpful, nothing too much trouble

Only one problem, is it even worth mentioning, a milk jug didn't pour well!!

Really clean

Room Tip: No problems with our rooms on 1st floor, 109 and 110, and great views of the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mover5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2012

We have just spent 6 days at the hotel and would definatley go back again.
The rooms are well Equiped with a tv and plently of tea and coffee provided and were cleaned properly each day.
The toilet and shower were big enough and not cramped like some and were very modern.
We stayed on the Bed, Breakfas & Evening Meal deal and the food was very food with 4 differant choices every night including a vegeterian option.

The Staff were absolutly Brilliant and could not do enough to help, and were very freindly and always had enough time for a chat.

Overall a good hotel with Great Staff that is worth a visit

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nuttma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2012

Have just arrived home from this wonderful hotel. Normally we only use hotels abroad, but decided to have a short break here. So glad we did, we cannot fault the staff. They are all so friendly. We stayed half board and the food was marvellous for the price we paid for the holiday. I am a fussy eater but could always find something delicious to eat. Best of all it was waitress/waiter service.
In fact we enjoyed it that much that we have booked a 10 day break in June 2013.
If other British hotels treated their customers like this what a wonderful reputation British hotels would have.

Room Tip: Ask for an refurbished ocean/sea facing room. The view to Fistral beach is good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank brayonie03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2012

Stayed at the Pentire last weekend (26 and 27 October) on a bed and breakfast rate with my husband and two boys. The room setup was great with a separate bedroom for my two boys and sharing a bathroom. Loads of tea, coffee and biscuits supplied along with a plentiful supply of soaps etc. It looks like the bathrooms have been refurbished recently which look great apart from a grotty stained loo seat and no shower tray surround at bottom of shower!
The buffet at breakfast was adequate and the cooked breakfast was good. We used the swimming pool which was enjoyable but changing rooms a bit grotty!

On the Saturday night we went out to a brilliant restaurant for families called the Lewinnick Lodge which is only a short walk from the Pentire. You do need to book in advance but well worth the walk and great food. On our return, live music was playing below our room which wasn't a problem at first but when it was still playing at 11.35 pm we did phone Reception! Have got to say that the hotel staff acted immediately and stopped the music.

We do visit Newquay a few times a year for the surfing and would probably go back to the Pentire but stay in a room away from the live music!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Victoria186361
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mrhoward66, Guest Relations at The Pentire Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2012

We are delighted to hear that you liked your room and our breakfasts. The indoor swimming pool is always popular with our guests and we are in the process of installing a brand new steam room. We’ve fixed the toilet seat – thanks for bringing this to our attention. Our live music always ends at 11pm – apologies if this over ran. We hope to warmly welcome you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newquay hotels
0.3 mi away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#6 of 37 in Newquay
1,423 reviews
0.2 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
1.6 mi away
Great Western Hotel
Great Western Hotel
#13 of 37 in Newquay
920 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Legacy Hotel Victoria - Newquay
0.8 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
0.9 mi away
Carnmarth Hotel
Carnmarth Hotel
#11 of 37 in Newquay
506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pentire Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pentire Hotel

Address: 60 Pentire Avenue, Newquay TR7 1NU, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Newquay
#9 Family Hotel in Newquay
#9 Business Hotel in Newquay
#14 Romantic Hotel in Newquay
Price Range: £35 - £113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Pentire Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the Pentire headland in Newquay, just a mile from town centre, we have spectacular Fistral beach views. The River Gannel estuary and south west coast path is on our doorstep so we're ideally positioned for surfers, families or groups. Facilities include an indoor heated pool, steam room, childrens play area, beauty salon, fitness studio and a friendly bar. Licenced for Civil Weddings, we provide a beautiful venue for Weddings and receptions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, Expedia, Cancelon, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Ebookers and LateRooms so you can book your The Pentire Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pentire Hotel Newquay
The Pentire Hotel Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing