We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Pentire Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Carnmarth Hotel(Newquay)(Great Value!)
US$107
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$201
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$52
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
US$196
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$121
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$84
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$50
US$48
Priceline
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Sands Resort Hotel & Spa(Newquay)
US$114
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Hotel Bristol(Newquay)(Great Value!)
US$77
US$75
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$80
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,016)
Filter reviews
1,016 results
Traveller rating
419
371
149
49
28
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
419
371
149
49
28
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfistral beachsea viewsteam roomswimming poolhalf boardcoach partycourse evening mealcoach tripfriendly hoteltable tennischanging roomsbreakfast and dinnerweekend breakreception staffsingle roomfantastic valuewalk into town
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
773 - 778 of 1,016 reviews
Reviewed 6 February 2013

Not knowing what to expect from an English sea side hotel, our first impressions were good. Nice receprtion area and pleasant receptionist. A small but comfortable bar, where we found the service slow at times (and we were the only two people in there). The lift, stairs and generall decor away from recetion were rather shabby. We ahd upgraded to a sea view room, the view very good the room not so. Small with bad sound proofing but overall clean. The was not a lot of choice in the restaurant but the food was o.k however the staff were very good. Excellent location for walks. On the second night the car park was full and we had to park outside in a residents parking area. We were not at all pleased with this! We will not return but for a budget break for families it is passable.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mrhoward66, Guest Relations at The Pentire Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2013

We are pleased that you liked many aspects of your stay with us, including our 'friendly staff', 'excellent location', 'great views' and 'clean rooms'. We are committed to a programme of improvements and are renovating the wider areas of the hotel with new ceilings to the ground floor lounge now completed & progressing into the corridor area. We have ample parking spaces available and have never experienced a guest needing to park at the roadside. Perhaps you were not aware of our car parks to both front and rear of the hotel. Please accept our apology if this affected the enjoyment of your stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2013

Well what can i say about this hotel {.Excellant.} {Perfection.} Its hard to discribe.You wont be dissapointed.The food yummy and plenty of it. { congratulations to the chef} The rooms clean and tidy .With plenty of tea and coffee filled up every day.The staff especialy the dining room staff were very friendly and helpful. I went to this hotel on a coach trip with my daughter on 21st January for 5 days.From the moment we walked through the doors we were made wellcome.Only a short walk to the lovely beaches.And a bus stop just outside the hotel to take you in to Newquay.I will be going back before this year is out .Thats a promise.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank linda w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2013

My self and friends stayed at The Pentire Hotel in January 2013 as part of a large group booking (Two coaches). We had seen the holiday advertised and thought we would just go and have ourselves a winter break and it was a good decision, with most of the country covered in snow we were in an area without snow. The hotel was very good, the staff friendly and worked hard especially in the restaurant which offers a good menu choice with wonderful food. The bar had a good choice of drinks with comfortable seating. There was entertainment of a good standard on two nights - a magician on one and a multi- instrumentalist on the next. I went down into the lower area and saw the excellent swimming pool (unfortunately I did not have time to take a dip), there was also a pool table and table tennis table.
When the weather is good the Pentire hotel is in a great location for the beaches, there is also a bus stop just outside the hotel for catching a bus into Newquay or you can walk if fit.
.Overall a very good hotel and because I had booked out of season as part of a large group the value for money was fantastic.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MrGentle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mrhoward66, Guest Relations at The Pentire Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post a review about your recent stay with us. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your winter break at our hotel. We are ideally placed for enjoying coastal walks and exploring, with a beach located on either side of the Pentire headland. The kitchen team work hard to prepare a range tasty dishes for our restaurant and we will pass your kind comments onto them directly. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2013

We had stayed at the Pentire before and found them really nice,so,when they offered us Christmas at a good price we jumped in.
They say you can take your dog but beware, on arrival, the first receptionist was extremely rude and unhelpful. Before we booked we had checked out and been told that as our dog was only 18 months old we could have our meals in the lounge so he could be with us, when I pointed this out the receptionist said that we would never have been told this,insinuating that I was lying she further told us that could not be done. At this point we were left cold in the doorway whilst we watched new people arriving, being given cups of tea we were not told when our room was available and were basically ignored. We were cold, tired and very disappointed. We ended up having to find the manager ourselves to sort things out we had waited that long all arrivals had been booked in, they had all gone to their rooms and we were the second couple to arrive and we were still sat there. My wife wanted to go home even though we had travelled 240 miles and we had no food at home for Christmas. Fortunately another receptionist helped us out with the dog and was kind enough to check he was ok when we went to the dining room. She was lovely and went the extra bit to help us.

On the first night we sat in the lounge as the dog could not go into the concert room, we were fine with this and enjoyed it, however the next night (Christmas eve) we could not go into the lounge because it was full of outsiders (not hotel guests) we ended up in our room for the night. It did not help that the television did not work- not the best way to spend Christmas Eve! We feel that we paid to entertain other people and we did not get the opportunity to enjoy our Christmas break.

On Christmas Day it was the same but we were able to sit in the bar which was quiet, however on Boxing Day we were kicked out of the bar and told the dog could not go in there because they served food, we were the only ones in there. When I told the girl behind the desk she simply told us we should have known it was out of bounds, again she was very off handed with us. Later that evening we saw another dog in the bar tied to a bar stool and no one said a word.

Before we left on our last day I asked for a reduction as we had not been satisfied with some of our treatment, although not speaking to the original girl she butted in and took over,telling me in no uncertain terms that I would get no refund, the girl I was speaking to looked really embarrassed , I ended up speaking to the assistant manager who apologised and reduced our bill.

When I went back into reception I was informed that we should have had a doggy welcome pack that explained everything -
At no time were we told where we could and couldn't go with our dog, we accept that we couldn't take him in the restaurant and the concert room but we were never told we couldn't take him in the bar, in fact other dogs had been in there.

Most of the staff were friendly and helpful, but one has let the hotel down badly unfortunately this was the one who we saw first and set the tone for our stay.

Our lovely Christmas break was ruined because of this one woman. Needless to say, we will never be going back and would strongly advise if you have informed them of any special requirements to get it in writing to make sure you get what you were promised and will save you any embarrassment at the desk. A customer service course would not go amiss at this hotel.

Room Tip: Our room on the first floor was fine and had a sea view.
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tony P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mrhoward66, Guest Relations at The Pentire Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2013

We are very sorry that you felt some confusion during particular periods of your stay with your dog. We warmly welcome all guests and well behaved dogs. Our policy is simply that pets are not permitted in areas of the hotel where food is being served. Our friendly team always try to be helpful and flexible. We do hope that our additional actions and discount acknowledged the importance we place on trying to please all of our guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2013

the pentire hotel sits to the west of newquay overloking crantock beach and fistral beach, a nice clean hotel with lots of friendly staff who are willing to help with all your holiday needs. I would definentlycome again

Room Tip: one lift services all three floors so if you are not fit ask for a room on the lower floors
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Karen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews