We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BRILLIANT HOLIDAY”
Review of The Pentire Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Pentire Hotel
Ranked #11 of 38 Hotels in Newquay
Certificate of Excellence
weston s mare
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“BRILLIANT HOLIDAY”
Reviewed 14 August 2013

we stayed at the pentire hotel for 7 nights 2 adults and 2 children aged 8 and 11 in room 104. the pool was excellant to fall back on when at a loose end the hotel even supply you with towels to use, which is very useful. the restaurant food was brilliant and really good choices or a kids option, and nothing was to much trouble for the staff who were very friendly and efficient (especially colin) the kids also enjoyed playing pool and table tennis in the games room. pentire is a good 10 minute walk to fistral beach down hill but well worth it as the kids loved the waves. you can also walk to the river gannel and across to crantock beech when tide is low. overall one of our favourite holidays and will definately look at going back next year.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thewestcotts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mrhoward66, Guest Relations at The Pentire Hotel, responded to this review, 15 August 2013
It is great to read your comments and we are really pleased that this was 'one of your favourite holidays' for you all. We would love to welcome you back again next year. Our warmest regards from all of our team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

903 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    382
    332
    126
    41
    22
See reviews for
180
446
51
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (339)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2013

We stayed at the pentire hotel for 4 night in July and we had a lovely break. Food is excellent great choice and service. Staff all very helpful. We asked for a new mattress No problem sorted right away. Make sure you book a room on the 2 or 3 floor to get a great view of the beach.

Thanks we will be back

Ps only comment is the changing rooms at the pool could do with an update

Room Tip: Ocean view room a must on higher floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Capanni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2013

We stayed for a few nights in August and I'm happy to say that generally the hotel is of a good standard, we stayed in a room that looked dated and the bathroom wasn't as good as more modern hotels but was acceptable.

The food was good, a decent choice most nights and the staff were friendly; but there was a big problem one morning where a coach load of guests invaded the restaurant during breakfast, the hotel was understaffed and it took 30+ minutes to get served but it was a one-off and not the fault of the staff but the management.

Other big pluses are the location (quiet), pool and views.

Finally the Entertainment was forgettable infact dire considering the time of year

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DarrenAUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
89 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2013

Stayed at the hotel recently for 2 nights. Arrived at the hotel and was given Our key, went to the room to discover it was a tiny outdated room that obviously had better days. There was stains on the walls and ceilings and most of the wood paint was chipped off the window sills. The final straw was the bathroom, looked liked it had not been cleaned with what I could describe at sick / poo on and around the toilet and not very pleasant marks on the bath room wall. Health and safety would have had a field day! Went and complained and was given another room which was far better, the lady on reception was very dismissive whilst the gentlemen has apologetic. I think it was very over priced for what we had, I would not visit again or would I recommend it to any one. Shame really as the location is good, the breakfast was good, the manager was nice but the overall hotel was poor, suggest individuals make their own minds up and treat my review with a pinch of salt as I could have been very unlucky.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CHILLIQUEEN77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mrhoward66, Guest Relations at The Pentire Hotel, responded to this review, 13 August 2013
We listen carefully to guest feedback, which is generally positive with friendly staff, exceptional value, great views and helpful service amongst the most regular comments made. We are pleased that you found our breakfast and location good, but sorry that you mistook some silicone bathroom sealant in the toilet as something of greater concern. We do apologise that this was not spotted by us first, and glad that we were able to offer an alternative room that you were very happy with.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hastings, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2013

We stayed in the Pentire for three nights having seen an offer on Travelzoo. I normally would read Tripadvisor reviews thoroughjly before making a booking but the offer was too tempting to resist. Once booked I looked at Tripadvisor and was a little disheartened by what I read... but i need n't have worried. Our experience was very positive. We did have to change rooms and luckily our first room was EXCELLENT - room 208 - very spacious, huge flat screen TV, newly decorated, modern furniture, new bathroom fittings of a high standard and a very spacious en-suite. It had facilities for making drinks and didn't scimp on the choices, it also had a hairdryer, soap and shower gels. The view was superb!!!
We had breakfast and evening meals so were worried this would be the let down but again, we were pleasantly surprised. It was all very nice typical hotel fare... four choices of starter, main and dessert. I enjoyed all of them.
People in previous reviews had complained about the carpet ... It was all brand new - just fitted from the first floor up... and they moaned about birds - really?? Keep the window shut when you are out! Yes, there are seagulls - you are by the sea!!
Ok, so the exterior and a few bits were dated but this in no way spoiled our stay.
We used the pool and the steam room. Both very welcome additions.
Our second room was far more basic - I guess they are refurbishing bit by bit. We did notice the difference from luxury to 'bog-standard' front view, squashed room but still feel the hotel is well worth a visit.
You must take a short trip up the road to Pentire Head where you will see the most wonderful sunsets. The bar/restaurant on the lower path is well worth a visit. It has fabulous views and is far more suitable for a quiet evening than bars in Newquay itself. Pentire Headland is beautiful in the daytime too to see Crantock beach on one side of you and Fistral on the other. Take a walk to Fistral. We ate lunch at the Headland hotel which was delightful. Later we had a drink at the cafe at the far side of the beach - a nice stop off on your journey back to the hotel.

Room Tip: Get a room at the back for the great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MikeMidge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saltcoats, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2013

June and I stayed at this hotel on a short break given to us by our family as an anniversary present, the hotel is very freindly and clean and the food is very good, we had a great room with a sea view over fiscal bay, the hotel is a bit far out of Newquaybut a local bus passes right ouside and takes a few minutes into town, all in all I would recommend this hotel to anyone visiting cornwall as it is a good point of access for the surrounding area.

Room Tip: ask for a top floor sea view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Davy49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 August 2013

My husband, myself and our 2 golden retrievers have just returned from our second stay at this friendly hotel. The staff in the restaurant, bar and reception were both charming and very helpful. The food choices were varied and of good quality. My only criticism was that our bedroom and bathroom were a little tired looking. Overall though, it was excellent value for money and I would certainly recommend it to friends and I'm sure we will return again soon.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathryn1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newquay hotels
0.8 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
0.2 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
0.3 mi away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#5 of 38 in Newquay
1,334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
The Atlantic Hotel
The Atlantic Hotel
#8 of 38 in Newquay
990 reviews
1.6 mi away
Great Western Hotel
Great Western Hotel
#12 of 38 in Newquay
831 reviews
1.4 mi away
Legacy Hotel Victoria - Newquay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pentire Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pentire Hotel

Property: The Pentire Hotel
Address: 60 Pentire Avenue, Newquay TR7 1NU, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Newquay
#9 Family Hotel in Newquay
#9 Business Hotel in Newquay
#14 Romantic Hotel in Newquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Pentire Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the Pentire headland in Newquay, just a mile from town centre, we have spectacular Fistral beach views. The River Gannel estuary and south west coast path is on our doorstep so we're ideally positioned for surfers, families or groups. Facilities include an indoor heated pool, steam room, childrens play area, beauty salon, fitness studio and a friendly bar. Licenced for Civil Weddings, we provide a beautiful venue for Weddings and receptions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Pentire Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pentire Hotel Newquay
The Pentire Hotel Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing