We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place, Great Staff”
Review of The Pentire Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Pentire Hotel
Ranked #12 of 37 Hotels in Newquay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 September 2013

Fantastic hotel! Great staff - all very friendly and nothing was too much trouble. Nice food. Excellent facilities. Charlotte in the restaurant is a real character and asset, she has a lovely way with customers, is great with kids and made us feel very 'at home'. We had our dog with us and the staff even made time for her!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoTaGe1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (944)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

607 - 613 of 944 reviews

Reviewed 2 September 2013

We booked same day in the middle of August , so of course it was unreasonable priced for what you get. In all fairness the staff (reception and breakfast) were all very friendly and the hotel was clean. These are the only good bits.
Looking at the structure I am sure this building was never meant to be a hotel. The rooms are bare (TV, kettle, bed, windowless bathroom), lack aircon and in dire need of some quality refurbishment. Flimsy cardboard walls mean that you can hear every banging door in the hallway, every word spoken in the room next door and every other guest using the toilet. As said, you better love your neighbour because you will be very close to them.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WDChick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mrhoward66, Guest Relations at The Pentire Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2013

We are pleased that you found our professional team all very friendly and our hotel to be clean. Our pricing is competitive and we are regularly commended on our ‘excellent value’ by returning guests, indications that we have the balance right in terms of quality and exceptional value. Our investments and refurbishments recently included new carpets on all floors, with many guest rooms now fully upgraded with new bathrooms, furniture and fixtures. As a 3 star quality hotel, we do not claim to have air conditioning, the same as most 3 star hotels throughout the UK. Our indoor heated pool, aromatherapy steam room, on-site beauty spa, yoga fitness studio, and hair salon does however does make us stand out in terms of facilities. That's not to mention our spectacular views towards Fistral beach.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2013 via mobile

This is my third stay at The Pentire and its excellent value for money. The food is wholesome, the staff unfailingly helpful, and the rooms comfortable. The decor between floors does need smartening up but this is part of an ongoing programme of interior decoration the hotel is undertaking. It is one of a few hotels left around the Pentire area, with excellent views, and is a perfect place to base yourself to travel all over Cornwall. There is a hair salon and spa which I made good use of and with other facilities eg a swimming pool, yoga studio and games area, I would recommend The Pentire and would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandra B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mrhoward66, Guest Relations at The Pentire Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2013

Thank you for your review and kind comments. It is good to read that you made good use of our additional spa and hair salon facilities too. We will pass on your feedback directly to our team and look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2013 via mobile

We stayed with our three children, 10, 10 and 12, for 2 nights and really enjoyed ourselves. Just up from Fistral beach and a doable walk to town with children, its a great location.
The children could choose from the 3 course evening menu if they didn't like the children's option. The food was all very nice, clean plates all round.
The indoor pool kept the kids happy In between sightseeing and beach trips.
It's a basic but clean and friendly hotel which we'd recommend. Good value for money.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mundaycaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mrhoward66, Guest Relations at The Pentire Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2013

Thank you for your lovely feedback. We are delighted that our 3 Star hotel provided good value for money for you and your family. Everyone enjoys the indoor heated pool and we agree, our location is quite special - close to the beach and just a mile into town. We hope to welcome you all back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2013

Looked forward to a good stay having seen the very appealing pictures on their website. I paid £180 for two nights with breakfast which I don't consider cheap. We were given the key to our room and walked passed a room with a seaview which looked lovely, sadly, ours was round the corner with a view of the flat room from one window and the front from the other. The room was tiny with hardly any space around the bed and the bathroom had a shower head which you needed to hold over you, no wall hook and no curtain. As others have described, the decor is tired and the paint was flaky. When people were in the room above us, we heard every move as floorboards very creaky and while in the bathroom, my husband discovered you could clearly hear conversations from the room below or next door, not sure which. A lot of the problems could be sorted quite easily, just spend some money and bring up to date. Front entrance is impressive and modern, just needs to extend to rest of hotel. Cannot fault staff who were all very friendly. The breakfasts were lovely and greetings in the dining room were very welcoming. Sadly, I wouldn't recommend this hotel but all improvements could be achieved quite easily.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view room which also seemed bigger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank flowwer11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mrhoward66, Guest Relations at The Pentire Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2013

We are sorry that we don’t appear to have met with some of your expectations. Our £45 per night bed and breakfast rate during August is a really competitive price for Newquay. Sea view rooms are always very popular and booked up early during peak-season. For this reason, we were unable to offer sea views from your room, booked 2 weeks before your arrival in August. We are undertaking lots of investment, upgrading rooms, new corridor carpets on all floors recently fitted and lots more currently underway. We are pleased that you enjoyed your breakfasts and found our wonderful hotel team very friendly.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013

Had a 3 day stay with a friend and four 15 years olds. We had three rooms between us. 2 with wonderful sea views of the glorious Fistral Beach. Rooms are clean and comfortable providing everything needed. Hotel is somewhat dated (70s springs to mind) but a lot of Newquay looks like that. We had a brilliant stay here, staff were friendly and food ample and very good. This was a really good deal. We all really enjoyed our stay and it was a good base for visiting places in Cornwall, such as St Michael's Mount, Padstow and Port Isaac. People moan about the seagulls on here but they weren't a problem. You stay at the seaside you know what to expect.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynda_D_13_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2013

Before travelling to the Pentire Hotel I read all the reviews so went prepared. We booked fairly last minute and only paid £400 for B&B at the Pentire in a family room which was big enough for our family of four even with my 15 year old being 6ft 5.
We hoped our room would be one of the modernised ones with a sea view but unfortunately no it was in need of modernisation and we looked out over the road at the front of the hotel.
The room was tired, you could not see the pattern on the carpet it was so dirty and the bathroom was in need of major work even though it said a modern bathroom when we booked. Tiles were missing and the flooring had a lifted and it smelt of urine. The shower although old worked well and was powerful.
The maids came in daily and cleaned and replaced the towels, clean cups etc and were all lovely.
The breakfast was ok. Help yourself to cereal and fruit and juice. Then a choice of tradtional, continental, kippers, boiled eggs or scrambled eggs on toast. Not really enough for hubbie and son but ok.
We ate in the hotel one night, it was £10 a head for 3 courses. The food was ok again small portions but for £10 what do you expect. Drinks are expensive from the bar.
The dining room needs a refurb also, looking tired and has had a few water leaks.
Some of the carpets in the hallways have obviously been replaced and look good and we sneaked a peak in a room that had been modernised and it looked good but we could not see the bathroom :(
The reception area is ok and the toilets are clean and have been redone recently I would think.
Staff were friendly and polite and happy to help.
Pool is nice but changing area is awful. Change in your room and dry off on pool side and go back up to your room to change. Oh you can get towels for swimming from reception too which is great.
Location wise well its great for fistral beach, just 5-10 mins down the road. We parked our car on the Monday and didnt move it till we left on the Friday. We walked into town and back once or twice a day. Its just under 2 miles each way but a pleasant walk. You can catch the bus in the day and the bus stop is just by the hotel and runs hourly. I think it stops around 5 pm though.
All in all we had a lovely time but we were out from after breakfast til early evening then out again until bedtime.
I would return If I could be guaranteed a room that had been refurbished, the bathroom was pretty awful in our room and would not want to use that again.
I understand that work has to be carried out while guests are staying but our room was in dire need of sorting out. I didnt ask to be moved as I know when we booked this was the last room big enough for us.
Hope this helps anyone thinking of staying.

Room Tip: Request a modernised room not on roadside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TraceyMark1999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newquay hotels
0.2 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
0.3 mi away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#6 of 37 in Newquay
1,403 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
The Atlantic Hotel
The Atlantic Hotel
#10 of 37 in Newquay
1,024 reviews
1.4 mi away
Legacy Hotel Victoria - Newquay
1.6 mi away
Great Western Hotel
Great Western Hotel
#13 of 37 in Newquay
904 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pentire Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pentire Hotel

Address: 60 Pentire Avenue, Newquay TR7 1NU, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Newquay
#9 Business Hotel in Newquay
#9 Family Hotel in Newquay
#14 Romantic Hotel in Newquay
Price Range: £43 - £138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Pentire Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the Pentire headland in Newquay, just a mile from town centre, we have spectacular Fistral beach views. The River Gannel estuary and south west coast path is on our doorstep so we're ideally positioned for surfers, families or groups. Facilities include an indoor heated pool, steam room, childrens play area, beauty salon, fitness studio and a friendly bar. Licenced for Civil Weddings, we provide a beautiful venue for Weddings and receptions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., LateRooms, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Pentire Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pentire Hotel Newquay
The Pentire Hotel Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing