We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice friendly and good value.”
Review of The Pentire Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Pentire Hotel
Ranked #10 of 38 Hotels in Newquay
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice friendly and good value.”
Reviewed 17 September 2013

Stayed for one night on the 14/9/13 for my birthday break very friendly and helpful staff hotel was great but only two proplems one the door to our room had to be slamed every time we entered or left the room and this seemed ro be a problem with every other door unless we had very rood people staying around us which could of been the case as they were noisy and kept us up most of the night .

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kass99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

893 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    382
    327
    123
    39
    22
See reviews for
177
440
51
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (334)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Akrotiri, Limassol, Cyprus
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2013

My wife and I stopped here for one night on our way to St. Ives and we were not disappointed. The hotel was spotlessly clean, the food was great and the staff were all friendly and helpful.As we only stopped for one night we didnt see the entertainment or sample the room service.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Buckers923
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 15 September 2013

Very friendly hotel with staff keen to make your holiday enjoyable. The building is old but the owners are upgrading it. The hotel offers comfortable accommodation, a good range of well cooked food in the restaurant, an indoor swimming pool, a bar all at a reasonable price with the rarity of parking. If Newquay doesn't float your boat, the hotel is an excellent base to explore North Cornwall either by car, on foot or by public transport.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wrexham
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2013

Weve been on a excellent 5day tour to Newquay with Just Go coach tours and stayed at The Pentire hotel ,Hotel,food,entertainment,and all the staff were excellent, nothing was to much trouble for them.would very much like to go to this hotel again

Room Tip: we were lucky and had see view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank June J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crowborough, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 4 September 2013

Fantastic hotel! Great staff - all very friendly and nothing was too much trouble. Nice food. Excellent facilities. Charlotte in the restaurant is a real character and asset, she has a lovely way with customers, is great with kids and made us feel very 'at home'. We had our dog with us and the staff even made time for her!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoTaGe1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2013

We booked same day in the middle of August , so of course it was unreasonable priced for what you get. In all fairness the staff (reception and breakfast) were all very friendly and the hotel was clean. These are the only good bits.
Looking at the structure I am sure this building was never meant to be a hotel. The rooms are bare (TV, kettle, bed, windowless bathroom), lack aircon and in dire need of some quality refurbishment. Flimsy cardboard walls mean that you can hear every banging door in the hallway, every word spoken in the room next door and every other guest using the toilet. As said, you better love your neighbour because you will be very close to them.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WDChick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mrhoward66, Guest Relations at The Pentire Hotel, responded to this review, 6 September 2013
We are pleased that you found our professional team all very friendly and our hotel to be clean. Our pricing is competitive and we are regularly commended on our ‘excellent value’ by returning guests, indications that we have the balance right in terms of quality and exceptional value. Our investments and refurbishments recently included new carpets on all floors, with many guest rooms now fully upgraded with new bathrooms, furniture and fixtures. As a 3 star quality hotel, we do not claim to have air conditioning, the same as most 3 star hotels throughout the UK. Our indoor heated pool, aromatherapy steam room, on-site beauty spa, yoga fitness studio, and hair salon does however does make us stand out in terms of facilities. That's not to mention our spectacular views towards Fistral beach.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 September 2013 via mobile

This is my third stay at The Pentire and its excellent value for money. The food is wholesome, the staff unfailingly helpful, and the rooms comfortable. The decor between floors does need smartening up but this is part of an ongoing programme of interior decoration the hotel is undertaking. It is one of a few hotels left around the Pentire area, with excellent views, and is a perfect place to base yourself to travel all over Cornwall. There is a hair salon and spa which I made good use of and with other facilities eg a swimming pool, yoga studio and games area, I would recommend The Pentire and would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandra B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mrhoward66, Guest Relations at The Pentire Hotel, responded to this review, 3 September 2013
Thank you for your review and kind comments. It is good to read that you made good use of our additional spa and hair salon facilities too. We will pass on your feedback directly to our team and look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newquay hotels
0.8 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
0.3 mi away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#5 of 38 in Newquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,316 reviews
0.2 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Great Western Hotel
Great Western Hotel
#12 of 38 in Newquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 819 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Atlantic Hotel
The Atlantic Hotel
#7 of 38 in Newquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 984 reviews
1.4 mi away
Legacy Hotel Victoria - Newquay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pentire Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pentire Hotel

Property: The Pentire Hotel
Address: 60 Pentire Avenue, Newquay TR7 1NU, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Newquay
#9 Family Hotel in Newquay
#9 Business Hotel in Newquay
#14 Romantic Hotel in Newquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Pentire Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the Pentire headland in Newquay, just a mile from town centre, we have spectacular Fistral beach views. The River Gannel estuary and south west coast path is on our doorstep so we're ideally positioned for surfers, families or groups. Facilities include an indoor heated pool, steam room, childrens play area, beauty salon, fitness studio and a friendly bar. Licenced for Civil Weddings, we provide a beautiful venue for Weddings and receptions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Pentire Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pentire Hotel Newquay
The Pentire Hotel Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing