We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pentire perfection”
Review of The Pentire Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Pentire Hotel
Ranked #11 of 38 Hotels in Newquay
Certificate of Excellence
SHEFFIELD
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Pentire perfection”
Reviewed 28 September 2013

Have just returned from a four night break at the Pentire. This was our third visit the first many years ago when our children were small, the second last year and now this time. Each visit has never disappointed.
We find the Pentire a great base for exploring Cornwall, the hotel is clean comfortable and serves excellent food anyone who says the portions are small must have huge appetites. The staff are very friendly and helpful.
The hotel is upgrading there rooms as the decor is looking a little tired but we noticed a big improvement this year new carpets and our room 204 was lovely modern, bright with a small but clean modern ensuite.
We didn't use the pool this visit but it looks lovely, no problem parking which is a advantage.
We find the Pentire offers everything you need for a great holiday and yes we will be returning

Room Tip: Ask for a refurnished upgraded room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LUVLEEJU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mrhoward66, Guest Relations at The Pentire Hotel, responded to this review, 3 October 2013
Thank you for your feedback which we will pass on to our team. It is one of our greatest pleasures to see the familiar friendly faces of returning guests. We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

915 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    382
    337
    132
    42
    22
See reviews for
183
454
51
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (341)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
North York Moors National Park, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 September 2013

we stayed at the pentire hotel from 15/9/13 for 7 nights. the staff are very helpful, the bedroom was clean and comfortable, bathroom was spotless and the food was excellent. plenty of variety and everything was cooked beautifully. we will definitely stay there again. overall we had an excellent holiday. from mr and mrs smith.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank debbiebarker7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torquay, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2013

A group of friends & myself spent a weekend at The Pentire Hotel in Newquay a couple of weeks ago. We wanted for nothing, the Hotel catered across the board for all ages. The children had a fantastic time in the beautiful & clean indoor swimming pool, and the new play area, which is situated outside to the back of the Hotel. The teenagers amongst us loved the spacious games room, over looking the inside pool, & the adults loved chilling in the relaxing bar area after a day with the children riding the waves on Fistral beach!
The staff were all very friendly, happy and helpful. The hotel & rooms were very clean, with a stunning sea view from our bedroom, the food was lovely with lots of choice, all this plus excellent value for money, we will all definetly return in the future as well as recommend to our friends. The hotel is in a fantastic position, easily accessable, & within walking distance to the famous Fistral Beach & Crantock Bay. Perfect!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Clare454
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesham, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2013

OK so it was raining hard when I checked in. Leaving me dripping in the foyer for 10 minutes while the staff sorted out their social lives should have been a pointer but after a 250 mile drive, I was in no state to look elsewhere.
My very tired room looked out over a large expanse of flat roofing onto which water from a broken gutter was pouring noisily.
Dinner was just awful. The food could not have been cooked or served with any less care nor in tinier portions.
My room had no plug for the sink and a shower head that shot more water sideways than downwards.
Breakfast was equally dire. Ruining scrambled eggs is quite difficult but the 'chef' managed it.
On checking out the comments book had magically disappeared as had the manager. As I was on my way to Lands End Airport for a flight to the Scillies, I couldn't delay.
A place to avoid like the plague, lest you catch one....

Room Tip: Use another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Rod T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mrhoward66, Guest Relations at The Pentire Hotel, responded to this review, 2 October 2013
Oh dear, it sounds like you arrived after a very long journey feeling very tired and very wet. What is surprising is that you say that you arrived nearly 12 months ago. We are open to feedback but would only be guessing if we tried to reply after this length of time. We are not confident that it was our hotel you visited for an overnight stay and have sent you 2 messages to verify your booking, but had no reply. We would direct you to the wide range of up to date majority feedback, highlighting the helpful and friendly qualities of our team from delighted guests who enjoy our extensive facilities and fabulous coastal location.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 24 September 2013

This review is a bit overdue! Sorry! I have been extremely busy and completely forgot to post my review! Anyway what I can say is that me and my family had a fantastic time and would definitely go back there again . I have already recommended this place to family and friends. Initially I was a little apprehensive and dreaded going and expected far less. After staying there , I can honestly say the hotel and most of the staff more than met my expectations . The food was excellent with loads of choice, restaurant staff really friendly and courteous , bar one male guy with short dark hair who was not only grumpy, but didn't serve us properly and eventually just vanished! We had issues with towels and our room changed on the last night (stayed 5 days and we had this agreed from before). The second room - family ones in both case was excellent and very clean . Those were minor issues and if there were any problems they were promptly addressed and rectified by staff . Even my fussy teenaged daughters and 10 year old son loved it ! There is so much to do there and the area is ideal with all the beaches nearby especially the Fistral Beach which you can really see from the hotel window .

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rinawara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2013

This was an 8 day trip to the Pentire hotel Newquay. First class,the hotel is still in the process of refurbishment but out of sight of guests. The staff are great, we wanted for nothing, room had a beautiful view, if I wanted a niggle it would be noisy floor boards and bed and the shower doors could do with a bit of attention.Everything you need is provided in the bathroom, and tea and coffee as well as chocolate etc. The food is excellent and varied and good sized portions. Entertainment provided on most evenings was very good, the pool was ideal.Nothing was too much for the staff. Our driver Michael was one of the best we've had very funny and full of information and knowledge of the area.Looking forward to our next visit.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view on the top floor, you can see the surfers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pamela B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2013

Stayed for one night on the 14/9/13 for my birthday break very friendly and helpful staff hotel was great but only two proplems one the door to our room had to be slamed every time we entered or left the room and this seemed ro be a problem with every other door unless we had very rood people staying around us which could of been the case as they were noisy and kept us up most of the night .

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kass99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newquay hotels
0.2 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
0.3 mi away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#6 of 38 in Newquay
1,347 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Atlantic Hotel
The Atlantic Hotel
#9 of 38 in Newquay
1,003 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
1.6 mi away
Great Western Hotel
Great Western Hotel
#12 of 38 in Newquay
851 reviews
0.8 mi away
Longbeach Hotel
Longbeach Hotel
#26 of 38 in Newquay
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pentire Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pentire Hotel

Property: The Pentire Hotel
Address: 60 Pentire Avenue, Newquay TR7 1NU, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Newquay
#9 Family Hotel in Newquay
#9 Business Hotel in Newquay
#14 Romantic Hotel in Newquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Pentire Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the Pentire headland in Newquay, just a mile from town centre, we have spectacular Fistral beach views. The River Gannel estuary and south west coast path is on our doorstep so we're ideally positioned for surfers, families or groups. Facilities include an indoor heated pool, steam room, childrens play area, beauty salon, fitness studio and a friendly bar. Licenced for Civil Weddings, we provide a beautiful venue for Weddings and receptions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers, Expedia, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Agoda, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Pentire Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pentire Hotel Newquay
The Pentire Hotel Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing