We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Break”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Pentire Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Pentire Hotel
Ranked #10 of 38 Hotels in Newquay
Certificate of Excellence
Abergavenny, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Good Break”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2014

We stayed at the Pentire Hotel last week, using one of their offers. We were very happy with our decision to come to Newquay. The staff at the hotel are very friendly and give excellent service.
As we were on a bargain break we were surprised and delighted to be given a room with a sea view; the room itself was spotlessly clean and had everything we needed. The food was good and the portions were fine. We particularly enjoyed the swimming pool and the steam room. The location of the hotel also worked well for us, as we enjoyed walking on the headland and also exploring the beaches and town of Newquay on foot. We very much hope to return to the Pentire Hotel in the future.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank padlet08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

880 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    375
    324
    121
    38
    22
See reviews for
176
430
50
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (330)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Swindon, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for a night and it was really good. Check-in is not until 2pm but we arrived early and still they accommodated us. We were given room in the first floor with no sea view but it was overlooking the fields. It was obvious that the hotel is old but the cleanliness of the room was outstanding. The room is average size. It was really good value for the money as we also had access to the pool and steam room for free and we had a lovely breakfast. They did forgot our toast even though they asked us twice. Location is good as it is only 5 minutes drive to town. Also if you go straight to the end of the road where the hotel is situated there is a cliff with parking available where you can enjoy walking, hiking and sightseeing. Overall, we enjoyed our stay here.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank yszh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Howard E, Guest Relations at The Pentire Hotel, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
Thank you for sharing your experience. We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay and felt we offered "really good value for money". We will pass on your kind feedback directly to our team and hope to welcome you back to visit us in Newquay again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
146 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2014

stayed here 3 nights on one of the hotel; offers,reception staff are really good,if your not happy with your room they will try to sort you another,its a old style hotel but very clean,we had a family room with bunk beds and a double bed in it,there was more than enough space,yes they are a little tired but nothing to worry about,there was a chair and a wardrobe in ours phone(sadly no wi fi in rooms)tv was not good,but they assured me they are updating the tvs(l hope so!)generally l was happy with the room,we had a shower not a bath,water was hot once again very clean,we did not over look the sea but we did look over houses and fields,was not an issue,..our room was on the 2 nd floor was very quiete
The food was good,if you like well cooked almost homely food it will suit you,breackfast was good all the usuals and if its not right the staff will fix it,dinner is choice of 3 things ...you get starters, pud with your dinner 3 choices again also coffee,it was not my choice of food,but it was decent food,,always hot...quick service ,,,no complaint...
The hotel has a pool inside,looked good,can imagine it gets busy in it in the summer,small games room ,pool table tennis,..steam room...thou l never saw it
its a decent hotel but not the ritz.....it does offer good value and in within 20 mins walk from newquay centre..l would use it again...for the price location is good..thx pentire

Room Tip: ask for a larger family room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank petesman2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Howard E, Guest Relations at The Pentire Hotel, responded to this review, 14 March 2014
Thank you for sharing your experience and great to hear that you enjoyed your stay and would return again. As part of our ongoing investments, we are also extending the reach of WiFi signal to all room areas. We hope to warmly welcome you back to visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2014

We stayed at the Pentire hotel as a central touring base which worked very well. The food was ample & excellent, the service was attentive & friendly. Ask for a sea view room as the views across Fistral beach are awesome!! A huge thank you to all the staff!!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ribena39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Howard E, Guest Relations at The Pentire Hotel, responded to this review, 13 March 2014
We are delighted to read your comments. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We wish you both every happiness together. Come back and visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
357 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 225 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2014

A very reasonably priced hotel, with some of the most helpful, polite & friendly staff, without exception, that I have ever come across!
The public rooms (bar, dining room & lounge) are very pleasant & modern, but it is fair to say that the bedrooms & bathrooms are quite tired, but nevertheless, warm, clean & comfortable.
The breakfasts are very good & the table d'hote evening menu is ok. The food arrives amazingly quickly.
It is quite a stretch out of town, so unless on a coach, you need a car, although the bus stops right outside the hotel.
Externally, the building could do with a spruce-up & the sea views overlook a housing estate; but generally for what we paid, it was fine.

Room Tip: Speak nicely to the helpful reception staff!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caryl1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Henley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2014

Four adults including myself,stayed at this Hotel 24thFeb-28thFeb,booked through Just Go coach holidays.The hotel is what you would expect for a 3star.Room ok,very small,tiny window and the smallest bed I have ever had the misfortune to sleep in-fell out three times and my husband as well.The bathroom was really a cupboard and the shower tray overflowed because of a blocked drain hole.This was rectified within 24 hours by hotel staff.Food was lovely,plenty of it.Breakfast was one of those that keeps you going for hours.Sometimes service was slow,so much so,that we had to clear our own tables after dinner,but that was only on one occasion.The rest of the time was fine.I would recommend this hotel for a short break.I think it,s luck of the draw which room you get as they all seem to be different.The whole place is being refurbished.
As I said,we travelled here with Just Go Coach Holidays,and got an excellent deal.The coach we travelled on had many problems throughout the whole time.One excursion we had rain pouring in through the roof,soaking passengers and upholstery.A flat tyre resulting in an excursion which lasted only 40minutes.Another tyre with loose nuts;highly dangerous on the motorway which could have killed us all and other road users. A lot of time was taken up resulting in late arrivals,short excursions and boredom.I have E.mailed Just Go Coach Holidays with details and await their reaction.Be warned about this company.I have to mention the driver,Harry,as he was excellent under the circumstances.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with sea view and a bigger bed or separate beds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank G0ldenbr0wn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2014 via mobile

OK let's start with the positives. The breakfast and the dinner are excellent. Service is bewilderingly fast. I swear you could do a 3 course meal in under 20 minutes if you tried. Staff are friendly and helpful. Location is good and the sea views are impressive. Negatives. The bathroom in 107 is tiny and internal. The walls are thin and the mattress is cheap. The hotel is a little tired but the price is right.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank John T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newquay hotels
0.8 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
0.3 mi away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#5 of 38 in Newquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,300 reviews
0.2 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Great Western Hotel
Great Western Hotel
#11 of 38 in Newquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 804 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Atlantic Hotel
The Atlantic Hotel
#7 of 38 in Newquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 975 reviews
1.4 mi away
Legacy Hotel Victoria - Newquay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pentire Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pentire Hotel

Property: The Pentire Hotel
Address: 60 Pentire Avenue, Newquay TR7 1NU, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Newquay
#9 Business Hotel in Newquay
#9 Family Hotel in Newquay
#14 Romantic Hotel in Newquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Pentire Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the Pentire headland in Newquay, just a mile from town centre, we have spectacular Fistral beach views. The River Gannel estuary and south west coast path is on our doorstep so we're ideally positioned for surfers, families or groups. Facilities include an indoor heated pool, steam room, childrens play area, beauty salon, fitness studio and a friendly bar. Licenced for Civil Weddings, we provide a beautiful venue for Weddings and receptions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Pentire Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pentire Hotel Newquay
The Pentire Hotel Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing