We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great weekend break” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Pentire Hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
The Pentire Hotel
Ranked #9 of 38 Hotels in Newquay
Certificate of Excellence
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great weekend break”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2014

We stayed here 10th - 13th April, we were greeted with a very warm welcome and were very pleased with our sea view room.
All the staff here were very attentive and could not do enough for you.
The service in the restaurant (dinner and breakfast )was without doubt the best we have ever experienced and the food excellent value for money.
Great location out of the hustle and bustle of the main town and large outside seating areas at both the front and rear of the hotel.
A very enjoyable stay - would definitely go again !

Room Tip: Sea view a must !!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank klm-06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Howard E, Guest Relations at The Pentire Hotel, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Thank you for sharing your experience and offering such great feedback. We are delighted to read that the service from our restaurant was 'without doubt the best you have ever experienced'. We will pass on your kind comments to our friendly team and hope to extend another genuinely warm welcome to you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

871 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    371
    323
    119
    36
    22
See reviews for
174
426
50
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (326)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Stevenage, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2014

We really enjoyed our stay at the Pentire with Just Go! Coaches. Clean and comfortable. Friendly and polite staff. Delicious food and good service. If we go back to Cornwall, we shall certainly consider the Pentire first. The entertainment was good. Great location.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Howard E, Guest Relations at The Pentire Hotel, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Great to read that you really enjoyed your stay. Thank you - we couldn't ask for better feedback and hope to extend another warm welcome when you visit Cornwall again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2014

Stayed April 2014 12th-16th my family and i have stayed here 4 times and would not go to any other hotel as it has a great location friendly and helpful staff..yes it needs updating a little but it's not run down..very comfy beds better than my own..the food we had was the best ever..great chef..the price is just right for my family of 5 would not really pay any more..will be staying again..
Morris and family..

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank louisesims
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tamworth
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2014

This is a hotel which I visit at least 4 times per year as a break from busiess. There as always been updates to the decor and furnishings which make it very attractive to stayers. The staff are always pleasant, efficient and helpful to their customers. Dining is a pleasure with good standard of food and choices for both breakfast and Dinner. Packed lunches are also available on request. there is very little else that I can add except to say that this family run hotel is where I will always stay for pleasure and business

Room Tip: Third floor and sea facing is preferable
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank barlig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Howard E, Guest Relations at The Pentire Hotel, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
Thank you for sharing your experience and such lovely comments. It is rewarding for the whole team to receive feedback like this and we are always delighted to see the friendly faces of guests who return to stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saltash, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2014

The 3 night half board deal cost £250 which we thought was excellent value. The hotel is well located and our room overlooked Fistral beach. (see photo) The room was lovely and very clean. The hotel has a heated indoor pool and sauna which we used. The food was excellent with plenty of choice each night. The bread and butter pudding made by Kevin Lang was one of the lightest and best tasting I've had. All the staff are excellent and very friendly. Special mention for Tom, Chris and our lovely waitress Alishia.
I would happily return again and we live in Cornwall.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank silverfoxAmpthill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Llandudno, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2014

Stayed here 5 nights from 19/3/2014. Food very good, staff pleasant. We were led to believe there would be entertainment but no such luck.
The bad bit was the room, more to the point the bed was the worst I have ever NOT slept in and I paid upgrade for sea-view. If it had not been for food and staff it would have been a disaster.
My wife actually had bruised hips from the bed.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Howard E, Guest Relations at The Pentire Hotel, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
We are pleased to read that you enjoyed aspects of your stay and found that our food was very good, and staff pleasant. We are surprised that you were uncomfortable in bed. Had we been aware, our friendly hotel team would have made every effort to rectify this. Our hotel is undergoing much investments and refurbishment to public areas and guest rooms. Please be assured of our very best intentions.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andover, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2014

This was our 3rd stay at this hotel and each time we have been given a warm welcome. Staff are friendly and a few remembered us from our previous visits to the hotel. Our room was fantastic, large, looked newly refurbished, and overlooking Fistral Beach.

Good chose of breakfast and also evening meal and served really quickly. Nothing was too much trouble.

The only downfall is not having Wi-Fi in the rooms, but from what I understand this issue is going to be addressed in the future.

We are hoping to visit again and would like to thank everyone at the hotel that made our stay great.

Room Tip: Try and get a ocean view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Catnap2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Howard E, Guest Relations at The Pentire Hotel, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
Thank you for sharing your experience and your lovely comments. We are always delighted to see the friendly faces of returning guests and look forward to extending a genuinely warm welcome to you both again. We are currently upgrading the hotel Wi-Fi so that it will extend to all rooms in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newquay hotels
0.8 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
0.3 mi away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#5 of 38 in Newquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,278 reviews
0.1 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Great Western Hotel
Great Western Hotel
#12 of 38 in Newquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 789 reviews
1.4 mi away
Legacy Hotel Victoria - Newquay
1.1 mi away
The Atlantic Hotel
The Atlantic Hotel
#7 of 38 in Newquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 964 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pentire Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pentire Hotel

Property: The Pentire Hotel
Address: 60 Pentire Avenue, Newquay TR7 1NU, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Newquay
#9 Business Hotel in Newquay
#9 Family Hotel in Newquay
#14 Romantic Hotel in Newquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Pentire Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the Pentire headland in Newquay, just a mile from town centre, we have spectacular Fistral beach views. The River Gannel estuary and south west coast path is on our doorstep so we're ideally positioned for surfers, families or groups. Facilities include an indoor heated pool, steam room, childrens play area, beauty salon, fitness studio and a friendly bar. Licenced for Civil Weddings, we provide a beautiful venue for Weddings and receptions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your The Pentire Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pentire Hotel Newquay
The Pentire Hotel Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing