We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very shabby hotel.”
Review of The Pentire Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Pentire Hotel
Ranked #10 of 38 Hotels in Newquay
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Very shabby hotel.”
Reviewed 4 August 2014

This was our first visit to the pentire unfortunately we wont be returning. The staff were great as was the location but the hotel was not its very tired with grubby carpets and shabby paint work like the rest of the hotel our room was no better with stains on the carpet and mismatch curtains and light shade.the walls and paint work were dented and flaky.The bath empties while your in it.The evening meal wasn't great we had fish in breadcrumbs which was frozen and heated in the oven not home cooked food . the breakfast was better.For £100+ per night there is a lot better.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank david b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Howard E, Guest Relations at The Pentire Hotel, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
We are pleased that you found our staff and location to be great. We have refurbished the vast majority of our hotel rooms and public areas now, and our last few rooms are receiving the same transformation. Our £50 per night rate in August is competitively priced for peak season and a choice of new room types would have been offered had we not been fully booked. We apologise that we failed in our attempts to please you and wish you all the very best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

891 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    381
    326
    123
    39
    22
See reviews for
177
438
51
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (334)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

Im afraid the whole place from the linen to the decor is very tired and when you drive 300 miles to a place you expect to feel welcomed . The guy painting the outside of the hotel will have to start again by the time he finishes . The place is ideal for Fistral beach and crantock and a nice walk for the hustle and bustle of Newquay . I didn't try the food and when we arrived we were told they were waiting for a part for the swimming pool as with many parts of the hotel a lot could be replaced.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Colin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Howard E, Guest Relations at The Pentire Hotel, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
We are concerned to read your comments as we are regularly praised for our friendly and helpful staff and genuinely warm welcome afforded to every guest. We are sorry that we didn’t manage to make you feel the same way. Many improvements and investments to our hotel have been undertaken and we are working as fast possible to complete the last few areas, including a fresh lick of paint to the exterior. Please be assured of our very best intensions.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

I will start by saying the staff were lovely and helpful plus the location offers great views.
Although the same can not be said for the hotels appearance!

- The lobby has distinct smell of beer soaked carpets.
- The pool changing rooms are below standards with the doors even crumbling away.
- The carpets around the pool had rust stains from where the pool roof had been leaking.
- The pool itself had soil in when we arrived for a swim, it had come from one of the surrounding plant pots. The pool obviously wasn't being checked and a member of staff was soon informed and attempted to resolve the problem.
- The hotel is very mix and match offering lovely modern furniture with an old tired decor in places.

THE ROOM
We UPGRADED to a room with a sea view (which was a spectacular view), unfortunately the room lacked our expectations for the price we paid, Chips and dents in the walls, shabby paint wear, a hole in the wall exposing the hot and cold water valves, loose carpet beneath the room door and stains on the carpet.

On a positive note the furniture in the room was clean,tidy and modern, accompanied with a great modern bathroom and as expected complimentary tea coffee etc.


HOTEL gains 2 stars for friendly staff, co-operative manager who explained that there were unfortunately no other rooms available but offered us a full refund, modern furniture and bathroom and decent view.

Room would have cost £100 + (£12 for sea view upgrade) which in my view is not worth what was received!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MattCowell95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Howard E, Guest Relations at The Pentire Hotel, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
We listen carefully and value all feedback and would like to politely offer clarity on a range of points that are not accurate. Whilst you didn’t stay at our hotel, we are pleased you found our staff to be helpful and friendly and you acknowledge our fabulous coastal location and good customer service. However, our lobby area has never smelt as described and the small covered access hatch to water pipes in our newly refitted bathrooms is simply that – not a ‘hole in the wall’ as implied. Our popular indoor swimming pool is always regularly checked; unfortunately a child accompanied by 2 helpers threw a handful of soil into the water - an isolated incident that was immediately attended to. We are undergoing extensive investments and refurbishments to all hotel areas – majority are completed and evidenced within the range of positive comments and feedback being received. Our £50 per night rate in August is competitively priced for peak season. We would have offered you a choice of our new room types had we not been fully booked. Please be assured of our very best intensions at all times.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stourport-on-Severn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014

This was our third visit to the Pentire as we have always found everything good value for money. The food was still excellent and the staff were just as attentive, pleasant and very helpful. The only drawback was our room which was not decorated up to their standard and was quite small. Knowing that there are much better rooms available, did not help. The mirror over the dressing table (which was the only one in the room) was fixed on the wall and was made for midgets, I found it quite difficult doing my hair etc. Having said all that I would definitely return, hoping to have a better room.

Room Tip: Ask to see your room before you unpack!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carole j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

I thoroughly enjoyed my stay at this hotel, the hotel was welcoming, clean and well decorated throughout. The staff were polite, attentive and caring. We booked two rooms (a single and a double) for a weekend break in July 2014 and were impressed with the spaciousness of our rooms. Whilst booking this hotel I had requested quiet rooms and had cheekily asked that we had swans made out of towels on our beds for a laugh (it's an oddity that we started and have always continued). To our surprise/shock the staff HAD made the swans which we carefully looked after -thank you!! Our rooms were wonderful, both sea view facing fistral's gorgeous beach, our rooms were cleaned each morning and the coffee and tea making facilities topped up daily. Our bed was comfortable and spacious and the hotel offered free wifi. Overall we had a lovely stay at this hotel and would definitely use it again.

Room Tip: Request a quiet room and you may get a sea view at no additional cost!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nao2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Howard E, Guest Relations at The Pentire Hotel, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Thank you for your kind comments and feedback. Delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay and that the 'Swans' we made for you were such a pleasant surprise. We agree about Fistral Beach – it’s gorgeous and only a stone’s throw away from the hotel too. We hope to welcome you back to stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake District, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Hmm first impression not good even though reception area looked ok and the bar area looked quite modern my fears for the room grew as I walked towards it, The corridors looked shabby as paint work dirty especially the doors between them. The room was quite small with shabby paint work especially the skirting boards. It did look clean nice white bedding, we too tried to change to a better room but couldn't as full this is probably because coach party's fill it?
Good points was most! of the staff were helpful and friendly probably to make up for the rooms?
The breakfast was good and nice to be served it.
My suggestion for what it is worth is to have a big refurb as probably is the hotels but if unrealistic just paint the shabbiness away. The carpets needed a good hoover and I didn't see anyone hoovering them at all. I am sure there would be time to do them when quiet of an afternoon maybe the reception staff may have time to do them? The room we were in had a blue lamp and blue pictures but the curtains were pink and hanging off so why not have blue curtains and fix them properly. I am sure I am not telling the management anything they don't know but if they can't fix the big things do the little things like paint the doors and do the rand on my first impression I would have given 1 star but as most staff were very pleasant and the breakfast was good I gave 3

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stellastar56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Howard E, Guest Relations at The Pentire Hotel, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
We are pleased that you enjoyed your breakfast and that you found your room clean and our staff friendly and helpful. We appreciate and value all feedback and apologise that we didn’t meet expectations on this occasion. As July & August are peak demand months, it is normal for every room in the hotel to be booked. We are undertaking and have completed a large range of improvements and refurbishments to all areas, with more solid oak bedroom furniture and smart leather headboards arriving this Monday, and new solid oak doors in the corridor area too. Around 50% of corridors have now undergone refurbishment, and fresh painting of the hotel exterior is scheduled to complete this week. Please be assured that we are investing and currently addressing all points and hope to extend a genuinely warm welcome to you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haverfordwest, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 July 2014

Never done this before but here we go.
Room we were in was disappointing, the bed was ?? uncomfortable at best and the carpets were stained. It just had a tired feel about it. It was clean enough though and the shower was very good.. TV was a bit small but if you are going to moan about a TV in a Newquay Hotel room in the summer then you will pretty much moan about anything. Staff were excellent, friendly and very helpful (waiting staff especially). Food was very good, in fact we never ate anywhere else in the 5 days we stayed. Location is also very good. We would stay there again but maybe in a better room. We were on the 2nd floor facing the front, which to be fair was sold as a standard room.

Room Tip: don't stay in 204
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank glyn m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Howard E, Guest Relations at The Pentire Hotel, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
We listen carefully to our guests and thank you for offering feedback. Whilst you found our staff to be excellent, friendly and very helpful, our food ‘very good’ and are location also to be good, we apologise that you were disappointed with aspects of your room. Although it was clean and your shower was very good, we have identified a stain where a used tea bag had missed the bin and our housekeeping team have addressed this. Next, we intend to fully refresh the décor and brighten up this corner room – the same as we have done with the vast majority of all other rooms in the hotel. We are delighted that you would stay with us again, and hope to welcome you back with another genuinely warm and friendly welcome.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newquay hotels
0.8 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
0.3 mi away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#5 of 38 in Newquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,316 reviews
0.2 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Great Western Hotel
Great Western Hotel
#12 of 38 in Newquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 817 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Atlantic Hotel
The Atlantic Hotel
#8 of 38 in Newquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 982 reviews
1.4 mi away
Legacy Hotel Victoria - Newquay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pentire Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pentire Hotel

Property: The Pentire Hotel
Address: 60 Pentire Avenue, Newquay TR7 1NU, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Newquay
#9 Family Hotel in Newquay
#9 Business Hotel in Newquay
#14 Romantic Hotel in Newquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Pentire Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the Pentire headland in Newquay, just a mile from town centre, we have spectacular Fistral beach views. The River Gannel estuary and south west coast path is on our doorstep so we're ideally positioned for surfers, families or groups. Facilities include an indoor heated pool, steam room, childrens play area, beauty salon, fitness studio and a friendly bar. Licenced for Civil Weddings, we provide a beautiful venue for Weddings and receptions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Pentire Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pentire Hotel Newquay
The Pentire Hotel Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing