We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Ver y Pleasant Hotel”
Review of The Pentire Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Pentire Hotel
Ranked #12 of 37 Hotels in Newquay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 June 2010

A last minute decision was taking to visit Cornwall. We decided on Newquay as a good base location. We booked into the Pentire Hotel. It was slightly out of town but with beautiful views of the coast below, namely the world famous Fistral Beach. We were not disappointed. We were greeted with a pleasant smile and helpful staff. The bedroom was more than adequate clean and tidy. The hotel seemed to cater for all ages and I was very impressed with the swimming Pool and sauna. It wasn't until I was checkimg out that I realised it was a 2 star hotel! I've stayed in far worse 3&4 star hotels in the past. Great value for money and I am certainly going to return.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dashers9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (944)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

899 - 905 of 944 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2010

We have just returned after a 4 night midweek stay booked through Travelzoo at a low rate for half board. The bedroom and bathroom were clean, but small and decor and furniture was very marked and tired. We could not open the wardrobe fully as one of the twin beds was in the way. The hotel in general is in urgent need of a makeover, even a cost of paint on white paintwork would spruce it up a bit. The hotel also allows dogs to roam freely, and at least 3 times on our 4 night stay I was startled by a huge boxer dog bounding up and down the narrow stairs which had awkward fire doors at top and bottom.
However the cooked breakfast was excellent, always hot and not greasy. The evening meals were not so good, but even my fussy husband who was expecting meat and two veg found something to eat, such as beef and ale pie and scampi/chips. I had veg lasagne and veg curry on 2 night as looked more apetising. I overheard the manger telling some regulars one evening at dinner that he was trying to update the menu to attract more younger guests (most were well over 60, including the coach party). The older guests found the updated menu 'too mucked about with!' The waiter was friendly and chatty, but had a memory like a sieve and regularly forgot our teas and rolls etc.
The 'entertainment' was dire, an out of tune woman singer one night and a cornish singer/entertainer another.
The hotel is in a good location just outside Newquay centre and great walking area.
Overall the Pentire is good value if on a special deal, but I would have been very unhappy if we had paid full nightly rate of £45pp

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NanaPond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2010

My wife and one of our friends stayed here over the New Year, at what has to be a real bargain price.. I am writing this to try and counter some of the negative reviews I have been surprised to read... This hotel which is suberbly located overlooking Fistral beach does not pretend to be the Ritz, but as far as value for money is concerned it was great.. The food was plain but in huge quantities, and very acceptable and well served, the waiters all appeared to be locals which is very unusual in the hotel trade, the bar prices were also fair, and there was entertainment every night, some of it strangely curious and old fashioned but by virtue of that fact, very entertaining, I really enjoyed it, particularly New Years Eve.... The rooms were warm and clean, albeit small, but so what.... Like all old hotels there is a bit of peeling paint somewhere.. I also do not know what some people really expect for the money paid, some reviews I have read have no basis in fact at all, and some seem to be particularly cruel with respect to anyone over 60, remember everybody has to get there.. I can honestly say that our experience was positive and represented great value for money and I would recommend

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank power999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2010

We stayed at the Pentire on a budget break through Travelzoo. However, we were not treated as "budget guests". The staff were attentive, friendly and professional. The food was excellent and waiting staff pleasant and customer orientated. THe same person waited on our table for the five days and towards the end we developed a good rapport which we saw happening on other tables.

Everything was clean, the rooms are a little outdated but given the cost that is to be expected. My only criticism would be towels when using the pool. They were too small.

Otherwise we had a great stay, lovely views over the bay and have already recommended it to friends. We'd stay again..

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Blossom60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2010

Whilst we got a pretty good deal on this hotel, and there were some good things about our stay, the dreadful room, lack of sleep and bad dinners made it a poor experience we would not repeat at any price.

The good things first - breakfast was excellent, the staff are friendly, you can walk into town easily, there are some fabulous headland and cliff walks right on the doorstep and it makes a good base for touring around places like Truro, Padstow etc.

The bad things - our room was tiny and drab and the furniture was old and battered. If you were a large person you would have had trouble even getting in the bathroom and if you wanted to pass someone else, one of you had to get on the bed. The floor of our room was covered in dog hairs, the curtains were thin so let light shine through as soon as the sun rose and there was absolutely no storage space for a suitcase. The walls were paper thin so we could hear the next door neighbours do everything (and I mean everything) and did not need our TV on if their was on as we could just listen to theirs. The hotel is badly in need of a makeover - wallpaper is coming off the walls
and it is grubby.

Given that breakfast was good, we really could not understand why the dinners were so very bad. They were mostly edible but lacked taste and everything looked and tasted as though it had been pre-prepared elsewhere, frozen and just heated up in the kitchens (yes, even the potatoes). I had a salad one night, asked for dressing and was given three satchets of malt vinegar. My husband had beef and asked for horseradish and was offered tomato or brown sauce.

We have stayed at some really good places on similar deals, so have to rate this poor overall.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Liketorome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2010

Got a cheap deal for a long weekend break, so with low expectations off we went back to Cornwall. Room was pretty tiny & drab; ceiling, walls, bath & decor need doing, but apparently getting done room by room, which is understandable considering costs. Anyway, we weren't there to stay in the room all day!! First nights dinner was grim, fish had obviously been cooked then reheated, soggy & greasy. Room was cold in the evening (9pm), told reception, they said "Chris will sort it", went back to the room, thinking maybe he's coming tomorrow, he turned up 30 minutes later much to our surprise; and he was very friendly, fixed the heating in 2 minutes, and off he went again. That's service!!
Breakfast was great, and every other dinner after that too, reasonable selection. Chef very willing to make my small son a sandwich in late afternoon for 2 days (as dinner isn't till 7pm-so a bit late for him, but he loved staying up late!!).
Waiter we had (Adam??) was brilliant, hard-working, but very friendly & helpful. Reception staff were great, very friendly too, with all their info, booking in, checking out etc etc.
Swimming pool was small but perfectly formed; great for families, not for swimming lengths. Spent a lot of time in the pool, was nice & warm, clean and good music, was also a sauna but didn't use it. Changing rooms were small but adequate, & showers had nice hot water, brilliant!! no complaints!! Also a pool table & table tennis near the pool.
My wife had a spa treatment down the road at another hotel nearby, and said it was brilliant, don't know the name though.
3 minute drive (or 15-20 minute walk) to Fistral Beach, town centre etc etc.
Overall, very good value for money; if you're expectin the Ritz, don't go here, but if you want nice food, surroundings, pool, beach, etc etc then it's perfect!!

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mungaman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2010

We planned a few days away for some peace and quiet and the whole experience was truely awful. The place was packed full of old people, the average of 70 years. The staff were quite rude and very unhelpful, the room was dirty, the carpet was disgusting, the shower room was equally disgusting. We could not hear ourselves speak after 8pm when the 'entertainment' started! We were moved rooms at 10.30pm but could hear everything and everyone, even people going to the toilet. We were rudly awoken at 7.30am by the old people banging the door down ready for their day trip out.
The food was completely unacceptable, there was no imagination other than out of the tin into the microwave. The place was dirty and the people you have to dine with are gross. We had planned a 3 night break away but left after one night, it was awful. We strongly recomend that you don't bother!!!

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank samwlk82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newquay hotels
0.2 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
0.3 mi away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#6 of 37 in Newquay
1,403 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
The Atlantic Hotel
The Atlantic Hotel
#10 of 37 in Newquay
1,024 reviews
1.4 mi away
Legacy Hotel Victoria - Newquay
1.6 mi away
Great Western Hotel
Great Western Hotel
#13 of 37 in Newquay
904 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pentire Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pentire Hotel

Address: 60 Pentire Avenue, Newquay TR7 1NU, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Newquay
#9 Business Hotel in Newquay
#9 Family Hotel in Newquay
#14 Romantic Hotel in Newquay
Price Range: £43 - £138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Pentire Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the Pentire headland in Newquay, just a mile from town centre, we have spectacular Fistral beach views. The River Gannel estuary and south west coast path is on our doorstep so we're ideally positioned for surfers, families or groups. Facilities include an indoor heated pool, steam room, childrens play area, beauty salon, fitness studio and a friendly bar. Licenced for Civil Weddings, we provide a beautiful venue for Weddings and receptions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Ebookers, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Pentire Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pentire Hotel Newquay
The Pentire Hotel Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing