We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stopped at this hotel in August 2010...”
Review of The Pentire Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Pentire Hotel
Ranked #12 of 37 Hotels in Newquay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 August 2010

Stopped at this hotel in August 2010, found hotel over priced for what it is. This is a real average hotel. Our room had a nice damp smell and damp on the ceiling. We open window to try and get rid of the smell and a gust of wind blew in and chucked all dust off the top of the wardrobe! Bathroom was very small. U could not dry your beach towels anywhere due to room being cool and damp. Views was really good (sea view) and reception staff helpful. Breakfasts could of been better, served at 8:00am till 9:00am which could do with being extended. Swimming pool good and clean. Changing rooms basic. Overall a very over priced basic hotel that does the job for a staff in Newquay Cornwall.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beaky007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (944)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

890 - 896 of 944 reviews

Reviewed 2 August 2010

Just returned from a week at the Pentire Hotel, I forgot to Check TRIPADVISOR before making the booking and when I did look I was very apprehensive as to what we would find. Needn’t have worried though as it was fine and much, much better than we thought it was going to be.

The check in was fine and we were also shown our tables in the restaurant.

We had one of the updated rooms (108) It was very clean and comfortable with a good view of the sea and Fistral Bay. Only drawback was the bedside tables. They are very slippery on top, and the first time I put a cup of tea on it, it slid off and into my shoe (honest!!)

To be really honest there was nothing we could find fault with at this hotel. It is currently rated 2 star but I really feel it deserves more and once all the rooms have been refurbished I hope it gets a higher rating. There is an indoor swimming pool and entertainment every night which was pretty good, A lot better than you might expect.

The food was fine and the drinks are very reasonable, a good bottle of the house wine was £10.95 and it really was pretty good. The only suggestion we would make though is to serve breakfast from 7.30 - 9 rather than 8 - 9. The evening dinner is served 7 - 8 which we found to be fine.

We had a good holiday here but….

Like all holidays though there are always some downside and the cost of parking in Cornwall is one of them. It really is a rip off and they also charge the same exorbitant rate if you have a Blue disabled badge. The charges also apply 24 hours a day. We didn’t find any parking where it was a couple of hours. Someone on Cornwall council should realise that a lot of people do not want to pay for all day parking when they are only going to be there an hour or so

St Ives parking was a truly spectacular rip off. You pay £5.30 for the parking and then another £1.60 return for the ride ( about 600 yards to the harbour ) and of course none of the pay and display machines give any change. It really is a ripping off people. No matter how tiny or remote the place may be it has its very own pay and display machine and loads of signs asking “Have you paid and displayed”.

So what about Newquay itself ? Well It’ s about 40 years since I was there last and the best way to describe it now is a cross between Chatham High Street, Margate and Blackpool.

You can come to your own conclusions !!!! We really thought it was going to be like Bournemouth. It isn’t.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KentishTravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2010

We stayed in the Pentire for a three day break. We had a family suite which comprised of two rooms and a bathroom. They were nicely decorated and the beds were comfortable. We had a side sea view and the only noise are the seagulls that tap at your window! The food was simple but very nice. The entertainment was what I would call traditional seaside entertainers. The pool was lovely and warm and very clean and tidy.They will also provide you with clean towels each time you want to swim. It is also open until 9pm which is great if you have a long day. The sauna was nice but does take a little time to heat up. They are in the process of redeorating the hotel and it is looking very nice what they have done so far.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pand68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2010

We returned to the Pentire for a short half term break as the family wanted to cycle the Camel Trail.

There’s clearly been a lot of money spent since our last visit at Christmas as the hotel has a new entrance and canopy, new carpets, new lift, new menu in the restaurant etc, etc, etc. Rather feared that all this meant new prices, but thankfully no. Still the same amazing value for money.

Other things that hadn’t changed were the friendly atmosphere, the service with a smile, the comfy rooms, the super warm pool, the enjoyable evening entertainment and the lovely view over Fistral Beach.

A short, quality time break which the whole family enjoyed.

Might just mention that if you like cycling you won’t be disappointed with the Camel Trail. The couple of days we did were all off road on the converted dis-used railway line. Padstow to Wadebridge is along the estuary, Wadebridge to Bodmin is through the countryside. Gentle, panoramic and ideal for a family of mixed ages and abilities. There were some interesting historical features along the way as well, although pointing them out received little appreciation.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kingskerswell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2010

Having just returned from a four night dbb package had to write as we all agreed that the hotel far exceeded our expectations after reading some previous reviews. We were upgraded free of charge, rooms clean newly refurbished, bathroom was small but functional. Staff were friendly and very helpfull, meals were varied and hot. entertainment was ok. pool was fab. where else can you get someone to go food shopping,cook,serve,wash up, entertain, make your bed, clean your room and smile for less then £50.00 a night ? the hotel is being slowly refurbished and deserves more than it's official 2 star. well done to all managment and staff.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sheffield-travelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2010

we found the hotel a bit out of town but not aproblem a nice walk or a bus right outside, nice views across the bay, the town is very run down and neglected now a far cry from when we visited when the children were young, we stayed at the hotel with a coach party, the hotel was abit dated but it seemed as if it was being improved, the staff were polite and friendly, adam our waiter at meal times was very helpfull. the rooms were functional but clean the meals we thought were good, with options each day, we enjoyed our stay and would return at a later date. thank you to the hotel and staff.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank monkfishSuffolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2010

I recently wrote a review on the Pentire Hotel, Newquay after a disappointing stay during our visit in May this year and at the same time also complained to the management. Their response has been very positive and they have gone a very long way in making amends to us which shows that they do have a concern for the welfare and comfort of their guests. In the end of the day, that is what counts.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank happylanding2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newquay hotels
0.2 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
0.3 mi away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#6 of 37 in Newquay
1,399 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
The Atlantic Hotel
The Atlantic Hotel
#10 of 37 in Newquay
1,022 reviews
1.4 mi away
Legacy Hotel Victoria - Newquay
1.6 mi away
Great Western Hotel
Great Western Hotel
#13 of 37 in Newquay
903 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pentire Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pentire Hotel

Address: 60 Pentire Avenue, Newquay TR7 1NU, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Newquay
#9 Family Hotel in Newquay
#9 Business Hotel in Newquay
#14 Romantic Hotel in Newquay
Price Range: £43 - £133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Pentire Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the Pentire headland in Newquay, just a mile from town centre, we have spectacular Fistral beach views. The River Gannel estuary and south west coast path is on our doorstep so we're ideally positioned for surfers, families or groups. Facilities include an indoor heated pool, steam room, childrens play area, beauty salon, fitness studio and a friendly bar. Licenced for Civil Weddings, we provide a beautiful venue for Weddings and receptions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Cancelon, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Pentire Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pentire Hotel Newquay
The Pentire Hotel Newquay, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing